We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Definitely a 10/10 stay. We had 2 nights at Fort Barli as part of a 17 day tour around Rajasthan and this was an absolute hidden gem. The rooms were spacious and very well furnished and fitted out. The staff were all incredibly helpful and produced endlessly delicious food. The fort is very atmospheric with wonderful views and amazing bird. I can highly recommend the bullock cart ride around the village which was a highlight for us.

I would thoroughly recommend Fort Barli to any travellers going to Rajasthan and will definitely hope to fo again myself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDJC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well off the beaten track, giving real insight into rural Rajasthan, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to fort Barli. We were one of only two couples there, as it was towards the end of the season, so we felt like we had the run of the place, which has been beautifully restored and refurbished (though this must be an ongoing job!) We were upgraded to a new suite, which looked out from the back of the fort across the village. It was a window on the world: from here and numerous other different spots around the Fort, you could observe the whole of village life (much of it lived as it is on rooftops) and the numerous birds, including peacocks and parrots. The room itself was extremely comfortable, with good walk in shower and facilities. Speedy laundry service.

The staff were extremely attentive and thought had been given as to how to look after us at mealtimes. On the first night we ate at the side of the pool with the other two guests, which was a pleasure. On the second night we were whisked away to a romantic candlelit terrace for just the two of us - and the owner and his staff enjoyed surprising us as much as we were delighted! We ate well as vegetarians - a plentiful supply to which we could not always do justice. Excellent service from really delightful people. Karin, the owner, made a specific effort to catch up with us throughout our stay and was full of stories of the past and plans for the future.

The fort and the village are interconnected and we appreciated being shown around the village and meeting our guide's children. Extremely friendly village, we'll be sending back the photos!

After the hustle and bustle of Delhi, Agra and Jaipur, our stay was an excellent opportunity to relax and reflect and to connect with everyday life in a way I wouldn't have thought possible.

Thank you to everyone at Fort Barli, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annastravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This old fort was the most beautifully converted of all the hotels we stayed in. Rooms are huge, furnished with beautiful antiques and traditional furniture and there are courtyards everywhere with seats and fountains and swinging chairs. The views from the top of the fort of village life on the rooftops were fascinating. There is a lovely pool, ice cold in December but by the time we got here we were getting used to being so cold we were numb. Food is good at lunchtime and excellent in the evening (dinner for vegetarians was 600 rps per head) and the owner sits with you for drinks round the fire in the evening. the first evening dinner was by the pool but as one by one guests went to their rooms to collect beanie hats and fleeces to wear they decided to have dinner in the restaurant the following evening. I don’t suppose anyone stays here without doing a trip on ox cart or by foot into the village but if you are not sure about it you should go. The villagers were so friendly and happy to be photographed (especially if you subsequently send photos to Fort Barli for them to distribute) and seeing how they live was really fascinating. I had a massage from a lady in the village who had been trained by the hotel to provide ayurvedic massage. She had incredibly strong hands but it really was an all over massage which I found a little unnerving! We were unable to do the yoga but we did dress up in some saris which was great fun. This is rural Rajasthan and there were a few electricity outages while we were there which in turn affected the amount of hot water available from the hot water geysers in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NCB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

stayed for 1 night with parents, owners were kind to open an extra room for me, great stay, located in an off beat location from Ajmer, this smaller fort has been gracefully renovated, very spacious room for my parents, and my room was great. The facility has a swimming pool, beautiful terrace views, great hospitality, and great food. Some newer rooms are coming on line, all the rooms I saw were excellent. Would strongly recommend a nights stay to wind down here

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank papooatagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent step between Udaipur and Jaipur. Nice antic place and confortable hotel with good tipical food.
Very good welcome from the owner of the hotel (he is the sixteen generation!)
Nice bullock tour of the village (5000 people) and very friendly people avid of pictures. I've matched pictures and send to the people.
A very good opportunity to meet simple and smiley people

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely room. The host was very friendly as was all the staff. The food was good and the bullock cart ride was memorable. The tipping arrangement worked well one central box an no tipping to villagers children loved being photod. As with everywhere we visited there was at least one wedding.

Would reccommend a stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank rcow1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Fort Barli and the surrounding village were definitely one of the highlights on our visit to India in December 2013. The management and staff is exceptionally welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home the minute we arrived. Beautifully heritage style with (as I would imagine) the luxury of old Maharaja times. Still very relaxed atmosphere, not overdone. We simply loved it.
The surrounding village is more than worth a visit with it's genuine, heart-warming people. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to visit the local school - this will definitely be on our schedule for the next visit.

Everyone at Fort Barli responded to our questions and whishes immediately... they taught us Hindi, arranged a morning walk to the temple, translated, explained etc. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatjaMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price Range: £82 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing