We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate atmosphere in a beautiful Scottish village”
Review of Sangsters - CLOSED

Sangsters
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Intimate atmosphere in a beautiful Scottish village”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Food and wine list are very good. Service was attentive and polite...I can't fault a thing. As I get older, though, I appreciate a bit of genuine welcome and warmth warmth. Something was just a bit too sterile...but that's a very personal thing...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InLondonAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    26
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Absolute gem in the East Neuk”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Since Bruce Sangster and wife, Jackie, bought this unprepossessing little restaurant in the High Street the quality of food has been outstanding. I usually visit at least once every year when in the area for golfing holidays. The 4-course dinner is priced at £47.50/head and is excellent value especially as not one but three "amuse bouche" are offered. On Tuesday evening, the opening amuse bouche were two parmesan biscuits followed by a glass of hot tomato and roasted red pepper soup - delicious flavours. A selection of hot bread buns and good salted butter are provided. I started with Seared Ross-shire Scallops - Galangal lime leaf lemongrass and coriander dressing. There were four meaty, thick slices of pan-fried scallop with the tangy but not overpowering sauce. For the intermediate course, most of us opted for the Twice Baked Cheese Souffle based on Isle of Mull Tobermory mature cheddar. This arrived piping hot and melted in the mouth. Every last drop was spooned up or mopped up by the bread rolls. My main course was Ayrshire Pork Fillet stuffed with Stornoway black pudding - butterbean, chorizo and tomato cassoulet, gratin potatoes and pan juices. The pork was moist and tender and the black pudding
must be the best in the land. Finally an amuse bouche of very lemony posset and Spearmint Panna Cotta. This is an absolute gem of a restaurant and must not be missed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and a lovely, warm atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've been to this restaurant on 3 occasions now and it never disappoints. The food is excellent and, with all the little extras you get in between courses, is excellent value for money. The restaurant is quiet with very few covers so if you like a lively atmosphere this is not the place for you! The service is unobtrusive but friendly and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank I_L0VE_holidays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointment on a special occaision”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had booked here for my son's graduation celebration as a party of seven. First impressions were not good as we seemed to be entering a waiting room. We thought we were respectably early arriving at 8.10 for an 8.30 booking. Later found out they thought we were too early as they assumed it was 8.30 for 9.00 but hadn't told us. Staff were flustered and wanted to show us straight to our table so we had to ask if we could sit and have a drink first. Service did improve once we were at table and wine recommendations fitted well to the food choices.

The food itself was mixed; starters were ok, most of us had scallops which were overcooked for me. The mains again varied but did not impress either in flavour or in presentation. Overall I felt that this was not the quality of food or experience that I found in other Michelin star and non-star restaurants as there seemed little love in the food or surroundings. When I spoke with Bruce Sangster afterwards he gave the impression of readying himself for retirement and it seemed that we were simply funding his pension rather than sharing a creative experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Beeleyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I'm surprised to read reviews that don't rate the food highly here; we have never found it to be any less than perfect (& we have eaten at many Michelin restaurants).
The service was also light & friendly, attentive without being over stuffy & formal.
As a table of 5, we were able to sample everything on the menu & each course was a taste delight; beautifully presented, the portion size was perfect & the flavours were superb.
We'd recommend the scallops (the dressing was a flavour sensation), & the spearmint panna cotta was amazing
A wonderful Sunday lunch

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieMacW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sangsters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing