We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So, we didn't stay here thank goodness, we were down the road staying somewhere much more relaxing and quiet.
We came here twice for drinks and our friend's wedding and couldn't wait to leave. I think you have to know what you're getting yourself in for at Edgewater. This is a large resort with kids yelling and screaming and running around the place. Also there is always at least one wedding going on (we saw three in two days) so the wedding parties are drinking up and making lots of noise - and that's on top of everyone else.

On the plus side, I quite liked the food, and the prices weren't bad. And they make great Pina Coladas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tarawera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
There are newer reviews for The Edgewater Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband I arrived in Rarotonga early Sunday morning . We were both excited to be in the Cook Islands but at two in the morning after a long flight all we needed was a good bed lucky for me we had two. As my husband snores it was a god send. Room was spacious and adequately furnished. Bathroom was great, shower good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good if you knew what to ask for.
If you were planning on having a look around forget it, especially if it is raining!! Most activities were cancelled you can't hire a car you can get a scooter if you want to get wet. Next time plan to arrive on a Thursday night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Effie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here in the 2nd week of July, to attend a family wedding. It was perfect as they provide a range of accomodation from garden view motel style rooms, to ocean view rooms that are a little bigger and then villas. The entire bridal party and family stayed at the resort which meant we could share meals together and we were all right there. Tours were organised easily and the staff were super friendly.
It was great for all the kids from the wee ones right through to the teenagers with the kids gathering at the pool each day, going snorkeling and other kids club activiites.
I had been warned that this resort was "low budget" and so my expectations werent huge, But it was more than suitable and even though we were in one of the smaller garden view apartments, we had plenty of room for me and 2 teenagers.
There was a small fridge in the room which allowed us to bring our own milk and cheese and ham etc to make sandwiches for lunch.
We had an absolutely BRILLIANT time!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andie2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We will defiantly be back. We were treated like royals, we were even lucky to be upgraded as this was our 3rd stay and look forward to our stay with you again next year.
Thank you once again Edgewater Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank true_coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I joined with some 50 other bowlers to travel to Cook Island on a Bowls trip. We had a ball! "Uplift Travel" organised it and did a fabulous job! The Edgewater hotel in some of the rooms needs a bit of an upgrade, however the rooms were spaceous, with clean towels daily, good tropical breakfasts, and very friendly helpful staff. The location was just super!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be fine, however there are nice beachfront and newer rooms available. I do n...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sallyfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Edgewater is a very relaxed holiday and something for everybody to do. We went with my brother-in-law who is in a wheelchair and we had such a good time, lots of laughs along the way, we did great attraction even managed getting the bus to Te Vara Nui Village. The people everywhere were so helpful.. ITS the place to go. As we had a villa which was just prefect for us 4, our own bathrooms and the biggest bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Kia Orana Dianne,

The Team at the Edgewater are very thankful for your positive feedback, we appreciate it very much. We are delighted to hear that you all had a fantastic time here and that the facilities provided were convenient and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you all to our shores soon.

Kind Regards,
The Edgewater Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited the resort daily as we had friends staying and ate at the restaurant one evening and attended the island night on another occasion. The food was very good and Island night a very enjoyable evenings entertainment. It was good to see the younger members of the community so involved. The resort is certainly very central to eating out and close to town and would be ideal family holiday environment in Rarotonga.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TaggartNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: £83 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing