We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Nearby Hotels
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$328
US$296
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$234
US$229
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$138
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
151
121
20
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
121
20
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadcafe next doorbbq areapetrol stationlovely beachseparate bedroomenjoyed our stayconvenience storefiltered waterbus stop rightcooking facilitiesdive centrecook islandsscooter hirenice poolfresh towelsfish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Room was fairly dated, but very functional and clean. Gardens, BBQ and pool excellent. The staff are simply fantastic. Rangi and Lotu were extremely helpful and went out their way to help. The cleaners and garden staff were also extremely friendly and helpful. The room may only be 3 - 3.5 star but all staff at Puaikura Reef Lodges were consistently better than we have experienced at any 5 star hotel!

Beach across the road was great for snorkelling and the bus was very convenient.

No hesitation in recommending Puaikura Reef Lodges.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After reading the good reviews we were extremely disappointed with Puaikura Reef Lodges. The office staff were very friendly but that was about as good as it got. Upon arrival we discovered most of the window latches were broken so couldn't close windows properly, resulting in a stray cat jumping through the bathroom window. Between the non-closing windows and the door which had a fairly big gap even after being locked we were a bit concerned about security. The room was pretty basic which was fine, but the cleanliness definitely wasn't up to scratch. Room servicing was a couple of new towels, which were all stained, and that was it. The toilet stank of urine, which we think was from previous people peeing on the concrete floor, and I don't think the bottom of the toilet had been scrubbed in months. Worst of all was discovering we had bed bugs. My legs were a mess after a few days so we went and complained that we thought we had bed bugs. The girl from the office agreed the bites looked like bed bugs so came and had a look at our bed. She couldn't find any but said she'd have the cleaners do a full clean. All they did was change the sheets, they put the same pillows and bedspread back on, which wasn't going to fix the situation. In the case of bed bugs the whole room needs to be fumigated, as they get into carpet, headboards, luggage, everything. My partner and I tipped the bed up, and apart from it being covered in cobwebs and dead bugs, there was white powder on the carpet under it. Flea powder we are guessing? After going out for the day we were told they were going to upgrade us for our last night at their sister resort, pretty nice we thought. We were in our room waiting to speak to office manager when one of the cleaners barged in demanding to know if we were going to go. I said we didn't know the details and would decided after we had talked to the manager. She got quite snarky and said 'well it's simple, yes or no, we want to go home but have to wait for you' I replied once again that we would decide after hearing the details. She said 'just say no'. She wouldn't leave our room so I said we would see if the manager was back and she said 'don't say I said anything'. Against my better judgement I didn't mention the rude cleaner to the manager. She took us down the road to have a look at the 'upgraded' room but it was no better than where we were so we turned it down. If they spent a bit of money on room maintenance and took a bit more pride in their cleaning, it would be a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tracey184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunloverRarotonga, General Manager at The Black Pearl at Puaikura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Kia Orana

Our main focus is for our guests to have a wonderful stay and to exceed customers expectations is all areas. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location and that Lotu our lovely manager looked after you well.

I am extremely concerned with your untrue allegation of bedbugs. This was investigated immediately by our manager. Not only did we do this but we called our pest control expert to verify and were catagorically told that there was no sign of bedbugs at all. I would also like to point out that the white powder we use in the room is carpet freshner and this should have been vacummed away by the celaner. This was certainly not flea powder.

All other issues will be raised immediately with our cleaners and staff and it would have been appreciated it if you could have written to us in person so that we can rectify immediately the issues in a more positve manner.

I would respectfully urge you to remove this review as we consider it is a serious and unfair allegation which was actually untrue.

Thanks for your consideration in this matter.

Kind Regards
Sue Fletcher-Vea
General Manager/partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Being across the street from the lagoon is really no problem at Puaikura Reef. It is conveniently located, has great views across the street to the sunset over the lagoon, and the rooms are large and clean. We stayed in a basic studio and it was perfect for the two of us. After coming from Atiu, it felt downright palatial! The staff were very friendly and helpful.

On the downside, there was a cat that came and howled on our porch at 3 am and wouldn't be chased off even with water tossed on him. There are also no screens on the windows so you do get more insects inside. It was lofty and airy, but the lack of curtains on the windows near the ceiling peek made it bright as soon as the sun came up.

Overall we were very happy and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room looked right out onto the pool, but that was no problem for either privacy or noise. There are ample curtains on the large patio windows and door and the other guests weren't noisy at the pool during the day (no one swam at night).
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenGwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Visiting Rarotonga and Cook Island for the fourth time, means you will most probably stay in different places. And coming all the way from Norway with kids – now grown-ups – also means different needs over the years – by itself a good reason to try different places.
Puaikura Reef Lodges gives you all you need and much more to it. A friendly staff takes good care of you from the first minute you get there. They answer the questions you may have – or try to find answers if they don’t have them already. They will help you if you need help, and we really felt at home. The great staff took very good care of us right from the start.
The place itself gives you the feeling of space, peace and quiet. And also a good place to meet with other people and make new friends. And when you get up in the morning, you can just cross the road to get to the wonderful beach, take a walk, bring your snorkel-gear and off you go!
If you want to go to town, the bus-stop is right outside your door, and the island is actually so little that nothing seems to be far away.
We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Beachfront Cottage connected/associated with the Puaikura Reef Lodges – a wonderful place when you need space for four persons. Clean, nice beds and right on the beach. Extra bonus for the people working in the friendly shop just across the road where you can get what you need to get started. And petrol or diesel if you have a car or scooter 
Extra bonus: The unforgettable sunsets on this side of the island!
Conclusion: We would very much like to come back – and I am sure we will…

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Mikkelikski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Was really disappointed this was our thiird trip to Raro.
Definetly didnt get that usual Rarotongian greating we are use to.
Was dropped off at unit which was tucked under the stairs to an upper unit,
We were told ofice was closed until tomorrow and shown a number for emergency.
The first three nights no sleep as a rooster right outside theunit in the mangoe tree chhated to his mates all night.
We did get moved on fourth day which was a nice suprise.
I didnt find the staff very friendly apart from the groundsman Mani or Manu he was really friendly and keeps the grounds perfect.
The final straw was we nearly missed our flight as they didnt send our pick up we had to call the emergency number at 1am to ask and was told there was no pick up arranged.
Hey finally arrived at 1 25am we did make it to our flight but not the greatest end to a pretty average stay.

Room Tip: Not room 12
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews