We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Trip Advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Thanks Trip Advisor”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Thanks to all the great reviews on Trip Advisor my husband and I selected this resort for a 2 day lay over - it exceeded expectations and we will definitely return. Everything about this place was perfect - from the welcoming management and staff, to the lovely villa rooms, to showering outdoors under a the full moon, to the great bar and restaurant on the beach,with yummy food and drinks not to mention the location - sunset central! No need to go anywhere else, just slip off your shoes, and never put them on again - wiggle your toes in the sand and sip a most delicious Pina Colada - life really doesn't get much better than this

Room Tip: either lagoon front rooms or ones straight back, which have a garden and lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiKateWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    129
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
305
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 8 nights here on our honeymoon. It really was excellent.

Lovely spot, beautiful sunsets, great staff, nice rooms and great snorkeling. We actually found the snorkeling at the resort to be better than the so called "best spots" on the island.

No children at the resort so perfect for couples. I would highly recommend paying the extra for a beachfront room if you can.

There are only 24 rooms so the resort isn't crowded.

We really enjoyed our stay at Manuia and would happily stay there again. We visited several other resorts in Raro during our stay but didn't see anything that appealed as much as Manuia.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwiatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were up graded to a beach front unit when we arrived and it was a lovely surprise. The unit was beautifully presented with real attention to detail: flowers on the benches, Balinese light shades, tivaevae cushions and pillow cases and other tasteful touches. The outside shower was wonderful.
The grounds were beautifully landscaped and planted in a riot of colour and foliage. Some serious thought has gone into the design. The gardens were well maintained. There were gas flames as night and Christmas lights around the trees and blue pool lights which made it really magical at night.
The beach is a 10 second walk away and the fish are like the movie "Nemo". If you like to have a proper swim, the infinity pool is divine; deep and refreshing.
The restaurant food was good and they can cook up something to your request within reason. All the staff were friendly, helpful and had a sense of humour. Very much the personal touch.
The fact that there were no children staying meant peace and quiet and that being a smallish resort means there is not the commercialism of the Rarotongan or The Edgewater.
The atmosphere and ambience of the setting and the view/location really made Manuia a special experience. Personally, I think it is better than Muri in that respect.
The Island Car/Bike Hire is diagonally across from the entrance to Manuia and the lady will tell you not to park under or near a coconut tree, which is hard to do in Rarotonga.
We found Vaima restaurant to have very, very good quality food but Trader Jacks was a huge disappointment food-wise.
We did not miss the internet, TV or a metropolitan newspaper at all and it was actually really good to have a break from all of it.
Take some reef/rock shoes with you as there are sharp rocks and sea cucumbers.
We didn't want to leave!
The Wilds

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanw0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Manuia Beach was the perfect spot for a beach getaway on Rarotonga. A little hidden gem, the staff were lovely, welcoming, and accommodating of all of our requests; and the rooms and facilities are phenomonal.
Highly recommend spending a little extra to stay here, loved every minute of our week at Manuia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Manuia beach hotel is a small resort, recently renovated. It has a lovely private beach with comfortable loungers and large hammocks. There are full grown palms for shadow, and a great infinity pool. We had booked a premium garden room but were upgraded to one of the beach rooms. How lucky can you get! From our terrace we had an in uninterrupted view over the beach and the lagoon. The noise of the sea and the light breeze were like a lullaby to relax, to dream and to fall asleep at night. The pathways are all covered with white sand which gives the resort such a beach/holiday feeling from the moment you enter. A big mango tree was covered in fruit. Fresh flowers were put in the big bowls in front of each bungalow so you can easily get rid of the sand before you enter your room.
The rooms were clean, crisp, spacious, newly tiled and painted. Gorgeous!
There is no TV in the room but wifi is available. You pay NZ$9 for the use of 30 MB.

The outdoor shower is such a delight. Very private, spacious, easy to use with 2 people.

Every day there is a special activity organised, e.g. a talk about black pearls, ukulele lessons, a scuba dive lesson. If you don't want to join, you are not disturbed by it either. Wednesday night is the cultural show. Very hands on and great fun under the guidance of a very active lady named Kura. She taught us how to make a head band with flowers, how to open coconuts and how to grate it. She made a lovely raw fish entrée for us, using the coconuts we had grated. There were dances ( and we did not need to join the dancers, thank you!). Afterwards there was a grand buffet.
Very regular there is live music at the restaurant area.
The resort is small and no children allowed which made the atmosphere very relaxing. I went over one day to the Rarotongan hotel to go snorkelling, and it was so busy and noisy there. Was I glad to go back to Manuia!
I went snorkelling every day and loved it. Make sure you go snorkelling at high tide otherwise the coral is hardly covered and it is difficult to get into or out of the water. Enough different species of fish are to be admired.
The food in the restaurant was really good too.
The breakfast menu which is included in the price was OK.
The staff is very easy going, friendly and personal and does everything to make your stay is the best possible.

If i could go back next week, i would not hesitate to do so.
Would I recommend this to my friends? Definitely!

Marika

Room Tip: if you have the money, go for the beach rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marikavdlaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After meeting Sue at the Auckland Travel Show we decided to stay at the Manuia Beach Resort for our 25th Wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed, this place is beautiful. It was quiet, relaxing and had just the right amount of 'x-factor' for us. The staff were friendly, the room spacious and well appointed. We loved swimming in the pool, relaxing on the loungers but we especially loved swimming and snorkeling in the lagoon and seeing all the beautiful fish etc. Who needs a glass bottom boat? We would definitely recommend this place and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We had room 13, really good, no one walks by, quiet and private, late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

On this, our third visit to the fabulous Cook Islands, we stayed at Manuia Beach Resort in Rarotonga and Samade on the Beach in Aitutaki, as well as returning to Raro for a few days at Chez Bosanquet-Heays (cuzzies, so no chance you can get in there unless you're related or extremely entertaining - I'm both!).
As I have already stated, the Cook Islands are fabulous and Manuia Beach lived up to all our expectations. I must confess that I was a little biased. I and my late family were originally from the East End of London and I have great respect for my mother's cousin who, in the early 1970's, left those grim terraced streets, travelled to the other side of the world to Paradise and built Manuia resort, one of the very first on Rarotonga. So, to stay there was a bit of a pilgrimage for me. I was not disappointed and I don't think Great Uncle, second cousin, Joe would have been either. Since he built it, it has been through a number of metamorphoses, culminating in what is now a superb resort by any international standard.

On arrival, the co-manager, Loren, greeted us ("us" being myself and the wife/guide/kiwi translator) and kindly showed us around. There's a lot of sand in this resort. White, soft, warm sand, the kind of sand that says hello to your toes and makes you feel like the world is one big pile carpet. So much sand, in fact, that you don't need shoes once beyond the car park. We stayed in Unit 13, mid-way between the car park and beach, in fact about 20 seconds from the beach. What am I saying? Once you are among the units, it is ALL beach, wherever you are. The units are beautifully appointed. Modern, tastefully furnished, spacious and with the most fantabulous outdoor showers. Don't panic! You don't need to keep your knickers on in the shower. They are completely private -(see photo). After a swim or first thing in the morning, an outdoor shower really is the second most enjoyable thing you can experience on holiday. The staff are friendly and helpful, the restaurant provides fantastic meals (the Cajun mahi mahi was a dish to die for) and the "infinity" pool is a great beachside facility, along with the comfortable and plentiful loungers, double hammocks and 4 poster cuddle lounger (even after 38 years of marriage, I appreciated this- although just to share our e-readers of course!!) Any complaints or suggestions? The resort is on the west side of the island which means it is more sheltered from the wind that blows through Raro, but the lagoon is not as good for snorkelling as Muri for instance or Titikavaka on the south-east side. Don't dismiss it for that, the snorkelling in the beautiful lagoon is still very good but, if you are not going to don fins or are just going into the water for a swim, do take or buy a pair of reef shoes as the coral at the water's edge is sharp. Each day, the staff rake the sand around the resort and on the beach. I think they would do well to also rake the loose coral away from the water's edge at the point where there is an obvious path through the coral outcrops, thus making snorkelling in the lagoon a real highlight. In all, this was a wonderful place to be, whatever your age (although it is adults only - sorry kids). And the joy of being here even outweighed the daily depression of watching the America's Cup being whittled away from us - and that takes some doing!

Room Tip: I'm told you should avoid rooms near to the car park if you are a light sleeper. On Raro, guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillyH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Property: Manuia Beach Resort
Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing