We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manuia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
304
148
37
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
148
37
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pooloutdoor showersand floorbeach frontmystery tourguest loungecook islandsacross the roadresident catoffice staffbeachfront roomslice of heavenevery morninglaid backfor making our holidayfabulous placeour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I very much enjoyed my time at Manuia Beach. The cocktails are lovely, the pool and beach area are immaculate and the restaurant food delicious (I particularly liked the fish burger). There is nothing better than sitting in the resort watching the sunset and the Island Night was a very special experience that I would thoroughly recommend. For me however the resort is made by their manager Alex, a thoroughly personable and engaging host, who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and at home and truly completes the friendly and intimate feel this resort does so well.
P.s. The resort also has a lovely resident dog called Lostris, definitely my favourite member of staff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The location and setup couldn't be better. We had a garden room, which I was quite happy with given that the ocean view rooms are in the center of the action. It was very nice to be on the west side of the island, as sunsets were beautiful and we got evening light longer than many of the other resorts; also, the location was more convenient to the main town than Muri Beach. The pool was amazing; I'm not much of a swimmer, but it turned into an evening ritual. One of the main reasons we picked the place was its restaurant (few places in Rarotonga have one attached). Still, we were surprised to find how good the food there was--prices were comparable to other places on the island, but the quality was in the upper tier. The beach is pretty, and surprisingly the snorkeling right in front of the resort was better than the two other snorkeling destinations that we took day-trips to go see. (Also, they gave us free snorkel gear, which they kindly let us keep the whole week.) The outdoor (but entirely private) showers were cool. There was a very laid-back, uncrowded feeling to the whole place; they could have tried to pack in two or three times as many rooms with the same beach, pool and restaurant, but I'm really glad they didn't. Finally, the management was friendly and very responsive; though we encountered a few glitches during our stay, they handled everything so well that we left with a smile on our face.

Negatives (all pretty minor):
- pillows were uncomfortable
- instant rather than real coffee in the rooms
- airport transfers really overpriced at $20/pp each way, given that it's about a 5 minute drive.
- internet was really expensive ($6/20MB). To some extent that's life in the middle of the Pacific, but other places on the island used the same provider and were half the cost.

Tip for travelers: don't leave shoes on the porch, here or at any other beach resort on the island! One of my shoes went missing, probably taken by a dog. I don't think Manuia is any higher a risk in this sense than anywhere else, and indeed the staff were quite helpful in searching around with me, but it sucked to leave the island without a good pair of shoes!

Room Tip: I think the first row of garden rooms seems the best: close to the beach, but private. The rooms backing on the parking lot seem worst. We were in between, and liked our spot too.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We recently stayed 6 nights at Manuia Beach Resort and it was perfect in every-way. Clean, tidy, comfortable,well located, and the service was impeccable and very personal. On our last night, my wife had a fall and needed to recuperate before our flight the next evening. Alex and the team were genuinely concerned for us and let us keep our room for the whole day at no charge. The sand paths, sand floor in the restaurant, casual dining around the pool and the private outdoor showers were highlights. While we were in Rarotonga, we also visited quite a few other resorts and we think that Manuia is the best of the best, especially for couples. Thank you Alex and your wonderful team for making our 20th anniversary holiday so special

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had been to this property about 7 years ago, and must say its even better now. Rooms have been extensively renovated in the past two years, and are very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and very helpful. Kura from the restaurant was absolutely fantastic, and a real asset to Manuia Beach Resort, also the Island evening was very well done, its a hands on experience so different from what the other resorts on the island do. Highly recommend it. Close to other restaurants too, if you decide you don't want to dine at the resort every night. ie Windjammer is only 400m down the road. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Seven days of pure magic. The resort has the best staff, headed by Alex the Manager who makes himself known to holidaymakers and is very welcoming, as well as the polite and friendly bar and restaurant staff , reception and cleaners. I leave the best until last - Kura, the Food and Beverage Manager. What an outgoing, warm, friendly, awesome person she is. She made us feel at home at Manuia and catered to our needs. She is a real asset to this resort. The resort itself is lovely. Boutique type, quiet and authentic with sand paths and sand floor in restaurant. The infinity pool looks over the beach which creates a very relaxing atmosphere, along with casual dining and seating on lovely wooden decks. The accommodation was fresh and clean, with air conditioning, fan, great beds and an interesting outdoor shower, which we enjoyed, and of course these were very private. Servicing of rooms was daily if you wished. Cocktails were to die for, and we did consume a variety. The restaurant menu changed every night, which gave us a great variety to choose from. Because of this we mainly ate at the Manuia because we knew the quality would be excellent. Our free tropical breakfast was also nice - particularly the large pancakes made by Mama and the beautiful fresh fruits available. The Manager's happy hour was a great way to meet others staying at the resort in a social setting and friendships were made. The evening sunsets were a delight also. We had the best week ever, very relaxed, great weather and a fantastic place to stay. We didn't want to leave our island holiday, but plan on coming back and staying at the Manuia Beach Resort in the future. We highly recommend this resort.
Kate and Peter Burt, Claire Burt and Tyrone Smith

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kp.burt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews