We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Resort”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a fantastic time at the Crown Beach Resort. Everything was so great, and really made our honeymoon. The staff especially made our stay so successful. We enjoyed the Oceans restaurant and the lagoon was amazing for snorkeling..
Would have no hesitation to return back for another holiday! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    151
    47
    14
    11
See reviews for
64
481
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a fantastic time at the Crown Beach Resort. Everything was so great, and really made our honeymoon. The staff especially made our stay so successful. We enjoyed the restaurants, especially Oceans, and the Spa. Would have no hesitation to return back for another holiday! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the beginning of Feb. When we arrived at the hotel at 1am we were greeted with the news we had been upgraded to a villa with pool room. Great start.

As it was our honeymoon they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy. The whole place is fantastic, rooms immaculate, plenty of towels, the beach stunning and white. We had the beach to ourselves every day for a week. Literally saw maybe 4 people a day walk along the shore line.

The staff are so lovely - Tina who looked after our room daily for us and Rita on front of house who sorted our extra night when my new husband forgot about the international date line!

Food in the main restaurant is good, and you can of course have it delivered to your room. Please do make sure you go to the island night, a fun evening's entertainment.

The Windjammer restaurant is very popular which is part of the hotel and great food. If you fancy something simple there is a pizza/sandwich place across the road as well as a shop and a couple of other restaurants which are walking distance.

There are also onsite laundry facilities which cost only a few dollars to use.

There is one thing which i did feedback to the hotel already, the mattress for beach loungers could do with being replaced as they are rather thin and so you feel the wooden slats through them.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Arrived at 5.30am after 6 hour flight so was delighted to be offered a room to rest until our booked accommodation was available. Upgraded to a sea-view villa which was really lovely. Large spacious rooms with separate good air-con in bedroom and lounge area. Large tv, but only one local channel which was really grainy, not that we were there to watch tv, but we had two days of torrential rain and not a lot else to do on the island. The whole island is surrounded by a reef so sea by hotel really only suitable for snorkelling although there are a few gaps of clear water for swimming. Lovely white sandy beach. There were only two restaurants open in the resort during our stay. Windjammers, an Italian restaurant open for dinner is excellent, the food was top class and we couldn't fault it. The second restaurant, Oceans, open for breakfast and dinner was ok but nothing special. The staff are friendly enough but seem to lack a bit of polish. Breakfast is a mixture of buffet and cooked menu which is ok if you like eggs but gets a bit boring. The a la carte dinner menu was quite good but only served two of the nights we were there, the other nights were themed nights with a set buffet menu, some nights good other not so, and of cause the themed dinners were a set price so end up being quite expensive to eat there all week. A very good pizza bar across the road to the hotel makes for a cheaper evening occasionally. The hotel is about 20 minutes by bus to the main shopping area, buses run from outside the hotel clockwise at 39 minutes past the hour, and anti-clockwise at 41 minutes past the hour, $8 dollars each for a round trip, or you can buy a pass which works out cheaper. We had a midnight flight home and hotel is happy to give late checkout till 9pm at a cost subject to availability which was a great help.

Room Tip: Sea view villas are so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRENTONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Crown Beach resort is absolutely breath takingly beautiful, the garden villa we stayed in was everything we needed and the lovely staff were amazing and helpful and charming. We ate at The Oceans resaurant loads and were always extremely happy and full every time, breakfast, lunch or dinner. The snacks and meals we also had delivered room service were also beautiful and very quick to our room. The pool was great, clean and well looked after, the gardens were heavenly too, maintained by the coolest bunch of gardeners ever who obviously like the rest of the staff all love their jobs as they were all such wonderful advocates what an awesome place the Crown and Rarotonga are...... Thank you very much for the wonderful time and memories.

Room Tip: Garden villas perfect for couples but I think we will try one with its own private pool next time (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gigish1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at the Crown Beach Resort and we were thrilled with our room and the resort in general. We had a beach front villa which was just perfect. The room was clean and very spacious. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The resort in general was exceptionally well maintained with beautiful gardens. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The beach front villas are right on the beach and are lovely. If you want total privacy and seclusi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned to Australia after spending 8 nights at the Crown Beach. While, we agree with David from London's comments about the odd Beach Towel replacement process, we found the staff and the ambience of the resort to be excellent. It was disappointing that the main swimming pool was out of action but we upgraded to a court yard room with pool and were very satisfied. The Crown Beach Resort room rates are not cheap but the prices in the restaurants are reasonable and food great - particularly at Windjammers. We didn't mind paying an extra 4 dollars for our lattes at breakfast and also waiting until someone qualified was available to make them - we were on holiday :) A great stay and a huge thanks to all the marvellous staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with high stone walls, private swimming pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We apologise about the delayed refurbishment of the main swimming pool - we had to wait for missing parts which finally arrived from New Zealand. We are pleased to advise that the pool is now fully functional and open for guest use.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurants and especially enjoyed the beautiful modern Italian cuisine on offer at Windjammer Restaurant. We are pleased to read that you found our pricing 'reasonable'. We believe this to be true too as we also have a strong local resident following.

Our team of 85 loved looking after you two and we hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing