We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village step Fort Barli”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Village step Fort Barli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent step between Udaipur and Jaipur. Nice antic place and confortable hotel with good tipical food.
Very good welcome from the owner of the hotel (he is the sixteen generation!)
Nice bullock tour of the village (5000 people) and very friendly people avid of pictures. I've matched pictures and send to the people.
A very good opportunity to meet simple and smiley people

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    65
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
169
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely room. The host was very friendly as was all the staff. The food was good and the bullock cart ride was memorable. The tipping arrangement worked well one central box an no tipping to villagers children loved being photod. As with everywhere we visited there was at least one wedding.

Would reccommend a stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank rcow1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Fort Barli and the surrounding village were definitely one of the highlights on our visit to India in December 2013. The management and staff is exceptionally welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home the minute we arrived. Beautifully heritage style with (as I would imagine) the luxury of old Maharaja times. Still very relaxed atmosphere, not overdone. We simply loved it.
The surrounding village is more than worth a visit with it's genuine, heart-warming people. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to visit the local school - this will definitely be on our schedule for the next visit.

Everyone at Fort Barli responded to our questions and whishes immediately... they taught us Hindi, arranged a morning walk to the temple, translated, explained etc. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatjaMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My relatives had recently visited Rajasthan and stayed at this ancient property Fort Barli. So we planned to visit and stayed for 3 nights. As it was all in the new year mood we arrived at the hotel and were welcomed by the owners.
We checked into our room and it was really done up well. My room was next to the maharaja's room. The staff was really energetic and served with a smile. We also visited Ajmer and Pushkar which was a good getaway from there. The 31 night started wid a Bonfire and later the dj party followed by a lovely fireworks show to welcome the new year. It was really nice experience we had in a remote area. I really appreciate the vision how the owners had restored a 300 plus year old fort with apt luxury. Fort Barli was a gr8 experience we had and we thanks Mr. Karni Singh for taking a gr8 care of us. I would recommend fort Barli.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kartikeya1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is an old, old palace with cracked floors, cracked walls and is in general disrepair. I didn't trust the breakfast so I didn't eat anything but did have some coffee with cold milk. The milk had been so watered down with water that it was like skim. This was the ONLY hotel where I got sick. I think that it was from the watered mild - they probably used village water instead of bottled water. It was so cold in the room that I asked for a heater and when they finally brought one, it didn't work so they brought another which, when they turned it on, blew out the entire electrical system. Avoid this hotel if possible. Horrible place. Beds were lumpy.

Room Tip: Don't even go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgia1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeraRawatsar, Manager at Fort Barli, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review. We understand that we may have not met your expectations, however, unfortunately you have used unpleasant language for our property and we would like to clarify on your points. We serve only sealed packed branded Mineral water in the hotel and your conjecture about falling sick about on using village water is completely incorrect. Our milk is branded and supplied by SARAS which is a top milk brand in India. Your inference once again for diluting milk with water is erroneous. We are not a centralized heated hotel and since you were feeling cold we had put 02 heaters , gave you extra quilts and 02 hot water bottles in your bed to make you stay warm and comfortable. Your claim that the heater blew the electrical system entirely is absolutely false . It seems that you have little respect for heritage properties in villages of India and guess are not a suitable client for places like ours.

All the best
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

On our way from Jaipur to Jodhpur, we stopped at Fort Barli, a heritage fort dating back from 1675 and overlooking a small rural village typical of Rajasthan.
The fort has been in the same family for 16 generations but only recently transformed into a small (8 bedrooms) hotel. Being a small family run place, Karni, the owner, is always at hand to make sure your stay is perfect or to explain the history of the property, answer any questions you might have and organise activities with a direct connection to the local life.
Our room, The Maharajah suite was very well appointed, comfortable with a simple bathroom. As for the food, it was unpretentious, very tasty with a generous choice.
What makes this place different however is the village interaction. Taking the bullock cart ride through the village was quite simply an enriching experience. We were briefed beforehand by the owner that begging was not encouraged in the village. If you want to hand any money, the school is the place to donate. You start to wonder in the first few meters of the ride if all the smiles are totally genuine. The deeper you enter the village the more you realise they are and the only thing kids want is their pictures to be taken. Seeing themselves on the screen is usually enough to make them laugh. But because they know that most travellers will send back the pictures within a few weeks it becomes a game for them to make sure they are on your path sometime more than once !
The school visit is also on the must do list for it you will see what has been achieved and the long road still ahead.
Overall an excellent stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Ancient Forts were built on Characters, Fort barli is all about character, feeling, warmth, happiness. an enjoyable place which is hardly 2.30 hrs from Jaipur, an environment which makes you happy, feel wanted. MUST SEE place in India

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paragmore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barli
8.1 mi away
Bijay Niwas Palace
Bijay Niwas Palace
#13 of 49 in Ajmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
158.5 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 21 in Alwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel N Chandra Palace
Hotel N Chandra Palace
#1 of 1 in Bijaynagar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
129.0 mi away
Ramathra Fort
Ramathra Fort
#1 of 3 in Karauli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbar's Den
Babbar's Den
#5 of 58 in Mount Abu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Property: Fort Barli
Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing