We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Crown Beach for the second time back in October , we popped over for a week and again the resort delivered. Stayed in a courtyard pool villa again it really does work for us. Days spent wandering the island finding small beaches to picnic at and swimming in the beautiful warm water was just heavenly. Coming home to the resort and taking on cocktails at the beach bar while the sun plays it's way to the horizon it certainly is hard to resist. Have already reviewed the restaurants, Oceans and Windjammers so have a read of those. The courtyard pool villas are superb large and spacious and being able to have that dip anytime of day and night is just the bees knees. Again Rarotonga and Crown Beach is on our list for another holiday...it should be on yours.

Room Tip: Courtyard villas close to beach, ours was 36 and would request it or the ones opposite again next t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Crown Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Crown Beach Resort and had a superb time! The staff there are incredible; professional, friendly and in a class of their own. The bungalow was perfectly catered, there was literally everything you could possibly need at hand, and any special requests were gracefully handled by staff. The restaurants and other facilities were also above impressive and we cannot WAIT to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JFortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went to the Crown beach in early April, and it was beautiful. We were upgraded (free of charge) to a private pool villa in which the furnishing were very luxurious (no Hotel looking decor). The staff were lovely and the grounds were beautiful and well cared for. We purchased a 're-ignite the love' package to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which was just brilliant. Great massage, photo session and delicious private dinner on the beach. My only criticism of the resort was there gym facilities. This grade of resort should have a fully maintained gym, it does not need to be big but it should be safe and usable. The gym equipment was mostly out of order or to old to be safe. This is definitely an area that needs improvement. One other thing to note for those who are seeking a child-free resort, the resort does appear to allow children who are coming with a wedding group as there were children there though they were usually only present at breakfast.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a private pool villa!!!!!! Beautiful luxurious furnishings, feels quite dec...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LOUISE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Crown Beach Resort for 7 nights in April 2014 for our honeymoon. Overall were happy with our stay, although there is definite room for improvement here.

We were very impressed with our lovely, spacious, clean and extremely private courtyard pool suite. It was modern, comfortable and very quiet. Room service and pool cleaning was offered daily and the staff respected our wishes if we asked them to return later or declined their service that day. The resort setting itself is lovely, the main pool area is great and well maintained. Very relaxing spot where we spent a lot of time. Lovely beach views and a couple of good snorkelling spots. Loved the beachfront day bed gazebos to relax in. The live entertainment at Oceans was fantastic and provided for a great atmosphere.

However, we found the service from staff a little disappointing. Most of the staff seemed put out by our requests and just seemed as though they couldn't be bothered dealing with us. One lady in particular at reception was extremely rude to us. This is not to say that all the staff were terrible - 2 reception staff were absolutely lovely, went out of their way to help us and accommodate our needs. We found most of the restaurant staff to be quite brisk and unfriendly, but again there were a couple who stood out, in particular one man who spent 20 minutes tracking down a drink for us that they had run out of.
We asked for a dinner reservation to be booked through reception, which we were assured was confirmed. When we showed up for dinner, we were told there was no booking for us an there were no available tables for another hour and a half. Not good enough.
We booked a couple of tours through reception and on the day of one found that it hadn't been booked at all and we had to go through several staff members to reschedule for a different day. Our shuttle bus to the airport also wasn't booked, despite us being told that it was, meaning we very nearly missed check in for our flight home.Their excuse was ''everyone runs on island time here and it doesn't matter if you're late''. We wanted to go home and it mattered to us if we missed our flight!
Our flight home was at 1.45am on the Monday and as a result we had to sit around for 13 hours after being told we had to check out at 10am on the Sunday. We were appalled after being told it would cost an extra $250 to keep the room until 9pm, especially considering the resort appeared to be almost empty.
The hairdresser at Spa Ariki was extremely rude, showed up 20 minutes late for my appointment and then had the audacity to criticise me for questioning her whereabouts at reception. Terrible, impersonal service which did not even give me the result I had booked and paid for. However, the massage was divine and the masseuse was lovely.

Definitely not a place to go for the adventure junkie - we were happy to relax and do very little but we were disappointed at the absence of the advertised activities hut and the resulting lack of on site activities available for guests.

We found the food and beverages quite basic and expensive for what it was. Most of the meals were very tasty but not a great deal of choice and quite small meals for the price. We also found drinks, particularly cocktails, to be quite expensive but we also understand that much of the food is imported which increases the price. Disappointed that on several occasions the restaurant had run out of the drinks we wanted and we were offered no alternative. Buffet nights were yummy but again we feel they were overpriced. The breakfast buffet was particularly disappointing. They charged us $337 for a $24 meal (which I'm sure was an honest mistake and which was quickly and easily rectified) but just check your bill before paying as everything is charged directly to your room.

We were disappointed in the lack of honeymoon recognition, especially given in the information brochure you are encouraged to inform staff of any special occasions. Despite informing several staff members, this was not at all recognised.

All in all, a very nice place to relax on our honeymoon. We probably expected a little more from such a high rated resort but it definitely has some positives.

Room Tip: We couldn't fault the Courtyard Pool Suite!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gibbsy5414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back and was disappointed. Was overpriced and they always seemed to be trying to fleece you for more. $ 680 nz for a room even a nice one was too much. Could do a lot better I believe! And threatening to charge $40 nz for a $5 pool towel we never lost was pedantic.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are truly sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We believe it important to match up guests and resort style to ensure value for money is achieved. Our small boutique resort sits in the upper cost bracket and we generally do very well meeting the needs & expectations of our target markets, with beautiful villa accommodation, stunning beachfront setting, fabulous cuisine at our restaurants, and gracious Polynesian service delivered from the heart by our team of 85.

We have many other beautiful resorts around Rarotonga at the mid-price range that would provide better value for money for you. We do hope you continue to visit beautiful Rarotonga.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Crown Beach Resort & Spa for 10 nights March 2014.
Using TripAdvisor recommendations we chose a private pool villa and we were not disappointed. The villa was very comfortable, clean and private.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.
Both restaurants were great.
We fell in love with the "Day Bed" just on the sand outside Oceans Restaurant - it was the perfect place to sit with a cocktail late afternoon and watch the fantastic view.
Another reason we chose this particular resort was because they advertise that they don't accommodate children under 16, and although we have nothing against young children, we were looking for something different to mark this special occasion.
We knew March is cyclone season but that's the date of our anniversary, and consequently we did have a close call with Cyclone Mike who moved off at the last moment, however the staff were good at reassuring us.
Thank you everyone for making our visit a special one.
Dana H

Room Tip: Private pool villa
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank DanaHookins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

There is nothing negative to say about the Crown Beach Resort! The villa was very cosy and clean and had everything we needed. Also the Restaurants are great. The staff is very friendly and helpful, sometimes a bit slow for us Europeans, but that's just the way it is on the Island. They have their own "Island time", that you fall into after a few days... ;)
Definitely try the Windjammer Restaurant. Alfredo, the chef, is a real Italian and we regreted going there only on our last day, because it was definitely the best food we had on the island!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank MaxKopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: £226 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing