We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant”

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: US$30 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were attracted to the Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant by a rustic sign at the front roadside, attached to a Palm Tree advertising "The Best Sea Food Platter in Raro" for two only NZ$70.00.The Restaurant was set well back from the road and at first glimpse looked just like a private residence but we decided to investigate. The Restaurant was surprisingly large inside, decked out like the inside of a old sailing ship. Decorations of old ship paraphernalia, nets, anchors, old black and white pictures of Rarotonga and recent fishing pictures.
The Restaurant was decorated with thousands of Black Pearl Shells attached to the large dark exposes beams. The Restaurant was divided up into a number of dining areas, ensuring an intimate experience and the area was lighted by old ships lanterns. The sea food platter arrived and was very generous, served in a three tier platter filled to the brim. The waitress explained the contents of the platter, ensured our glasses were filled and left us to enjoy ourselves. This Restaurant was not overly busy but we saw the potential. The platter may not have been the best that we had ever had, being 80% deep fried, but the ambience definitely made a lasting impression on us and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Definitely, an experience we would recommend.

Thank KarenFayeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Kia orana
Thankyou for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our Tumunu and do apologise if the platter was not up to your standard. The only things that are deep dried are the scallops - by choice (sautéed or crumbed), calamari and the filo pastry prawns. The fish is braised in lemon butter. So I am note sure what else may have been deep fried. In any case we do always appreciate feedback as it helps us to re visit our standards in food and service. The ladies in the front I feel are absolute gems and we try to imbibe a family type of atmosphere. I do hope that if you revisit the Cooks that you will consider returning to the Tumunu once again.
Kia manuia
Julie, Terahi and the team at the Tumunu Garden Bar and Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good restaurant and nice atmosphere. A lovely seafood platter to be eaten and shared. Not too far from town.

Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Kia orana
Thanks so much for a really nice comment about our restaurant and seafood platter. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope you will visit our lovely island again one day.
Meitaki Maata (Thank you very much)
Terahi and the team at Tumunu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely tropical garden setting. Great entrees and mains. Staff very friendly very welcoming. Good parking area. Should not be missed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonesysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice revue.
Kia manuia (happy life)
The team at Tumunu Garden Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went with another couple & we both had the seafood platter. Lots of food & delicious. Only criticism would be as the platter is for two to share, why have just 5 scallops?! They were very tasty so there was competition for the odd one. Sat in the garden area - a nice touch was the mozzie repellant on the table. Staff very friendly. Had to buy bottled water as apparently they do not have filtered water - strange as practically every other tap on the island provides filtered water. Very enjoyable overall & would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gertie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Kia orana and Hello
Thanks for a really good review. Comments are noted. We now serve even numbers of scallops - so no vieing for the odd one anymore!!! Water is filtered, however our local health authorities also recommend we promote the locally bottled water as opposed to filtered water. It has also been a policy of many restaurants to support local industry and provide bottled water. We have small bottles and then we have the bigger bottles of water. The bigger bottles are a lovely souvenir style screw top bottle and can be taken home by guests for its souvenir value, at no additional cost - so many do take them.
We do hope that the next time you are in Rarotonga you will come and experience the Tumunu once again.
Kia manuia
Julie and Eric Bateman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I sat in the garden area and really enjoyed the pan fried scallops as starter followed by fish for mains and then dessert! Great service and friendly too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello and Kia orana
Thankyou for a very nice review. All of us at the Tumunu Garden Restaurant are happy to hear that our clients enjoyed not only the food, but also the general surrounds and ambience. The garden is certainly a favourite.
Kia manuia
Julie and Eric Bateman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing