We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood platters”

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: US$30 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Reviewed 12 August 2014

even though this is a seafood resturant there are still options for all tastes- I had the vegetarian dish and it was great- very large couldn't eat it all. Well worth a visit

1  Thank JimJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Kia orana and thank you for your review.
The cook comes from a big family and can't help herself with the portions! Very happy you enjoyed "our" Tumunu and hope you will visit us again one day.
Meitaki Maata (thanks so very much)
Kia manuia
(good luck, good health and happy life)
The Team from Tumunu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food was wonderful. Great flavour and generous servings. We ate here three times in the week we spent in Rarotonga, we loved it so much. Service was outstanding and the staff were very friendly. Julie the cat was cool too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi there
Thanks so much for a great review. I show all the reviews to the staff good, bad and otherwise but they mostly love the great ones - like yours.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit our lovely island again and perhaps call in on the Tumunu team too. Julie cat is a "princess" and really rules the place as you probably saw.
Thanks again
from Julie Cat and the Team at Tumunu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We thought we would give this restaurant a try & went back 2 more times. The food was delicious. The restaurant was very quiet and we couldn't understand why. The decor was very interesting and tropical. I would recommend a visit here. It would be great for family's as well. Their salad was great as was there special spinach mash.

Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Kia orana Trish
Thanks very much for your review. It is like that sometimes in Raro - quiet one night and run off our feet on other nights. Trade can be fickle at times. So glad you at least made it to our Tumunu. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the whole package.
Look forward to seeing you back here one day.
Kia manuia
Happy Life
The Team at Tumunu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was probably the worst meal experience we had in our time in Rarotonga. The surroundings were pleasant although seemed dated. The meal was very bland. We chose fish and 3 of us asked for fries as an option to the potato mash. These turned out to be stringy soggy ( not restaurant standard). To top all we decided to try a sweet and opted for the banana fritters. This was actually a banana fritter with a scoop of orange ice cream and they charged $12. The banana was so small it only took 2 mouthfuls. Over all poor quality food, overpriced in lacklustre surroundings.

Thank TaggartNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Your review was not a good one by a long shot. I have shown it to all may have been concerned on that evening. They will learn from this. All reviews are shown to the staff because this helps to improve their demeanor, service and quality of product. Our desserts are usually as large as the mains - not sure what happened there.
As for the surrounds, well, that's just a case of personal taste.
Kia manuia
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Mum and I decided to get the "famous" seafood platter, we were both really disappointed. The prawn and fish were both over cooked, prawn twisters were uninspiring as you can buy them at the supermarket In a box, and the rest was quite bland. The garlic bread was nice and large serving size (enough for at least 3 people). Our waitress was absolutely lovely. The theming is also quite unique and enjoyable.

2  Thank Octomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Kia orana
Thankyou for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your overall experience and service of the Tumunu. It does concern me that you didn't enjoy your platter. I am thinking that perhaps there was no quality control on that evening. I have shown this review to our cook and although she cannot specifically recall the platter, admits that she had let the use of herbs etc slide.
If you visit Rarotonga again then I would like you to give us another try and perhaps this next time you will have an entirely different taste experience.
Kia manuia
Julie and the Team at Tumunu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing