We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently good”

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, European, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had breakfast,lunch and dinner at this fabulous resort. The smorgasbords were excellent. We were hooked on the cocktails, especially the blue stinger and the pina coladas. Every meal was very tasty, good selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    88
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Awesome place to have breakfast and the dinner and show package is certainly a must on your trip. We stayed at the resort and the staff all know you by name and are so helpful. The cocktail hour is not to be missed. Watching the sunset on the beach drinking cocktails-then slowly make your way over to the dinning area. The dinner is wonderful. Breakfast is relaxing and the occasional chook and chicks walks by looking for a spare crumb , while you watch the surf pound the outer reef. It is casual dining even wearing my wet swimwear to breakfast after a early morning swim.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Currumbin1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Steak & Ribs night a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Crown Beach Resort so Oceans was our in house restaurant. The Steak and Ribs night is the best value for money dinner we had at $39pp nz. Pop long early and have a cocktail before dinner they are excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had dinner here as it had been highly recommended to us by our daughter who had dined here last year. Lovely setting, semi-outdoors. Service was initially efficient, however we waited over 45 minutes for our meals to arrive - we noted that some diners who had placed their orders had their meals arrive before ours so I knew something had was amiss. The waitress did come over and apologise for the wait and said our meals would be up next, but no reason given for the delay. When our meals did finally arrive, my chicken dish was dry and overcooked, the jus was just gluggy gravy, and the "sundried tomatoes" were just raw sliced tomatoes. My husband's eye fillet was rare, when he had requested medium rare so he didn't finish his meal because of this. And to top it off, the wine we ordered wasn't available and there wasn't an alternative available. So we won't be dining here again, as just too disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

On our yearly trips to Rarotonga we always visit this restaurant but alas this time we were bitterly disappointed. Arrived for a 6.30pm booking early for happy hour at 6pm. Within the 1st 15mins we must have been asked 6 times by different staff if we would like to order, so I ordered breads and dips. We wanted to have a nice night and not to be rushed. Restaurant was not busy with perhaps 6 other diners. At 6.30 after more hassling we ordered entrees and mains. My tempura prawns looked like some some pre frozen batter mixed product and I was unable to tell what type of meat/seafood lay within the stodgy batter. Hubby was happy with his seafood chowder although no prawn or scallop lay within as per advertised. Then within 2 seconds of our entrees being cleared our mains arrived. While they were both outstanding, the steak and pork belly, we were unable to eat them and subsequently the majority of our meal was returned to the kitchen. The chef didn't deserve for that to happen to such a lovely dish. The waitress recommended we order a side of salad (and we did) although both mains came with hot veges. The bulk of the staff on that night spent the time smoking on the beach in the cabana rather than attending to guests. They also had a guy on guitar which would have been nice as background music rather than full on sound so that we couldn't talk at the table. Our night was over by 7.15pm and we left feeling really disapponted by this experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huwanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing