We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under New Management”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elie Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elie Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Under New Management”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

We visited Elie Caravan Park at Shell Bay for the opening of the season. With the park and restaurant both under new management we delighted with what greeted us.

Our caravan was like no other, very modern and we'll equipped.

The park itself is maintained to a very high standard and the driveway in has been recently resurfaced (so no more potholes!)

Food at the Kincraig restaurant was excellent, offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and takeaway...we didn't cook a thing.

Great games room for the kids (and big kids) as well as an excellent play park meant that the children we saw were kept entertained.

Can't speak highly enough about the place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagiMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    43
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
75
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Was expecting a nice week away with children, but had to watch out for dog dirt all over the park.complained to staff who said they ask that owners clean up after there dogs but they could not do anything else.too many dogs were also off there leads and again the site do nothing about it.would go back to elie area but not this site because of problems with dogs

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank bo647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

just had a weekend at elie holiday park (shell bay) in fife .this was our first time here and probably our last .we were on the tent pitches which are indiscriminate and very uneven.\it is a busy site with cars speeding about so we had to keep a good eye on our kids.We thought we would eat out on the saturday night at the restaurant.we were informed that the meals were very good ,to which we were looking forward to. What a disappointment!!! we had the fish. we also all had the runs for the rest of the weekend as did one of our neighbouring tents family..
We should never have eaten the fish as it looked grey and not fresh.
One of the kids had the Macaroni.. what a joke ..Boiled pasta with some grated cheese on the side Oh!! and floating in water to garnish.. Really disappointed with the amount of dog dirt we came back with on our trainers after a walk along Ruddens Point. Kids were scared at the dogs running around off leads.. Stressful weekend and we will never be back. Management need to get off their backsides and do something about the issues.

Helpful?
5 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Just been here for a week we got it for a great price with our touring van, what a beautiful site right next to the beach the access road is terrible full of potholes. The kids loved the playarea and all the other facilities well of a very high standard can't wait to return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank 469pips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday on Elie Caravan Site (Shell Bay). It was a fantastic holiday. Such a beautiful place and so so friendly! We have three kids who made loads of friends, begging us to book again for next year. We don't usually go to the same place twice but I still have a lot of exploring to do around the coastline.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Having been going to shell bay for many years the last two visits have us doubting if we will return yes the site is in a great location for walkers the park is good the touring pitches are mostly ok toilet/shower block good and bar complex good ... However since the park has had a new owner things have changed some of the weekend staff are very abusive the access road is full of potholes big ones at that and most of the cars / work vans treat the roads like a race track it's only a matter of time until someone gets seriously hurt or worse and to top it off there is a TOTAL BAN ON ANY FORM OF BBQ this means gas ones as well as far as the night noise as most of caravan/camp sites there is going to be people enjoying them self but after midnight it quiets down I never found it to be a problem will we go back ? After having been going there every year ( up to 4 times a year ) I really don't think we will untill the issues we have are sorted out . As a foot note I have e-mailed the site direct but as of yet still no reply

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanmcdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayside
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We visited Elie caravan park in April. We were expecting great things but this place was a disappointment. The long access road is full of pot holes and needs resurfaced. Staff ignored us on arrival...not a good first impression. We were ignored at reception for a good 2 or 3 minutes while the staff were too busy slagging off another customer...charming!!! The kids play park onsite is very over hyped in the brochure and on their website. It looks the part but there is nothing for under 5s to play on and no swings or anything for little ones. Elie beach is beautiful. However the beach area at the park had loads of dogs on it (and dog dirt). Not the best for young kids. The caravan was nice but we have experienced better elsewhere. The shop (a converted caravan) is very limited in terms of stock. There is virtually nothing in it. The shop was also expensive. Overall the facilities on site are limited. There is no swimming pool or soft play area and nothing for the kids to do indoors when the weather is adverse.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ScottishTraveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elie
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,976 reviews
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
9.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elie Holiday Park

Property: Elie Holiday Park
Address: Shell Bay | Fife, Elie KY9 1HB, Scotland (Formerly Shell Bay Park)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Elie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Elie
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled behind a wide expanse of dunes and a sweeping sandy beach, award-winning Elie Holiday Park at Shell Bay is a true hidden gem. Families have been enjoying holidays here for generations and are attracted by the unique location, fantastic entertainment, abundance of wildlife and the exciting Robinson Crusoe Adventure Park. Childhood memories are made here. From morning 'til dusk, there is so much to do and see. You can walk the coastal path, go rock-pooling, spot seals lolloping in the Forth, spy deer bobbing between the trees and, if you're lucky, you may even see a rare red squirrel! Kids can go wild at the Robinson Crusoe Adventure Park and enjoy the exciting arcades at the Castaways Games Room. Couples will also love Elie Holiday Park. Explore the picturesque fishing villages, enjoy a walk around Ruddons Point (Site of Special Scientific Interest) and catch one of the local summertime festivals. In the evening, sample the tasty new menu at the Kincraig View Restaurant and live entertainment at Ruddons Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elie Holiday Park Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing