We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My comment after our first breakfast was "that has to be the most beautiful place I have every eaten breakfast in my life". The Oceans restaurant was focal to our whole experience at this resort and we spend many happy hours enjoying the cocktails and the sunsets. Can't fault anything about the resort, service, rooms, location, were all excellent. We received an upgraded room which was unexpected but much appreciated. The biggest mistake we made was only booking for five nights it most definitely wasn't long enough and I was very sad the day we had to leave. We loved Rarotonga in general but staying at the Crown just made the whole experience so much more special. We would most definitely love to come back, already saving. Only comment to make to the Crown was that there was a shortage of snorkelling gear so we purchased our own which turned out to be well worth the money the snorkeling was one of the hightlights of our trip. It would be good to have some allocated to your room in the same system as the beach towels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

Your first breakfast comment to each other really touched our hearts. Thank you for making our day!

We are pleased to read that you loved 'living' at Oceans, complete with the many potent cocktails, our many theme nights, the daily live music, and most of all, our team of staff who love looking after our discerning guests with service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island style.

We are pleased to advise that our new snorkelling equipment arrives on the next ship due in next week. The professional dive-quality snorkelling sets were ordered from Australia - hence the slight delay in availability. We plan to install the snorkelling gear in each Villa & Suite so as to personalise this amenity.

All in all, thank you for choosing to stay with us, we too wished that you could have stayed a few days more. We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Pure magic is how to explain this resort. Excellent customer service in all departments, with the friendly staff always going the extra mile. Breathtaking gardens all over the resort, great beach front wtih awesome sunsets. Fabulous cuisine at both the Windjammer and Oceans restaurants and service with a smile to boot. Tang Tapa's opened just before we left and looks amazing. Our garden villa was lovely with a big comfortable big bed and the nightly turn was a great touch. Thank you all for an awesome holiday. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akboo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your One Bedroom Villa set in lush tropical gardens; and that you appreciated the nightly turn down service with flowers and romance candles.

We are pleased to read that you loved your dining experiences at both Oceans and Windjammer Restaurants; what a pity you did not try out Tang Tapas & Cocktail Lounge before you returned to New Zealand.

Thank you for your comments about our staff, who really do ooze the art of hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager, Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Wow what an amazing group of people.... David, Tangi, Ine, the girls at the Spa and not to mention the food at the Windjammer Restaurant - the best we have ever had and all our guests can vouch for that !!!!!!

We got married in April and though it poured down with rain, they still made it a magical and memorable day. Don’t be fooled by the roadside view of the resort; as once you have entered it's a hidden treasure and the people, well ... simply amazing!

We considered various wedding venues and organising a wedding from overseas is not an easy task, but they took care of it all and went out of their way for us.

If you want friendly, prompt and helpful service with a smile as well as a hand at perfection, then we highly recommend Crown Beach Resort for your special day. I have read comments from other people about slow service and all I can say is remember it’s “island time” in the cooks and that’s what makes it so beautiful.

Sorry for the late feedback guys and thank you once again for all that you have done for us, we miss you all :o)

Gerhard and Hanelie

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Kia Orana Hanelie & Gerhard,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

You are quite right about the ordinary facade at the roadside, and that a beautiful oasis awaits you once you drive through the gates into the resort. You are immediately greeted by beautiful gardens and a white cobble stone driveway, gold fish & lotus ponds and more.

Thank you for your kind words about our team, who really love looking after our discerning guests with service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island style.

All in all, we are pleased to read that everything was beautiful for your wedding and that you loved your overall stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A great resort - very friendly staff who will go that extra mile to ensure everyone is well catered for. The two restaurants, Windjammer and Oceans, cater for all, from a lovely breakfast at Oceans to an upmarket evening meal at Windjammers.
The resort's gardens and surroundings are a credit to all involved and the villas are private, spacious and clean. We had a beachfront villa and spa and could just relax on our deck watching what was happening in the lagoon or even catching a glimpse of the whales further out over the reef. The sunsets from our villa were amazing.
So to sum up, a very enjoyable stay in lovely surroundings.
Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are booking a beachfront villa then Numbers 1 - 4 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raewyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your stay in our premium Beachfront Spa Villa with perfect uninterrupted views of the blue lagoon, and the occasional whale that passes by in the afternoons.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at Oceans and Windjammer Restaurants, and are happy to announce the smooth opening & operations of our 3rd restaurant: TANG - Tapas & Cocktails.

Our mighty gardening team of 6, take absolute pride in evolving our stunning botanical gardens that are created on a difficult dry sand dune base. Did you know that we have the largest collection of hibiscus in the Cook Islands, arguably the whole South Pacific! Mmm.

All in all, our team of Cook Islands ooze the art of hospitality with service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Crown Beach staff were wonderful. They went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating of any request. They moved quickly and efficiently through everything they did and always went the extra mile for guests. One of them even conspired with my daughter to get me on stage during the cultural event, which was a fun (if slightly embarrassing) experience for an uptight white boy...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us; and that above all, you appreciated the efficient service from our 75 staff across the entire resort.

We would like to announce the opening of our 3rd restaurant on the 1st August 2011: TANG - Tapas & Cocktails - located at our Events Centre adjacent to the gym and front office, which will add a totally new dimension to the dining options at our small resort.

Lastly, our hardware upgrades are ongoing to ensure our product follows the latest hospitality trends; and our software service training programs ensure our teams deliver top service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis - General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Well done Crown Beach Resort and Spa. Just returned from 10 days stay at Crown Beach. Your biggest asset has to be your fantastic staff, always friendly and smiley and dong their job. The food was great, lovely gardens thanks to the hard working gardener, great location for swimming and snorkeling. The rooms are beautifully presented and clean. Thank you for a lovely holiday we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brendaselwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your meals at Oceans & Windjammer Restaurants. Our international chefs are working tirelessly to improve quality, taste & presentation. We will open our 3rd restaurant "TANG - Tapas & Cocktails" on Monday 1st August 2011. We cant wait.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed snorkelling in our marine reserve lagoon - the marine diversity is growing.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated our 5 acres of beachfront botanical gardens. You should know that we have 6 gardeners who weave their magic on a daily basis.

We are equally pleased to read that you found our villas and suites to be beautiful and well presented. We have commenced an interior upgrade program commencing with our One & Two Bedroom Villas which will see new kitchens, bathrooms, artworks, colour tones & linens etc. Recently upgraded villas have generated positive feedback from our discerning guests.

Last but not least, we agree that the key ingredient of our small resort is the team, who continue to deliver service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager, Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands - South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This place was everything that the brochures and websites said it was. We had a villa with a private courtyard and pool - fantastic! Rooms were lovely and clean and a good size.
Everyone was wonderful, friendly and helpful. We had an amazing, relaxing holiday - weren't ready to leave! We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with outdoor dining gazebo and private pool.

We are also pleased to read that you appreciated our small team of Cook Islanders who ooze the art of hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: £193 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing