We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome resort to relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome resort to relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the airport by a Manuia Resort staff member and presented with a fresh lei and then greeted by the managers Alex and Loren at the resort we felt sure we were in for a great holiday. The information we received on arrival from Alex and Loren about the island was very helpful.
The rooms are of a high standard and the outdoor shower is awesome. All staff from from the housemaids to the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble. The resort is situated a few metres from the water with a lovely pool complex.
A huge plus at Manuia is that children are not permitted,this makes a holiday even more relaxing.Also with only 24 free standing units the resort never feels crowded,and every unit is close to all amenities.Overall a great resort.Thanks for a great holiday.
Cheers Ross & Diane Bates

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    125
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
300
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

From 26th July 2013 my husband and I had a 6 day stay at Manuia Resort which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were greeted by our manager Alex who welcomed us and gave us helpful information about Rarotonga. This was a nice personal touch in this day and age! The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our garden villa was newly decorated, modern and kept very clean by the wonderful domestic staff. We wanted for nothing in our room, from the fridge to keep our drinks cold, to the safe to lock up valuables, cotton dressing gowns were supplied and a special touch, we appreciated the air con and ceiling fan but our favourite was the very private outdoor shower. It was awesome to shower under the night stars and / or the blue skies :) A short stroll from our villa is the beautiful blue lagoon waters. There were lots of lounging furniture to sit on to enjoy the view and watch the beautiful sunsets at Manuia Resort. The restaurant with its silky white sand floor and a gorgeous swimming pool were beside this Lagoon. We enjoyed cocktail hour as an opportunity to meet other holiday makers before having a delicious meal. The hospitality staff were very attentive and helpful but we loved Kura, she always had a smile and friendly word for everyone. I observed Kura working extremely hard setting up for a wedding that was held at the resort, she personally saw to every small detail. I would trust her to co ordinate a wedding for my family. On Monday afternoon our manager Alex held a meet and greet with the guests by the swimming pool, I thought it was another nice gesture.
Manuia is well positioned close to town perhaps only 10 minutes by scooter and close to many of the beautiful beaches in Rarotonga. You can hire a car or scooter just across the road from this resort but if you prefer the local bus the bus stop is at the gate. Getting around to other resorts and restaurants is happily taken care of for you by the wonderful reception staff. We enjoyed our holiday here so much that we are planning to return again to enjoy this adults only boutique resort, Manuia.
Miss you already :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colnden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days and sadly it rained and blew a gale for 4 days so we were s little house bound. The infrastructure of the resort was well tested and if it wasn't for the prompt action of the manager there would have been a drain emergency!
The manager Alex and his staff were exceptional however the restaurant let's the whole operation down. There is so very limited menu in the evenings and the style of cuisine is very island without any other option. This makes eating there regularly a little dull.
The breakfasts are also repetitive with tinned fruit on offer which is so shame!
We were looked after very well and would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Came for a short break with a friend. Booked into a frontside beach apartment which was just lovely- amazing views and sounds of the ocean- you can"t help but relax . Sunset views stunning. Clean room quirky outside shower great breakfast including pancakes tea and coffee facilities in room fridge cold water. Went diving - there's a recommended dive centre run by a Brit just turn left outside hotel called The Dive Centre - near Crown Resort - they have a great set up/boat etc. looked best on island. Hire car just opposite hotel driveway. Having cycled then driven around the island a fair few times and visited other resorts I believe this resort is the best on offer for those without children and fully recommend.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms out of this world but likely to pay a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDPPooleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

WOW what a welcome from Loren on arrival - it was great to feel such as sense of belonging from the very first moment. Kura was just the best and my only recommendation would be that the bar staff and waitress's gained some of her enthusiasm and friendliness. A "kia orana won't be a minute" as you approach the bar would be so much better than no attention at all until the previous drink order was completed. The rooms were spotless and I LOVED the outdoor shower!!! A perfect spot for sunsets, whale watching and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLW12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

From the moment we arrived to day we left we were made to feel Welcome from the Managers (Alex & Lauren) to the ‘Night Man’ (name unknown) and all the staff at the Manuia.. Even the resident Cat (Manuia) made us feel like we were at home!- sorry 'Night Man', I know the cats name but not yours!
We arrived as a group with other people staying all over the island so they gave us a cell phone that we could use to stay in touch with them, although for the most part our group kept coming back to the Manuia, they said it was to see us but really I think it was just a great place to sunbath and grab a cocktail from the bar!

The Hotel is Located in a superb location on a large beach and has some pretty amazing sunsets, also they provide plenty of sun loungers and hammocks to enjoy. The Snorkelling (Snorkel gear also provided) on that part of the Island is pretty good in comparison to the rest of Rarotonga and well sheltered from currents by the reef.

The rooms were great; clean, modern and included everything you could need for a Beach Holiday and the 'porch' (which all the rooms have) was a great place for a beer/cocktail at night to enjoy the sunsets.
We stayed in a beach from for the most part although on our wedding day I stayed in a Garden room where the quality was consistent with the beachfront.

The food and drink provided at the resort is of good quality and reasonably priced although (now this is the only bad thing I have to say) the service at the bar during the day is more than on Island time, so order well in advance of the hunger pangs! At night however the food is a LOT quicker coming and the sand floor of the restaurant is another great little quirk of the place.

As I Mentioned earlier, we got married on the beautiful beach that the Manuia offers and I'm soooo glad that we had it there after our post honeymoon visit to the Edgewater! Lauren (the Manager) catered to our every whim, even offering to take the fish that I caught the day before and serve it to our guests at the wedding! With only a small amount of rooms available at the Manuia and the no under 16 rule our wedding remained private and other guests were very respectful by keeping their distance and offering their congratulations afterwards.

Even if your not staying at the Manuia, I suggest trying to get there to whiteness the sunset with a cocktail and grab a bite to eat, I guarantee if you go back to Raro after that you will stay there next time.

Thanks all at the Manuia, we had a Great wedding!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Muir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

There is honestly nothing that I can say bad about the Manuia Beach Resort! We had a 6 night stay here in early July, and actually got married at the Manuia on the 4th of July.

We got upgraded to a beach front room (#2), but all of the rooms have a porch area for you to sit on and enjoy the peacefulness the hotel offers. Its an 'adult' only hotel, and it wasn't until we stayed at the Edgewater for one night after our honeymoon in Aitutaki that we realised just how peaceful the Manuia was.

The rooms are very spacious and have an outdoor shower - we absolutely loved this! The rooms are modern and very clean.

The resort managers Loren and Alex are out of this world - they would do anything for you. Since we were getting married in Rarotonga, Loren arranged all of the legal things, the suppliers, the celebrant etc, and drove us around the island in her own car to finalise all the details and make sure we were completely happy. On the day, they were a great help - coordinating hair and make up, flowers etc, and it was such a stress free day for myself and husband (he even went snorkelling the morning of the wedding!).

The staff are equally brilliant and very personable. They knew us by name and were very friendly - with the ladies at the bar even offering Cook Island Maori phrases for the hubby to add to his speech!! And the staff lent us their clothes steamer at no charge.

The food at the Restaurant is good and well priced, as are the cocktails. The breakfasts are fine - we've stayed at a few hotels in Rarotonga now, and they all offer the same breakfast, cereals, toasts and spread and local fruits. Manuia has an 'up' on other hotels though - fresh hot pancakes!!

The swimming pool is awesome to look at (didn't get a chance to take a dip, which I'm really gutted about!). The sun loungers are comfy and there are plenty of them.

We loved the resident cat Manuia - such a friendly little fella! We also saw whales just a few hundred meters off shore whilst sitting on our porch. The Manuia is on the sunset side of the island so you get some breathtaking sunsets.

In summary... we are counting down the days until we can go back. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rarotonga now, and I'd honestly give Manuia Beach Resort a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We requested room 2, as we had heard that beachfront rooms 4, 5 and 6 were 'noisy'. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Property: Manuia Beach Resort
Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing