We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to Rarotonga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week at Lagoon Breeze Villa during April. We could find no fault with the 2 bedroom villa we used. The grounds are immaculate and the staff friendly and helpful. The weather for our visit was beautiful. We walked the short distance across the road to the beach every day. We used the provided kayaks, and snorkelling equipment each day. A peaceful, quiet holiday in the South Pacific.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejrf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for making the most of your stay with us. It is always rewarding to see our guests making the most of our facilities and location. April/May is a lovely time of the year to visit, the humidity has usually dropped and the weather is a little more settled. We hope you will return to our quiet little island in the pacific for another relaxed holiday with us.
Regards, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Great place! Very clean and friendly staff! Close to the beach and great beach equipment to use.. We're missing the grey cat and the chickens! Close the eating places and great pick up and transfer service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your informative review. We are happy you enjoyed the property and the location.
We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came with our 3 year old and the combo of the beautiful Lagoon villas, gorgeous beach across the road, wonderful hospitality, fantastic snorkeling and just all around easy access to everything made this one of our best trips ever. It was better than the best we could have imagined - thank you Lagoon Breeze Villas!

Room Tip: All great and private. Rent a car or bike if you want to have a blast cruising the island and scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are also thrilled your stay was better than you could have imagined. We are especially lucky our beach is situated on the beautiful Aroa Marine Reserve which gives our guests the opportunity to enjoy the many varities of tropical fish while snorkeling and kayaking.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Rgards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We'd looked at this property a number of years ago on a trip that never happened. When we researched for this trip, we chose it again as it had a charm that still appealed. The owners have been doing some upgrades.

Arrival was early morning and it was much appreciated that check-in was low-key and the priority was getting us to our rooms. I stayed in a 2 floor, 2 bedroom villa with 2 other people in our group. We decided to pay the bit extra for the convenience of having a lot of space, the larger deck and two showers.

The villa was mostly wood - a nice change from rooms that have slippery tiles. There were plenty of windows so it was easy to get cross breezes through most of the day. Large patio doors opened to the deck and there were interior sliding shutters to give more privacy at night if desired. We had a small kitchen with all the appliances needed - 2 burner stove, fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle. Tea and instant coffee, along with sugar packets were included in the room and tea towels were provided and changed with the bedding. We had a large round table with 4 chairs both out on the deck and in the dining area. The living room had a small sofa, chair, coffee table and side table. The living room also had a telephone and a clock radio. The bathrooms had showers and hair dryers. My only concern with the bathroom was that the shower floor was very slippery. Although I hate them, I found myself wanting a bath mat or those rough stickers on the shower floor. Water was always hot and never had any problems with water pressure, hot water, electricity or A/C. The living room and bedrooms were very large and there was plenty of room to spread out and store stuff. The sofa and chairs could have used refreshing with new cushions and it would have been nice to have another padded chair to sit in. The kitchen was well outfitted with dishes, utensils, bowls, etc. We didn't do a lot of cooking but it was nice to have everything there.

Though I suspect the water would have been fine to drink, we were told by the resort to drink bottled water or to boil our water. We boiled water - it was easier and more convenient than running out for bottles of water. And I used tap water to brush my teeth with no ill effects.

Breakfast was provided and was always plentiful. Cut fruits, coconut, cereal, toast, fresh scones 3X per week, juice, coffee and periodically yogurt and banana smoothies.

The resort has a well stocked "library" of books left behind by tourists, games and tour literature. Beach/pool towels are plentiful (no deposit required). There is also a selection of snorkeling gear, water shoes as well as toys for small children and kayaks to use out in the ocean. The office also provides beach chairs that you can take across to the beach.

The pool was beautiful and though not heated, was plenty warm enough. On one of the warmer days while we were there, the pool temp was 33C! There were always enough loungers or chairs around the pool and lots of shade available.

The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained by a handful of gardening staff. As well, a handful of women the resort calls "the Mamas" do the cleaning of the rooms with many a smile and cheerful word. The real gem of this resort is, in fact, these staff who seem to take delight in making your life just a bit more easy and cheerful while you are visiting. Tops in all these is the office manager, Vikki, who withstood multitudes of questions and requests from us pestering tourists! Vikki cheerfully made reservations, arranged tours, organized car rentals, answered questions about restaurants and snorkeling and church. Several of the staff came in at 9:30 the night we left to say good bye, which was appreciated and which impressed us.

The beach is a very short walk across the road. The first week we were there, the ocean had some pretty strong westward currents, so we went down to the dive centre just down the road and snorkeled there, where there were no currents. We also did a lot of snorkeling down at the beach across from Fruits of Rarotonga. That area was beautiful for snorkeling with lots of large schools of fish and plenty of variety. The last few days, when we had turned our car in, we snorkeled back across from the resort and there was no current. The snorkeling at Aro'a beach (across from resort) when there was no current, was almost as good as at Fruits of Rarotonga. Water shoes are recommended for all ocean entries as there is usually coral or rocks that you don't want to step on. Aro'a Beach, across the road, also had a water tap you could wash sand off your feet before you came back across the road to the resort.

One note - we did see a number of people standing on the coral heads and diving into the water. Please do not do this as you are killing the coral and potentially the fish that use it as a home.

One day we went to the Cook Islands Christian Church service in Arorangi and that was well worth the time spent there. The singing is beautiful. There is a bus from the church that will pick you up on the road for a charge of $5 if you don't have a car. After the service, lunch was provided at the Sunday school next to the church.

We went to a lot of great restaurants and I will do separate reviews on those, but a quick mention here that Kikau Hut ended up being our favourite and the one we went back to the most. It has a great combination of good food, great atmosphere and friendly staff.

For groceries, the CITC in town had the best selection of stuff, but we found the Wigmore's store had some cheaper options, especially if you want to purchase locally grown items. Be aware that groceries can be VERY expensive (eg. eggs are $8.75/doz), so don't be too quick to opt out of the restaurant meals. Our decision was to purchase some stuff at the grocery store for light lunches and snacks and then to go out to a restaurant for dinner.

To summarize, this resort ended up being a perfect choice for us. We wanted quiet, friendly and cozy and that was certainly what we got. We felt like we were visiting relatives instead of going to some sterile 5 star resort. I'd take this resort over one of those any day! While driving around the island we saw some of the other resorts listed on our package and knew we had made the right decision.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms at the back of the resort might be a bit quieter from road noise, however, rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snorkelgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments and review of Lagoon Breeze Villas. We are delighted you found the charm of the property you fell in love with a number of years ago, is still present under our ownership/management. Your informative review will help other travellers when deciding what room category best suits their needs and what facilities the property has to offer. We are extremely proud of our staff and their dedication to us and the business and we will update our staff with your lovely comments. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kind regards, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We are a group of 5 and booked a studio for two and a two bedroom two level villa for the other three for our accommodations. When our vouchers arrived we were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to a one bedroom villa (#13) from the studio! Although the studio would have been sufficient, (we visited one while there), it was nice to have the bedroom so no one was bothered when one of us couldn't sleep and was up during the night.

The villa was spacious, we didn't cook much but the kitchen well equipped and with good quality cooking and eating essentials. The fridge kept things very cold! The mosquito coils were appreciated and used nightly on our patio.

Housekeeping was good and I enjoyed chatting with our lady a few times. Towel supply was more than adequate.

Loved the communal clothesline, great idea and even with a fair amount of rainy days we made use of it.

The ceiling fan in the bedroom kept the bedroom comfortable and when the temperature climbed after a few days we added AC which was only in the bedroom. With no ceiling fan in studio or kitchen area, only an upright fan and without the cross breeze we had the first few days we did find the rest of the villa got very warm during some afternoons. We tried various combinations of louvres open and closed, AC and fans only, none terribly effective. Putting the fan in the bedroom doorway with the AC on wasn't very helpful either, but fortunately by lights out it had usually cooled enough to be comfortable for sleeping in the studio area. We did notice that other one bedrooms had a ceiling fan in studio area which might have helped.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, many varieties of flowers, trees and plants. Even a pomegranate tree by the breakfast area and a basket of avocados appeared at breakfast from a tree on the resort.

The pool was great, not large but was never crowded so we never had a problem using our floaters to relax and enjoy it.
The loungers and umbrellas beside the pool were lovely but we preferred to relax in the lovely garden area beside the pool where there were some loungers and chairs as well. The loungers and cushions are comfy as are the chairs. Liked having a shower poolside to wash off salt and sand when coming from the beach.

My only suggestion, which I forgot to include on the comment form, is that for those of us with slight mobility/balance issues a rail to assist one down the first two steps into the pool would be a nice addition. We managed but would feel safer entering or leaving with something to give some support.

Breakfast was delicious, lots of fruit choices, juice, toast, fresh baked scones on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, cereals and sometimes delicious banana smoothies.

The staff are great, make you feel at home and part of the family. Vikki goes out of her way to be helpful and never became impatient with our many questions and has a great sense of humour. She was prompt at making dinner, car rental and other reservations for us saving us the bother of doing so. Thanks for everything, Vikki!

Enjoyed seeing Debbie and Garth at breakfast and around the resort, nice to see they are hands on owners. And since we were among many Canadians there during our stay, appreciated you flying the Canadian flag!

I don't think we could have made a better choice to suit us for our visit to Rarotonga. LBV is clean, comfortable, beautiful grounds and soon feels like home.

Loved the location, close to Avarua and to Muri, good area to snorkel across the road at Aroa marine reserve or down the road a bit at the dive hut and also close to Fruits of Rarotonga for snorkeling as well, although transportation to there is necessary.

Loved the snorkeling at all three locations, and each one offers something different. We took our own gear but snorkel gear and water shoes provided at Lagoon Breeze Villas were plentiful and in good condition.

We enjoyed the roosters and chickens roaming at will and didn't find them bothersome, but admittedly had no roosters really close to our villa early in the morning! We also enjoyed visits from Coco and 'our' cat, known as Malinky or as we called him, Minnetonka since we initially couldn't remember Malinky.

I'd recommend Lagoon Breeze Villas to anyone wanting a wonderful stay on Raro and have given my report to our travel agent to help others decide on their choice to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadabeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and informative comments.We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgrade from a Garden Studio to a 1 Bedroom Villa. A ittle more space is appreciated when you are staying 12 nights. The two bedroom villas also give you the 2 bathrooms which is great when travelling with friends. We will pass on your lovely comments about the staff. The Canadian flag is still flying until the last of the snowbirds leave us on Saturday. Thank you again for your kind words, Garth and I have always felt the property is well suited to the Canadian market, who enjoy the freedom and home away from home experience we like to offer. Until next time!
Kind regards, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The property is just gorgeous! So very we'll maintained. The gardeners were hard at work everyday. My husband and I don't require much so we had originally booked a studio condo, but to our pleasant surprise, when we arrived, we were escorted to a two bedroom, two bath, two story villa. Feeling as if there must be a mistake, we went to the front desk to inquire, and we're told, "I see the look on your face. Don't worry, we upgraded you!" The staff were awesome! Vickie and Lynn were amazing! They would help you with absolutely everything and anything. Mama Tui is a wonderful lady who takes care of the villas. She always had a smile on her face, a genuinely happy person. We loved the house dog CoCo. She was extremely protective and very sweet. Happy hours were fun. The pool is a great place to relax with such a beautiful garden view. Paradise at its best!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimandGaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your upgrade and the additional space the two storey villas offer. Our gardeners do put a lot of effort into our gardens each day and are very proud of the results, they thank you for noticing. Paradise will be waiting for you to return soon.
Regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

If I had known how relaxing my stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas was going to be and how wonderful the staff and accommodations were, I would have booked an extra week. I definitely plan to go back and stay there again. No where on Rarotonga will do for me. I felt truly spoiled and loved the camaraderie they foster amongst their guests. As a solo traveler, I felt very at home and well taken care of in my private villa. Snorkeling was always available and I enjoyed the evenings with my fellow guests sharing happy hour stories of how we spent our days. Each and every member of the staff works hard to provide you with the perfect tropical vacation experience. The grounds are perfectly maintained each day and the reception staff are always there to assist you in planning both day and evening activities to suit your tastes and your budget. There is something here at Lagoon Breeze Villas for everyone. I toured the island many times and saw many of the "resorts" but I will always return to Lagoon Breeze. Special thanks to Vikki, Lynn and Tui for making my stay and my milestone birthday extra special. Also, special thanks to Coco who never allowed me to walk out alone in the dark. :) My stay was sheer paradise - - everything I would picture heaven to be!

Room Tip: I was in the center of the villas and slept like a baby every night. Never usually sleep like that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are espcially happy to hear as a solo traveller you felt safe and at home. Our wonderful staff work very hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel part of the family as does Coco. thank you for choosing to celebrate your special birthday with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range: £103 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 24 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing