We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My Mum, sister and I just returned from our stay at Manuia. Manuia is such a special place, and a genuine piece of paradise. We feel so privelidged to have stayed there. Apart from the incredible location, beautiful beach, stunning pool, perfect restaurant location, gorgeous refurbished room with breathtaking views, it was the staff at Manuia who were "the icing on the cake".

We went to Rarotonga to spend some quality time together celebrating Mum turning 65 and her retirement at the end of the year. From the moment we stepped off the airport transfer and into Manuia's reception we felt welcome and were made to feel really special.

We were fortunate to be in beachfront rooms which have been refurbished and they were incredible. The views were beautiful and it was absolutely paradise sitting on your deck early in the morning looking out over the beach to the sea. In the evening whether we were sitting on our decks or a lounger on the beach, or at a table by the pool, the view was magical while we were enjoying a delicious cocktail and watching the sunset. We left our windows open at night as there's nothing like listening to the waves crashing on the reef while you fall asleep, it really makes you feel "on holiday" and relaxed.

Alex and Lorraine (the Managers) are wonderful, not only did they go out of their way to make all the guests feel welcome and ensure every part of your stay was perfect but watching them intereact with the rest of the staff was an absolute pleasure. All the staff were wonderful, they all smiled, laughed, chatted and genuinely seemed happy whether they were working & chatting together or interacting with guests, this really made our time at the resort so happy and special and we looked forward to returning to the resort after being out and about around the Island.

I'm sure that by all the staff being so friendly and happy it had a flow on affect to all the guests, as we found most of the other guests really friendly and chatty too.

We were only there for 5 nights but it felt like much longer (in a good way), I'm sure this was because we unwound so quickly and we all felt truly rested & relxed so quickly. I think we would all go back every week if we could! Mum is already planning to return to Manuia ASAP and said unlike anywhere else, she will happily go to Manuia on her own and will feel content, safe and relaxed.

Anyone lucky enough to stay here will treasure their time at Manuia for the rest of their lives - for us, we can't wait to return! My partner and I stayed at Crown Beach last year, if we can escape for another island holiday without the children I will definitely book us into a beachfront room at Manuia!!!

Room Tip: Definitely a beachfront room - they are worth every cent extra, they are even worth going into debt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Beach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    135
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
327
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Manuia Beach hotel is a great place to stay if you want to get away from it all, it's small, quiet and has a great restaurant/bar and swimming pool right on the beach front. The staff are friendly, helpful and Alex and Loren the resort managers are great hosts. The sunsets are gorgeous. Very handy having the rental car place right across the road and its very close to town. We had a great relaxing week with lovely hot weather, will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Beachfront rooms are great, roomy, lovely outdoor showers and of course stunning sea views. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 and it had to most incredible sunset view from it's beachfront location. The Restaurant had an awesome contintental breakfast with pancakes to fight for. Dinner always had a fresh catch of the day. The staff were always walking around with a smile and always able to assist. Loved the outdoor showers with the rooms having plenty of space. It was located near some excellent restaurants and was only a few minutes scooter to each. The scooter hire was right across the road with no hassles in getting started. The place was set out fantastically with a Restaurant, Pool and Beach Front Loungers all spaced right at the waterfront. Did not seem overcrowded as it was well spaced and thought out. This place was a real winner and we will defintely be returning.

Room Tip: It may be extra but I think it is worth booking one of the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesWardlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We recently stayed at Manuia Beach Resort. What an amazing week we had!
We were lucky enough to have a beach front unit. These being some of the lovely newly renovated rooms. It was amazing to open the curtains each morning and lie in bed and take in the breath taking view!!
I enjoyed the lovely roomy outside shower. This being a really awesome novelty. (Only to return home to my small home shower!)
Our room was always clean and tidy. And the grounds/pool always kept maculate.
We found the staff great to deal with. From the owners Sue and Tom (who meets you at the Airport with a beautiful lei), managers Lorrine and Alex and other resort staff. They treated you like family/friends and were helpful and forth coming with local knowledge or anything we needed.
We found it great to have our own restaurant and bar. Sometimes not needing to go far for meals and drinks etc. We found that to be a real plus!! Food and cocktails were always of a high standard.
Location of Manuia: This is a truly a great location, being on the best side of the Island for the beautiful sandy beach. With beach front apartments!! Not too far from town and the airport. A rental car/Bike hire outlet right across the road.
We also travelled around the Island and visited other Resorts, ate and drank. But found that the standard of friendliness, service, meals etc was far better back at our own piece of paradise – Maniua!!
I would not hesitate in recommending or returning to Maniua Resort in the future.
Thank you for a fantastic memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Beach front units!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here in March 2010. The weather was fantastic for the whole 7 days. We stayed in on of the garden rooms which were still very close to the beach, had a nice deck to sit outside and relax. Frangipani trees right outside the door, sand path down to the beach which was raked perfectly every morning. Air conditioning was a blessing after spending the day out in the hot sun. The room had everything we needed, no cooking facilities but the restaurant was perfect to pop down for some chips, garlic bread or a yummy burger. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The beach was good for swimming and they had kayaks available to use. Car hire right across the road which was very handy. Short drive to town and to muri beach for a snorkel. Would definitely stay at Manuia again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at Manuia Beach in October for 10 days and had a wonderful relaxing time. After our last visit 2 years ago we had been put off by the tired decor, untidy grounds and not so great food in the restaurant. This time (back for our fourth visit) we were very impressed with what the new owners are doing. Even though we did not get a refurbished room, the room we had had a a spruce up since last time and the outdoor shower was great. We were one unit back from the beach so had a view and it was very quiet. Alex and Loren (the managers) are doing a wonderful job and were ever so helpful. The cleaning staff (especially Nan) were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant and bar staff (what a great character Ura is) were also wonderful. We will definitely be back for a visit in the future.

Room Tip: Beachfront looks good, but we had Room 8 which was one back and still had a view - Room 11 would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclairtaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Loved loved loved Manuia. The resort has recently come under new ownership and also has new managers a lovely couple called Alex and Loren, between them and all the wonderful staff they are making this place just wonderful.

The location is perfect, right on the beach, and the infinity pool really makes the most of it. There is good snorkeling right off the beach there and lots of restaurants to try out nearby.

We started off in one of the rooms that hasn't yet been refurbished but it was still great, really clean and comfortable. Part way through our stay we were upgraded to a beach front room - the refurbs are great, and the outdoor showers are a very cool idea. There was a bit of work going on to continue the refurbishments but we didn't notice it at all, the noise was minimal and it certainly didn't feel like a building site.

Food was really good - the complimentary breakfast is pretty simple but nice; cereal, fresh fruit, toast and yummy pancakes with maple syrup. We ate in the restaurant a few times, the fresh catch of the day was always a winner. The food wasn't the best we had on the island but it was definitely a lot better than I'd been expecting having read some of the other reviews.

One watch out - the drinks are really pricey; $8 for a beer $12 for a cocktail, we ended up buying beers at the supermarket and keeping them in the fridge in our room.

All in all this place is a real gem, the perfect place to relax and soak up the Rarotongan sun, we'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: All of the room refurbishments will be finished within the next few months but probably worth reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Property: Manuia Beach Resort
Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing