We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We moved after one night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hotel Istiam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Hotel Istiam
Ranked #2 of 3 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We moved after one night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in one of the private rooms with a fan and with use of shared bathrooms. Had wanted a room with bathroom but there were none available so not sure what these rooms are like. The shared bathroom was horrendous...opted not to shower. A little sink and mirror outside the bathroom was disgusting. Room was cramped, couldn't open window because of bugs and lack of screen. Location near the beach is good although a bit of a walk to get to restaurants. Our dinner there was surprisingly tasty although breakfast wasn't great. a comfy common area to escape the stuffy rooms would have been nice. A real budget accommodation. We also moved to Villa Paraiso and so happy we did... It increased our overall enjoyment of the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simms327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This hostel is basic (don´t expect hot showers) but serves a purpose well for the budget traveller and is in a great isolated location a couple of kilometres from Playa Santo Domingo.

The food is standard Nicaraguan fare and service predictably slow but the staff are welcoming, there are hammocks aplenty and also lots of opportunities to base day trips around the island.

Check the door to your room locks properly and make sure you order you food before you get hungry - this is a very good cheap and cheerful option however at under $10 per person per night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjl012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The volcano tour guide recommended (or rather had a link to) this hotel and we wish we had stayed at the farm at the base of Volcano Maderas instead. Although the wifi was convenient, and the view was terrific, it did not make up for the rooms smelling like urine, beds covered with mosquitoes, long wait for overly-fried foods, and unfriendly staff (especially to those who spoke little to no Spanish). The only things that saved our trip to the island was our tough hike up volcano maderas, our tour guide, and our bike ride along the coast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MolicaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We arrived on Ometepe without a reservation, and all of the island's eco-lodges proved to be full. We looked at several of the hotels along Playa Santo Domingo and were underwhelmed by them all. Casa Istiam was as far as our taxi driver was willing to take us (the road ends just west of the hotel, and his car wasn't designed for the boulders and craters in the cart track that runs past it) - and luckily it was the best of the bunch. The hotel is nothing fancy, but our room was very clean and spacious, with a cheerful paint job and screened windows on both sides (providing some much-needed cross-breezes). Ometepe is a very remote place, so the rating I am giving the hotel is based on Ometepe standards, and not in comparison to what you might find in Granada or elsewhere.

The lady who runs the hotel is a self-made business woman, a single mom from a farming family, now in her 60s , who started out with a road-side comedor and built herself two hotels (the other one is on the other side of the island). She was very friendly to us, and her staff was courteous if not overly helpful. I'm not sure if anyone at the hotel spoke English (I did all of our communicating in Spanish). The hotel had three well-behaved dogs, two of which our son (not normally a dog lover) took to instantly, and one of which followed us on a horse tour of Finca Magdalena that the hotel arranged for us. The horse tour was truly amazing, one of the highlights of our trip! The beach out front was pretty great too - we had the lake to ourselves, and the water was clean and lovely. The beach (in rainy season) isn't much to speak of, but the water makes up for it, and it's literally across the dirt track from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa95126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We were misled by earlier reviews saying this place was good. Do not bother. It was incredible uncomfortable with cinderblock rooms, no air, ratty towels with holes, etc.etc. Restaurant service was incredibly slow and very poor quality. We switched to another hotel, villa paraiso down the road and it was worth the extra $30. If istiam was $10/night..I would understand but it is not. Do not be fooled.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drabiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I found this email address for the hotel in vianica.com:casaistiam@hotmail.com


This is the second time I've stayed at the Hotel Istiam in the last three years. The rooms are basic, and there is no hot water. But it's one of the most accommodating hotels I've stayed at anywhere in the world. It's no accident that some guests spend weeks here during the northern hemisphere's winter. One Canadian guest was staying here from December 1 to April 1.

The location is excellent - about 50 yards from the beach on Playa Santo Domingo. The road running by the hotel will be paved within the next several months. The hotel is also about 200 yards from the turn off for Balgue or Merida.

The food is very good and reasonably priced compared to some of the other hotel restaurants in the area.

With the friendly staff and long term guests, this place really feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hamacas
Hotel Hamacas
#2 of 2 in San Jorge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 4 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 4 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
0.0 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 36 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel Istiam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel Istiam

Property: Casa Hotel Istiam
Address: Playa Santo Domingo, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casa Hotel Istiam Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing