We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful holiday.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for 12 days in Sept 2011, this was my 4th holiday at the Edgewater, my husband has actually stayed there 10 times. The resort offers a wide range of accommodation to suit every budget. We booked one of the Beachfront Deluxe rooms which has a wonderful view of the lagoon. The staff were once again very friendly and welcoming. The revamped Spaghetti House restaurant was particularly good, and we again enjoyed the Island Night dinner and cultural show. The continental breakfast didn't disappoint - lots of fresh pawpaw, water melon along with other fruit, cereals and freshly baked bread, muffins. The main restaurant meals were also very good. The lagoon was alive with fish when we went snorkelling, and it was wonderful to see the whales just outside the reef. We cant wait for our next visit. Thanks again to all the staff at the Edgewater, who once again helped make our trip so memorable. Jo and John, Lake Hood, NZ

Room Tip: We highly recommend the beachfront deluxe, and the villas also look very nice if you have a larger g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterR, Sales & Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Kia Orana JoanneR,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent trip back with us again here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future! We have a return guest loyalty programme in place now, so look forward to welcoming you to our Coral Club on your next trip! Once again, thank you for posting your positive comments - we have passed these on to all of our staff.
Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    619
    267
    93
    70
See reviews for
478
573
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Kia Orana, Edgewater and others.
We have now stayed at the Edgewater we think ten times in the last 29 years. The first time was in room 44, now on top of the 400 block Back then we did have cooking facilities in the room and a Para pool where the Restaurant is now. There was no Restaurant at Edgewater and Island night was held at the Crown down the road. Does anyone else remember I wonder? We have certainly been six times in the last eight years so we have watched with interest as the resort has progressed and grown. We wish to point out where perhaps the experience of staying with you has changed over the years but will try not to do so without identifying where we think things can perhaps could be improved looking from our angle as recent retirees and long term visitors. On our most recent visit we stayed three days and went to Aitutaki for two and returned to Edgewater for a further 6 days. We booked and payed for a “Garden Room” as we had always done before but never before had we actually been put in one. We had always been placed in a “Garden Superior Room” or even something better. We have usually ended up in the 500 or 600 block somewhere. This time on our first visit we ended up in the bottom of the 900 block where all the roosters live and with windows that were unable to be locked on the ground floor. We do realise that you have recently greatly increased your occupancy rates and this undoubtedly accounts for us ending up where we did. We did report the window problem to the desk but when we left nothing had been fixed. What did happen however that on pointing out our disappointment on the position of the room we were upgraded substantially to the top of the 3000 block on our return from Aitutaki. This was very much appreciated. Room 3024 was “Magic” Thanks very much from the both of us.
Now for a suggestion; Perhaps somewhere in your database you could have some way of identifying long term and repeat visitors with regard to where they are placed. We do also regularly stay at a similar resort in Malaysia. and they always know when you arrive that you have been there before and greet you and treat you accordingly. It is a nice touch and does not go unnoticed. I know with the sheer volume of visitors that pass through your resort and bookings made through all different agencies and individuals that it may be a big ask but there must be a way.
The next area is the pool. This is a children friendly resort, priced accordingly, and children do seem to be actively encouraged to stay, with both children stay free and children eat free promotions both running over the period we were there. While this is fine for the children and there caregivers and parents. it makes the pool, and indeed the surrounding activities area very busy indeed. Avoiding school holidays does not seem to make much difference. Us, of advancing years that apparently make up about 25% of your total visitors, do not really appreciate getting bombed, splashed and forced into a game of water polo when we are just trying to cool off. Surprisingly enough the signs that say no jumping or diving don’t seen to curb these practices. You don’t have to go far, indeed to the closest resort to you, to find a no children policy, only 35 units in total, and two pools both bigger than the one at Edgewater. Comments that management feel that the pool is adequate do not wash with us I am afraid. Admittedly this neighbouring resort is a bit more expensive but it is not that much different from the lagoon front units. Some people would say “go and stay there then” but we somehow feel attached to the Edgewater and have recommended it to many people and love it there.




Now for another suggestion; The tennis court area seems to be underutilised. In fact in the six days we were there we only saw one serious game of tennis that lasted about half an hour. Apart from that it was only kids playing and we were overlooking the courts so we could see what was going on. An ‘adult’ only pool in this area would, I am sure, be much appreciated by a great number of your guests. It wouldn’t have to be huge and in keeping with the rest of the grounds would, I am sure be beautifully landscaped. The grounds incidentally are a credit to you and your staff.
What better advertisement and image could Edgewater possibly present to all the round island bus passengers that pass through this area every day, than glimpses of a pool through the surrounding coconut trees rather than a dreary deserted tennis court and a row of rental cars.
The staff on the front desk we found to be efficient, helpful and friendly as were the room cleaning, security and some of the restaurant staff. However getting someone’s attention in the outdoor dining area was something of a mission to say the least. There seemed to be plenty of staff there but getting them to come anywhere near you must be an art and we didn’t have it. We weren’t alone with this problem. It was quite a talking point among other diners.
The restaurant like much of the southern area is starting to show its age and has not changed much in possibly the last 15-20 years that we can remember. While the general all day menu (burgers etc) are good and represent generally good value for money some of the more exclusive items unfortunately do not. In our experience the Pork Loin for example. There are several very good restaurants for evening meals within walking distance of the resort including the Edgewater owned Spaghetti House which has improved out of sight since our last visit and it would be our suggestion to either lift your game to match them or leave them to it and concentrate on the burgers and chips.
We have never posted a review before but this time feel compelled to do so as the place we have come to love seems to be changing. In our eyes sometimes not for the better. It is perhaps becoming a bit impersonal. This could be due to its sheer size or the high occupancy rates at the time we were there as it is more than likely busier than it has ever been and is perhaps struggling a bit to cope.
Hope we haven’t been to hard on you as that wasn’t out intention. We do still love the place and would love nothing better than to return next year for our winter break from the frosts to be among some of the first to try out the nice new adults only swimming pool!.
Hope this review can be of use to someone, even perhaps the Edgewater itself. We have tried to look at it through the eyes of what could be termed the more mature generation without mentioning the word old.
Cheers Bruce & Sue

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit extra for a lagoon view but not near the activities centre and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waikitekite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterR, Sales & Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Kia Orana Waikitekite,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review on your recent stay at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased that you feel The Edgewater has a special place for you when you return to the Cook Islands and the 2-room upgrade to Beachfront Deluxe you received was appreciated. We have recently introduced a Coral Club loyalty programme for our return guests and we do apologise we did not pick you up on our database on this visit.
We assure you we have discussed your review at our management meeting and appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments. Growth in visitor numbers from NZ this year are over 15%, so the Cook Islands is becoming more attractive to New Zealanders to holiday. We are proud of the growth and improvements made to our Resort over the last 20 years with even greater developments and changes in the last 10 years with the construction of apartments, villas and more beachfront deluxe rooms. Our Lagoon View Rooms have all been recently refurbished and we are in the process of refurbishing the bathrooms in the Garden Superior Rooms.
While for some this may mean we are bigger, we are now able to offer several accommodation categories for all budgets and tastes, at the same time, still giving our guests that authentic Cook Islands holiday experience, with the friendly Cook Island service we are renowned for.
Again, thank you for posting your comments and we do look forward to welcoming you both back to our Edgewater family in the future.

Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

While the front reception staff are very pleasant and helpful go behind there and all you get are cleaning and service staff who quite frankly do anything to avoid working. Room cleaning staff don't clean - bathroom walls for example I just didn't want to examine those tiles too closely. One lady spent her cleaning time hanging around us sitting out on the porch instead of doing her job. Wait staff actively aviod catching your eye. This was one of the quiet times of the year - go there busy and expect to wait even longer. The absolute WORST thing about the place was the bed. It had to be the cheapest available on the planet, we chatted to others and they had similar experiences, one poor woam said she woke up with a pring popping out and sticking in her elbow. Younger people may be able to cope but most people over 40 can expect to have aches and pains from lying almost directly on steel springs!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobinsolAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Kia Orana readers,
We have contacted Robinsol to request a room number so we can investigate these comments further. We will post our response once we have this information.
Meitaki Maata
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed at the Edgewater Resort in August 2011. My partner and I stayed for just 4 nights.
The room itself was a garden view room. We were on the third level. To get to this level you had to climb what I would call 3 flights of emergency fire exit stairs. Some were quite rickety and each balcony leading along the length of the building was quite narrow. One person wide at the best. I was suffering from vertigo so imagine my concern when I found I was up that high. I tried to make as few exits down the stairs as I could as looking down to watch my step caused me to be dizzy.
The room itself was basic with a queen bed and seating and table. An electric jug which was quite hard to fill from the sink in the bathroom , a small container would have been helpful to fill the jug with!. The general condition of the room was tired and could do with some updating of decor and a lick of paint to freshen things up.
My friends stayed in a lovely newish 3 bedroom villa at the same resort and that was more than acceptable. We often went to have drinks with them in the evenings and I was impressed with the standard of accommodation. They even had a washing machine. Perhaps a 2 bedroom villa option would be another option for couples who wanted a bit more room?
The food was acceptable but the bar service was more hit and miss as to whether you actually got your drinks.
I would not bother staying there again.

Room Tip: Choose another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Kia Orana Nanny_N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are sorry you did not feel your room was up to standard, however are pleased your stay was enjoyed with friends who stayed in one of our villas. We have a number of room categories on the property that enable guests to match their budget with the style of accommodation they choose. We have rooms ranging from our lead-in Garden Rooms (at NZD 225 per room per night) up to Beachfront Deluxe suites (NZD$345 per room per night) to 3 bedroom villas which cater for 6 people (NZD $545 per villa per night). These rates include complimentary daily tropical breakfast.

At certain times of the year we have 1 free night and 2 night free night promotions. This can bring the price point down per person to as low as $50 per person per night for people staying in a villa or around $70 per person per night in a room/suite.

The Garden Room you chose to stay in is towards the rear of the property and is 3 storeys high. It was built this height originally to give the top floors a view over the gardens to the lagoon. In regard to your comment on the stairwells, we are currently moving through the resort and upgrading all of the stairwells. You may not have noticed that the stairways around the property are currently being replaced as part of a planned programme.

Thank you for your suggestion regarding a small cup to fill the water jug. One of the advantages of this review process, is to alert us to specific issues or suggestions guests may have that we are able to rectify or take on board. We apologise for the hit and miss service you mentioned at the bar. We have been running at extremely high occupancies over the entire season and do endeavour to keep a consistent high standard of service. I have taken your comments up with our Food & Beverage Manager. We have also recently purchased 300 new pillows that are currently being placed into rooms.

Again, thank you for posting your comments, we appreciate all feedback and we do hope you get to return to the Cook Islands and enjoy the local hospitality once again.

Kia Manuia

Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Edgewater and had a wonderful time. We renewed wedding vows on the beach. The team at the Edgewater made the event very easy, special and did lots of little unexpected extras. We had our "after match" function at the Island Night dinner and we had beautifully laid out table and we really fussed over! The staff were freindly, helpful and saying a few words in Cook Islands Maori always brought a smile. Food at the resort was great and lots of activities for groups and children.
Ka Kite John and Vivienne

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Field
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Kia Orana John & Vivienne!
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here with us at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure to help you both celebrate your renewal of vows. It was lovely to see you both around the Resort and using the Cook Island Maori words you learnt! Again, thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you both back at our Resort again in the near future! Until next time,
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murupara, NewZealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We arrived early morning Tuesday 6th September. Were taken to our rooms my brother and I, room. Everything was fine there although there was a very foul smell coming from the bottom of our stairs, (sewage like). That was the only put of for me, breakfast was great a lot to choose from.

It is affordable to stay in, If I was to return i would proberbly upgrade to a better room as we stayed in a garden view room. enjoyed the island heaps scooter riding, food awesome!

Will be returning with my family on the next trip there.

If you are looking for an affordable placed to go with the kiddies this is an awesome place, friendly, kid friendly and affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kailejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie G, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Kia Orana kailejade,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay here with us at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. In regards to the smell you experienced, we did have a blockage around the time you were staying, and this was recitified the same day, however it took 2-3 days for the odour to disappear.
We have several room categories within the Resort ranging from Garden Rooms, Garden Superior, Lagoon View, Beachfront Deluxe and 3-bedroom villas, which give our guests a wide range depending on their perference and budgets. We have a fantastic Coconut Kids Club here at the Resort which is free to all children from 4-12 years, and has proved extremely popular with both parents and children! Again, thank you for posting your review. We are delighted you had a great time here and look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.
Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I found the staff to be very friendly and if you took the time to talk to them, their input improved my holiday.
I note some other reviewers seem to be complaining too much.
Perhaps if they took the time to really relax and not look for faults everywhere, they may have enjoyed their stay more.
Everything that you could possibly require was provided and if the TV was too small - why bother to leave home if you only wanted to watch telly?
I could go on, but why bother?
The point is, I feel that a holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Sales & Marketing at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Kia Orana Barry R,
Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay with us at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our true Cook Islands hospitality. We have passed your comments on to all our staff who appreciate feedback on their service and friendliness. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the future!
Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing