We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the trip”

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Enjoyed an evening of cocktails and dinner here so much that we went back for a second night. Cocktails were great, $13 each (between 4.30 and 6.30 - $15 otherwise). Entrees, mains and desserts were awesome and well priced for the lovely food that it was. Atmosphere was gorgeous, right on the beach with dinner set up in the garden area. Staff were always very lovely! Would definately recommend for a romantic and tasty night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    91
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great all round”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at this resort so I can say wonderful fresh breakfasts every day with lots of choice to suit everyone. We tried everything over the week but our fave was the fresh fruit followed by the poached eggs. Service was always good and they would always bring out extra food if needed. For lunch a couple of times, had a couple of toasted sandwiches/fries which were also very nice. We also had a good dinner there (1x tender steak and 1x plenty of spare ribs) plus the best brulee I have enjoyed since Paris. Reasonable prices and a nice dining view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The food here wasn't the best in terms of fine dining on the island, but it was still really delicious. The value though came from the entertainment.

Please do go to the ISLAND NIGHT they hold at Oceans the entertainment is fantastic and the traditional food they service you is delicious we had such a fantastic night (make sure you book it is packed & popular!!!)

We also went back for their steak and ribs night. Unfortunately I don't like pork but I can tell you know those ribs looked delicious and everyone else with me was raving about them. The steak was delicious and cooked perfectly. They had singer on at the same time for entertainment and you get the best sunsets on this side of the island. Make sure you pay it a visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckalnd
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We enjoyed the Sunday Roast they have here a couple of times. The food is lovely and the setting and service is also good. The food was good quality and we thought it was tasty and nicely presented.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShereeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A totally fantastic value for money night.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great night, great food, great staff and cultural group, all 9 of us had a night to remember. We looked all options on the island and this was by far value fir money and the setting was to due for, great cocktails by the sea at sunset what better could you ask for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandbatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing