We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
355 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good for a base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

But then Raro is so small anywhere is a good base. The room with a garden view was far enough away from the night club and restaurant not to be affected. It was very clean and in July it was cool enough not to need the aircon. The restaurant meals are perfectly adequate without being special.

The big glass shelves in the bathroom were quite neat but not well attached, an accident waiting to happen I think.

The bed? Not very comfortable with a mattress that needs an update - classic roll together. Reception staff friendly and helpful, as were most of the staff around the place. The little gift shop has a nice selection.

This is a big hotel by Raro standards, not a place for a quiet romantic getaway but very acceptable. It is nice and close to the airport and has car rental on site with competition just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Kia Orana Steve W
We thank you for posting your comments while staying with us at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are very close to town and the airport with many restaurants that are within walking distance. We do have rooms that cater to all travelers and budgets. Our staff are friendly and enjoy talking with our many guests we welcome to our resort. we do hope you decide to return and look forward to welcoming you back to our shores.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    619
    267
    93
    70
See reviews for
478
573
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week here in on of the family bungalows. Good amount of space for the 6 of us but no resort. We hired scooters to get around the island and would visit other resorts to buy drinks and use their pools that were a bit more luxurious. The Edgewaters pool is small and average but does look out to sea, drinks are expensive at the bar and looks like it needs some renovations.

Breakfast buffet was simple, loved the fresh papaya and had some gluten free cereal options which was nice touch. Dinner at restaurant was expensive however and nothing to rave about. The beach here isn't particularly the best to swim at but if you go to another resort during the day it saves the cost of staying somewhere expensive?

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelliemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Kia Orana Kelliemariee
We would like to thank you for your feedback while staying with us here at the Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our villas are very spacious for families and has the facilities to cater as your home away from home. Our beach is raked on a daily basis and we do have coral areas, and the coral gives great snorkeling for the many colorful fish that are in abundance in our lagoon, our tropical breakfast also offers the gluten free dietry requirements as well as fresh fruit and other breakfast condiments. We do hope you return to our beautiful tropical paradise in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having just returned 2 days ago from 6 nights at Edgewater I couldn’t agree more with Natalie!

Our lagoon view room was bombarded with loud and intrusive restaurant music most nights till 9.30pm. In between that there was the Island Night show, a private function, and some noisy late night drinking sessions around the pool. If we needed to drown out the outside racket we could just turn on the ineffective air conditioning that sounded more like a truck idling away in the corner of the room.

For all the irritating noise it was the mattresses that kept us awake. I suspect the worn foam covering has allowed every spring to make its presence felt, ensuring a night of tossing and turning, trying to get relief from the multiple painful pressure points.

Other than that the room was adequately equipped but well over due some basic maintenance and redecoration. It was kept clean and well serviced during our stay.
The staffs were a mixed bag: Some were genuinely friendly, but many were cool, unwelcoming, and unhelpful.

The tropical breakfast was below average with little or no tropical fruit, and much of it canned. My one evening meal at the restaurant was very poor but the meals we ate at their adjacent Spaghetti House restaurant were of reasonable quality and price.
I’m accustomed to tropical cocktails having a good punch but my one $18 cocktail seemed almost devoid of alcohol.

The Edgewater’s rocky little beach is exposed to the waves from outside the reef for all but a few hours around low tide, limiting snorkelling and swimming opportunities.

I’m not sure how they could claim #3 spot for Rarotonga accommodation! Wouldn't reurn.

Room Tip: 200 series lagoon view rooms noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Sadly only had 5 days in Rarotonga this time. We had an ocean view room on 2nd floor and it was very nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. Had a lovely view of ocean only metres from room and balcony. Staff were very obliging and everything you need is at hand or nearby. Meals were quite good, activities and entertainment also good. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are in the new section which feature in the publicity photos. Not sure about other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at this resort and unfortunately this was not a great experience. Firstly, regarding the room, it is spacious, but the shower is tiny and the beds are horrible. The bed springs dig into you and that meant a very uncomfortable sleep throughout our stay. Also, we got the bad weather over there so it got cold some nights, but there were no blankets in our room. We stayed 5 nights and we had our room properly cleaned once. Regarding changing of towels etc., this was done very late and one time they left our towels outside!!!??? Not to mention they always smelt like chlorine! Regarding service from most of the staff it was average, but some usual customer service skills were lacking. We had to ask a waitress for service at their restaurant and when she finally came to assist us, she went off at another staff member asking if she had to wait our table because she already had enough to look after!! She went on to roll her eyes and had a bad attitude… think she went by the name Tia. That ruined our dining experience. Our friends booked one of the beach front rooms and when we visited it was exactly like our room, but just with a better view so be careful because they advised that the room looked a lot better on the website. Breakfast was your very basic continental breakfast foods so don’t expect any nice surprises, and canned fruit was included – we were expecting more fresh Raro fruits. A couple of other notes - there is only one small pool! Also the coral reef was not the best here so we wanted to take the snorkelling gear elsewhere and they charge for this. Lastly, if you are going to still stay here at least you know what to expect, and if you want to hire scooters you are better off hiring these from across the road because they are cheaper. Oh and do Island Night somewhere else, the male performances were quite messy and unco – I don’t think they took it seriously enough, it almost felt like I was back at school watching an assembly performance. We were quite disappointed so spent more money trying another island night at Te Vara Nui and that was a lot better! You pay more, but the difference in money means a far better show. Wish I had nicer things to stay about this place, but this is my honest experience and opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

So, we didn't stay here thank goodness, we were down the road staying somewhere much more relaxing and quiet.
We came here twice for drinks and our friend's wedding and couldn't wait to leave. I think you have to know what you're getting yourself in for at Edgewater. This is a large resort with kids yelling and screaming and running around the place. Also there is always at least one wedding going on (we saw three in two days) so the wedding parties are drinking up and making lots of noise - and that's on top of everyone else.

On the plus side, I quite liked the food, and the prices weren't bad. And they make great Pina Coladas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarawera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband I arrived in Rarotonga early Sunday morning . We were both excited to be in the Cook Islands but at two in the morning after a long flight all we needed was a good bed lucky for me we had two. As my husband snores it was a god send. Room was spacious and adequately furnished. Bathroom was great, shower good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good if you knew what to ask for.
If you were planning on having a look around forget it, especially if it is raining!! Most activities were cancelled you can't hire a car you can get a scooter if you want to get wet. Next time plan to arrive on a Thursday night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Effie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing