We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for families and an easy and comfortable resort to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great for families and an easy and comfortable resort to stay in”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have gone to Rarotonga twice in three years to compete in the annual Vake Evia outrigging competition.
Both times we have stayed at the Edgewater Resort. we chose the edgewater because it is clean, nice and easy to deal with. an easy type of place to stay. they have scooter hire within the complex plus another hire company right outside. their in house food is very nice, abit pricey..but most resort resturants are pricey..and the edgewater is probably on the lower price scale for some very nice meals. there bar prices are expensive,,,but again,,,its just as easy to go to a bottle shop and buy your own beers etc...
the breakfast is basic, toasts, juices, cerals tinned and fresh fruit etc but again, you get what you pay for ..and this is an ok breakfast as part of your room price.
The rooms are clean and well maintained. they are starting to look a little old and may need a paint or the beds,/ mattresses updated in the next few years but definately nothing to worry about right now.
the reception staff are very nice and always helpful and most of the kitchen,/ bar housekeeping staff are Fijian and they are always friendly and happy to talk to you, which is why they are hired as live in staff by the resort, as they are well known for there hospitality skills and very reliable and hard workers. We have always had lovely chats with the fijians and find them very very pleasant to deal with at the Edgewater.
For a family, its an ideal holiday spot, the pool is great for the kids, the beach front access is very nice and easy to get to, the sunsets over this side of the island are lovely and the resort has a holiday program with things to do throughout the day. For a couple or for friends there is probably more suitable accomadation else where, and for the price of the rooms, which i find quite expensive, once you do your research and even.. when you get to the island and scoot around... you can find some great spots much cheaper and not so focused on the larger resort style of accomadation.
When we stayed as part of the outrigging competition, we got an amazing room for a group discounted price. when we enquired about an extra two nights for myself and my partner when we flew back in from another island, the quoted us very expensive prices for a room right at the back of the resort which they said was the standard prices for this time of the year. For those prices and for how we were placed right at the back of the hotel, we went and found much nicer and cheaper accomdation elsewhere. We felt that as we had stayed for a week and were return customers they could have given us some kind of discount or upgrade of a room on our return, instead they didnt care if we stayed or not. which is a shame as now we have found a few other places to stay by investigating ourselves.
they have an internet room which is very old and slow and you can buy Wifi which is even slower. the only other disappointment is their attached restaurant called the spaghetti house which is part of the resort but up on the main road.
like i said earlier, you can find cheap and nice food at the weekly & weekend markets and some decent meals at local places like the fishing club and other local hangouts or cafes. alot of the restaurants around the island are very expensive and it makes it hard to find reasonably priced meals for the whole trip. the restaurant the Spaghetti house USED to be amazing.
in 2011, we went every other night for dinner and the meals were a nice portion & not overly priced and more importantly , were beautifully cooked and tasted amazing.
this year, the menu was the same but the quality and standard of the food has totally gone downhill. we only ate there twice, and only the second time because my partner insisted we go back and try something else in case it was just a one off.
it wasnt. the biggest disapointment of the whole trip was that restaurant. from amazing food in 2011 it now serves tasteless, watery and either burnt or no flavour pasta.
an example is my seafood marinara, which in 2011 was flavourful and full of seafood. this time it was watery. the sauce had no flavour and i had minimum amount of seafood that didnt taste that fresh. on second try, i got the vegetarian pasta which was meant to have pumpkin, feta, pinenuts and baby spinach. in a tomato base. the tomato base was watery and had no other flavour, no onion or garlic or just plain simple Flavour. and i had one...ONE..2cm by 2cm lump of rock hard pumpkin in it. it had heaps of feta & baby spinach and so many pine nuts it was kinda odd..again...total let down.
so to wrap up...if your a family, then the edgewater gives you an easy holiday with everything you need to get by.
as a traveller, a couple or a group....for the price of the rooms and for what you get in regards to exceptional service or great food....go elsewhere..do your research and find better for cheaper....
theres nothing wrong with the edgewater....but theres definatly better on the island.

Room Tip: cant give you any tips. dont eat at the spaghetti house. buy your own beers and if you stay then pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDJamojoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Kia Orana JDJamojoplin
We thank you for your wonderful comments while you stayed with us during the 10th Vaka Eiva festivities on Rarotonga and host you again with some great group rates, but could not assist with your room category on your second stay with us. We hosted a few teams with us this year, and it is always great to host teams of such a big event. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your meals with Spaghetti House, we will be sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs to ensure our meals are more appetizing in future. We appreciate you feedback and thank you for staying with us and hopefully you can return back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    647
    286
    105
    74
See reviews for
515
600
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary
Lovely resort with lots to do
Island night was great with a fantastic buffet dinner
Activities every day & the staff are friendly & informative
Would recommend this resort
You can do as much as you want or as little as you want
The bus service comes straight into the resort also so quite concevenient

Room Tip: We had the garden room at the back of the complex which was fine A lovely view of the garden with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gedareje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Kia Orana Gedareje
We thank you for your comments and we are happy to have shared with you your 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our island night is famous for our buffet of food and desserts and we are glad that you enjoyed this. It is very convenient having the public bus come through our main lobby to pick up our guests when ever they need public transport to town or around the island. We hope that you will come back and share many more wedding anniversaries with us in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

To enjoy from our balcony every evening. We were luckily on the third floor and had an uninterrupted view over he lagoon. Our check in was very efficient which was a bonus as we arrived in the very early hours from Brisbane via Auckland. It was worth it to wake up to our stunning view The room itself was quite large with a queen plus single bed, small cane table and two chairs. It was a little tired but Kini our cleaning lady kept it as clean as possible. The bathroom had a corner shower recess and a modern green glass vanity and was large enough for two people to share at one time. The shower head was broken when we arrived but a call to maintenance had it renewed quickly. The hotel, which is right on the water is set in extensive grounds and has several types and prices of accommodation. Twice weekly they had an "Island Night" with great entertainment, plenty of hip wiggling and island drums guaranteed to set your feet tapping. The accompanying buffet was quite comprehensive. All other nights there was live music. The activities hut provided reef shoes and snorkel gear for use in the lagoon as there was a lot of loose and live coral. We didn't use the pool as there were usually a lot of children splashing around and with a beautiful lagoon full of fascinating, coloured fish we preferred the salt water. If you forgot sun screen or other things the hotel shop had a wide range. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly and transport was never a problem. If you preferred not to use the bus, which incidentally pulled up at reception, the hire car firm was right at hand.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room facing the West as the sunsets are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayAnn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Kia Orana JayAnn88
We would like to thank you for your great comments on your stay with us here at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Kini is an exceptional part of our houskeeping team, that keeps our rooms clean and always has a smile on her face. We thank you for your feedback and glad the maintenance team were able to assist with your issues in your room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our family of 4 Adults and five children had a fantastic family holiday at Edgewater Resort. We stayed Beachfront Deluxe had two ground floor Units. They were both spotlessly clean and great to walk into after arriving from Auckland, New Zealand. They both were serviced daily and the lady who cleaned our units was so obliging ( meaning that when the baby- Karwyn was having a morning nap, she would come back and service the unit later). The towels and linen if we wished was changed daily and the units spotlessly cleaned. The childrens' club "Coconut Kids" which three of the children went most days and at night as well. Was well managed by the lovely, caring people that ran the Club, plenty of activites and the children were well looked after. Childrens' ages were 10, 8, 4, 2 and 11mths. When we went for dinner at night, we hired twice, two ladies and the charges were great, again the Babysitters lovely, this was for the Baby, so our daughter could enjoy her meal. The children ate Free for lunch and dinner and the childrens Menu was very fulfilling and great variety,, followed by desert and a drink was included whilst we ate there as well. (There were no snacking for the children they were full each time). We were on a Special for -2 Adults and the 2 children ate free whether it was lunch or dinner. The two eldest children were in our unit and therefore they were covered in this deal too. Breakfasts were free for each of us. During the day we went snorkelling, looking at all the beautiful fish or we also swam in the Pool every day, maybe four of five times. The Pool was sparkling clean. Fresh beach-towels everyday and although there was rubber-soled shoes free of charge we had brought our own. Snorkelling gear was free. The 2 and 4 year old paddled, swam and threw rocks in the water having lots of fun. Around the Restaurant area there were huge rocks and the children had fun on these as well. There was no need to go into the Town with the children as they were more than amused at the Resort. We hired a Wagon and drove around the Island one day stopping off to look at other beaches and we were more than pleased where we were staying. The Supermarkets were just spotlessly clean and very reasonably priced, some commodities just as cheap as N.Z. It was great not having to change Currency "we could use NZ dollars", a real bonus for New Zealanders and the Australians and other Currencies would get quite a good deal on their money. We went one night and got Pizza's from Snapper Jacks, drove into town and in all honesty we should of bought them from the Resort. But great for a change. We used the Pool Table and played table-tennis three nights in the Resort Complex challenging the children and having fun. Went to the Rarotongan Night with a delicious meal and plenty of it.All the children went except Karwyn. Very sociable night. PLUS if you just want to go and 'kick back and relax'.... look at the sunrises and the magnificent sunsets" mix with other people (as Edgewater is about this too - very Social Resort)...Or even decided to get Married, we saw 5 of these - Beautiful settings. Everyone in our family thoroughly enjoyed their stay .. All in all we would definitely recommend the Edgewater Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: We stayed Beachfront Deluxe - it was super as we could see the children playing on the Beach 'a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Kia Orana Sue B
Thank you for your wonderful comments while you stayed with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities including our rooms and the food from the restaurant as well as our friendly staff. The kids club is such a delight for many of our guests children, having interactions with other children and the fun activities they participate in. We have many weddings held with us and are glad that you experienced this with us also as this is a special time with us here at the resort. We do hope that your return to our shores in the near future, and thank you for you for sharing your magic moments while here with us.
Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliston South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were at Edgewater from 5th -12th Nov and stayed in a beachfront room. The room was spacious and had a fantastic view over the lagoon and ocean. The furnishings were a bit outdated, the curtains did'nt keep much sun out and the bed too soft for our liking, but all in all it was clean and we were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and aircon worked a treat, also beach towels are provided daily in these rooms. Breakfast was fine there was a good choice, and if you wanted a cooked breakfast that was available for a reasonable fee. We only had a dinner once in the restaurant and that was on "island night" which was good, and tried the spaghetti house which was also fine( We always like to try a different restaurant each night when we are on holidays). There were plenty of activities to do in the resort if you wished, crab races were fun. A tip for newcomers is to attend the orientation talk held at 1000am, you get the idea of what you can do at the resort and Rarotonga in general. I have to say the staff in the restaurant and bar were great, if you spend a little time acknowledging them they are extremely friendly. A special thanks to Veti, Ceru and Lia who looked after us and made our stay!!! One let down was the extremely noisy group that was next to and below us and it did take quite a few phone calls and visits to fornt office to get something done about them. If you are looking for a quiet and upmarket place to stay this is probably not for you. There were not that many children at Edgewater at the time we were there but I could imagine it would be very busy & noisy. Local bus that went around the island stopped in at the resort on an hourly basis and was fine.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms as far from the bar as possible, would be quieter. Roosters crow very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maude1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Kia Orana Maude1312
Thank you for your comments and appreciate your feedback, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your beachfront deluxe room, which is located at the shores edge with a beautiful view of the lagoon and the sunsets. Our island nights are well known for our delicious variety of food, deserts and fantastic cultural dance show, and also the spaghetti house is a fantastic restaurant with great food that is located at the entrance of the resort. We thank you for also acknowledging the staff that you felt were very hospitable, we do have a great team. Our activities is great and attending the orientation is always beneficial for our guests getting to know the knowledge of the island and the resort. We thank you for your comments and do hope to welcome you to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were at Edgewater from Nov 3 -11 and then again Nov 17-19. We stayed in a garden view room. The bed was terrible, not comfortable. Once I complained to the front desk they changed the mattress very quickly and it was better. The room was clean and acceptable for the price we paid. Our second room had a leaking sink and the shower head was loose (had to pry it up so we wouldn't hit our heads every time we showered. Didn't say anything because we were there for only two nights and wife did not want to repack and move to another room). The resort was a great place to stay years back and I understand is still the largest on the island, but the owners need to update their facility, diffenitly new mattresses and update sinks and showers. With that said however, the staff was very professional,friendly and attentive. The complimentary continental breakfast was very nice. Dinners were also good. Planned activities were a lot of fun. Attended the crab races. That was a hoot! Snorkeling in the lagoon was also good. If you are not too fussy about your room (we didn't stay in it except to sleep) this is a good place to stay. They have plenty of activities or you can lay out on the beach and be alone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Kia Orana Peter B
We would like to thank you for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Edgewater Resort and how you enjoyed the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff, the tropical breakfast and the quickness in how we responded to your queries. Our activities team and cultural activities are a highlight for many guests including the crab race and the ika mata (raw fish) making, to name a few. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to greeting you back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We were at Edgewater at the end of our honeymoon Dec 2011, because our flight was cancelled. We were in 2 different rooms. The first was very basic and tired and I ended up with bites all over me the next morning and it wasn't because I had forgotten to put sunscreen on. When our flight still wasn't up and running the next day they moved us to a nicer larger room. We found the resort noisy and clichéd but for families the location is good and it would work well budget wise. Hopefully my bed bug issue was a once off. The local bus comes right in to the resort so that's really handy and Happy Hour was enjoyable. I hated the plastic palm trees over the tables though you kept walking into them getting up and down from the table. They are a novel way of providing shade I guess.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavKez5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Kia Orana DavKez5566
We thank you for your review. We would like to inform you the resort has never experienced bed bugs and certainly take this very serious. without knowing your room number we cannot do a proper inspection and we appreciate your feedback, it is unfortunate that you had been bitten by insects while you were on holiday, we always encourage guests to wear mosquito repellent. It is great that you spent your honeymoon with us and how you enjoyed your room while you were here. We would love to welcome you back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing