We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO beer, NO service.. Left after one night”
Review of Casa Hotel Istiam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Hotel Istiam
Ranked #2 of 4 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“NO beer, NO service.. Left after one night”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived with a group and our driver (who turned out to be a friend, possibly even the son of the owners) recommended it to us. The only thing ok about this place was the food. The rooms were disgusting and stuffy, with one horrendously unsanitary shared shower for all.. I could barely sleep all night becasue it was so hot and with no screen to open the window, also the beds were pretty foul...and there was NO BEER!?!?! I'm still wondering about that one.

I think the overall WORST part about this place was the service. The staff was so rude, and I'm saying this knowing this is a common problem in Central America. I'm being generous when I say I was mortified by their apathy and general attitude towards helping the guests with anything.

The views are great and it's across from the lake, but if you go just a little farther down the road (which we did the next night) there's better accommodations for the same price-- like Little Morgan's, where we went the next day.

Room Tip: Get one with a private bathroom.. if you still decide to stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaCrosse Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

REally good food and very economical !
These photos don't do the place justice with new paintings, new floors, and beautiful gardens.
The history of this locally owned business is amazing. Doña Nora is a farmer who started the Hotel Ometepl in Moyogalpa feeding worker dredging the lake years ago.
Staying locally really helps the local economy too. They are very helpful and it is very economical to stay for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

the hotel is located right next to the best beach spot in the island, with the perfect sand you'll find around here.
the rooms are decent, clean but no hot water unfortunately but the whether is usually hot...
the food here is GREAT and cheap.
the have hammocks with beach view and volcano view.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsahi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmhurst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel...
which confirmed my opinion of my first stay...
lovely food...highly recommend but definitely make sure your not starving cuz it'll take a good min before it arrives
location was amazing ...definitely close to Santo Domingo beach ...oh it's across the street and of course the sunset was amazing
although missed out on the sunrise which is an ideal location for I was told
the room i had was interesting ....have 2 doors - one i was able to lock with my key but the other I sure had to struggle with...better make sure you know how to open and close all doors before the hotel's personnel retire for the night
the people are quite nice ..... accomodating and helpful
hotel has wifi and internet access available
the rooms are basic standard fare.... cold water, fan and mosquitos
but remember mosquitos are attracted to light so lights out folks
could be a bit quieter....tho....

Room Tip: try rooms upstairs !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in one of the private rooms with a fan and with use of shared bathrooms. Had wanted a room with bathroom but there were none available so not sure what these rooms are like. The shared bathroom was horrendous...opted not to shower. A little sink and mirror outside the bathroom was disgusting. Room was cramped, couldn't open window because of bugs and lack of screen. Location near the beach is good although a bit of a walk to get to restaurants. Our dinner there was surprisingly tasty although breakfast wasn't great. a comfy common area to escape the stuffy rooms would have been nice. A real budget accommodation. We also moved to Villa Paraiso and so happy we did... It increased our overall enjoyment of the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simms327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This hostel is basic (don´t expect hot showers) but serves a purpose well for the budget traveller and is in a great isolated location a couple of kilometres from Playa Santo Domingo.

The food is standard Nicaraguan fare and service predictably slow but the staff are welcoming, there are hammocks aplenty and also lots of opportunities to base day trips around the island.

Check the door to your room locks properly and make sure you order you food before you get hungry - this is a very good cheap and cheerful option however at under $10 per person per night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjl012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The volcano tour guide recommended (or rather had a link to) this hotel and we wish we had stayed at the farm at the base of Volcano Maderas instead. Although the wifi was convenient, and the view was terrific, it did not make up for the rooms smelling like urine, beds covered with mosquitoes, long wait for overly-fried foods, and unfriendly staff (especially to those who spoke little to no Spanish). The only things that saved our trip to the island was our tough hike up volcano maderas, our tour guide, and our bike ride along the coast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MolicaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca Magdalena
Finca Magdalena
#4 of 5 in Balgue
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Moyogalpa
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Encanto Garden Hotel
El Encanto Garden Hotel
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel Istiam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel Istiam

Property: Casa Hotel Istiam
Address: Playa Santo Domingo, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casa Hotel Istiam Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing