We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good !”

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good !”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were staying at the Edgewater so went wandering for dinner one night - and came across the Kikau Hut. Fabulous food. Very happy with what we got and great service too. Such a friendly helpful woman. Generous drinks measures too. This place deserves to be really busy !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    231
    48
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a meal”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a great night here, Best mates wedding meal, staff were so helpful, great food and local band were awesome!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tony_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

*The owner picked us up from our hotel and dropped as back - free of charge
*The food was absolutely delicious!
*The staff were super friendly and atmosphere was great

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - Great night out”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We ended up eating at Kikau Hut twice whilst staying on the Cook Islands. The meal we had was probably the best meal that we had on the island. The service was excellent, with a special mention to Lena, our waitress, thank you for your excellent service. The owner, Kevin is an excellent host and the restaurant even offers the service of coming and picking you up and dropping you off after the meal. I would highly recommend visiting this restaurant when staying on the Island and highly recommend trying the chowder - it was a real standout, but mind you everything was a standout!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarina, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had 50th B'day dinner and drinks here and was an excellent night.
Service was great, owner and bar staff very friendly and went out of their way too help us with our infant.
We had the seafood chowder and were served a lovely large bowl of creamy seafood..it was very good. There was a range of different food at our table and i did not hear any complaints.
The restaurant itself was set out very nice and had a good breeze which helped cool things down.
All in all a very enjoyable place to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hootermoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing