We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Genusshotel Riegersburg
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Csejtei(Feldbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lava Inn(Feldbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schloss Kapfenstein(Kapfenstein)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kowald(Loipersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
159
57
16
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
57
16
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshammarmaladevery nice hotelone nightproductionproductscastlecheesespa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

we stayed for 2 nights and we had a wonderful, relaxing and nice rest in this hotel. We stayed on the second evening in the hotel and had for dinner a "pleasure trip" and it was excellent. The hotel offers only regional food, so you will not find coke, banana or others on the buffet or on the menu listed. The view from any guest room to the "Riegersburg" in incredible. Enjoy being there for more then 2 nights. We are planning another trip in this beautiful area.

Room Tip: take the suite if you get the chance
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faustimau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Beautiful location just opposite scenic riegersburg castle. Great view from all the rooms pool area and restaurant terrace. Spacious and modern design. Rooms are clean, calm nordic flair that has become the standard for austrian spa hotels.
Decent restaurant with a good selection of local wines. Cigar room, some of the local schnapses are a great match, otherwise smoke free.
Make sure you don't miss out on the truly impressive local gastro cluster. Schnaps from goelles. Vulcano ham. Tastings at the cheese artist. And the truly outstanding zotter chocolate tour.
and make sure you have dinner at Fink&haberl.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were invited to spent a weekend in this hotel. I loved location. I loved the rooms - very nice, and comfy with fantastic view over the near castle. Shower has gals walls, so you can enjoy the view even from there. Very nice food. Fantastic breakfest. You swim direct towards the castle. It is the way, the swimming pool was built. We visited some food productions - zotter chocolate factory - very crowdy, and the Goesslers Essig/Schnaps what was very interessting and i purchased some of the products and i love theme (chocollate and the Vinegars). It is far away from the place we live, but if i should be in the area, i would definitly come again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Let me start by saying that this is only a second 5* rating I am giving to a hotel since I joined tripadvisor. And just for comparison - the other one is Six Sences Hideaway in Vietnam where one night costs 750 USD. So to start....

The hotel is very smartly built. The view of the castle is breathtaking and as mentioned in one of the previous reviews, you can see it even from the shower. The rooms are spacious and very well designed. We loved the drinking fountain in the room (it was 35 degrees outside, so it was well needed). Each room has a specious terrace with a table and two chairs. Plasma TV. No WIFI in the room. No fridge. The bed is very comfortable (soft) but no double bed - i.e. ours were just two beds pushed together.

On the top floor is spa area that has outdoor pool (not so big but plenty for splashing around) and sauna (as well as showers). Plenty of deck chairs. The pool is infinity style with the amazing view of the castle. The temperature of the water (beginning of July) was just perfect - warm but still refreshing... What I really liked about the pool area is that there is selection of fresh and dried fruits for you to grab as well as juices and water fountain. There are also some interesting body creams that you can use.

The service was very nice and the breakfast just amazing - great selection of hams and cheeses and freshly baked breads. They had 7 different kinds of honey! And with the dinner you have a salad buffet where you can choose from at least 10 different vinigars and 5 different oils. Just great.

Space for improvement? Absolutely! The air-conditioning wasn´t really working properly. Having 35 degrees outside 3 days in a row probably didn´t help. Don´t even bother renting their bikes - we tried and all of them were faulty or had some technical problems.... they are in a bad need of maintanance. The four course dinner we had one night sounded great when looking at the menu, but the execution was a bit lacking - in other words, the dinner was average, which could have been influenced by the fact that at the same time they were having about 100 people for wedding to cater for. The second night we just opt to have the salad buffet and they charged us mere 4,5 EUR for it! What a great value. In the area are plenty of the local wine restaurants where you get fantastic food for amazing value! No toiletries really, only a big bottle of generic hand wash/shower gel. But, I guess, that´s me being picky and rating this hotel against a five star catheogory, which it´s not (even though it feels like it).

Overall, we loved staying there. Great value for Austria. Two days felt like a week of fantastic relaxation and we would definitely want to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genusshotel, Manager at Genusshotel Riegersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews