We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but missing the Wow this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice but missing the Wow this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We got married here last year so we decided to treat ourselves to a day/night of luxury for our wedding anniversary while we were staying in Rarotonga.
We have been here so many times for drinks & dinners over the past 3 years it feels like a second home.

Good things were they gave us $100 spa credit, 2 free cocktails & buffet dinner for 2. Fantastic!
Not sure what happened on the beach but 2 trees either side have been hacked back & look really ugly. They were great last year when we got married under them.

Private pool rooms are amazing! Was a pity it was too cold to use the pool but the massive rock/glass wall shower with monsoon head & another jet one were one of the best showers i've ever been in!
I would expect a 4.5 resort to have satellite tv though & a mini bar. Thankfully had free dvds from reception but otherwise limited if weather is rubbish.
I would have expected to be shown to your room also rather than wandering around checking room numbers.
We werent told about the breakfast in the morning but decided to go for walk to Oceans & found out this was part of the deal.
We couldn't use our free buffet dinner initially as booked out for 3 days by an Insurance company. We booked for cultural night.Done. Weather happened to be rubbish so dropped by to cancel & rebook. Then found out it wasn't on anyway due to the cultural week. Lucky we dropped by!
Rebooked for Sunday roast. When we got to the bar overheard the lady saying we can't use our free dinner deal as we weren't staying there now even though we had tried to book in to use it twice with no success.
In the end it seemed reluctantly gave it too us but made us feel like crims.
The food was amazing last year but was very average this time.
Over all, felt very underwhelmed & found many other resorts close by that seem to have upped their game so has made us think twice when recommending a resort to get married or stay at for our friends especially for the price charged here. Half the price down the road with as good facilities.
Positive note to end...reception staff were great having to sit there in that horrible weather on days and were always a friendly face. Shame it didn't filter through.

Room Tip: If weather is rubbish, try & upgrade to a beach spa room. Although they are around $900 a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    151
    47
    14
    11
See reviews for
65
481
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

On a New Years girls trip to Rarotonga, we were lucky enough to land an amazing deal for a 2 bedroom beach front pool villa at Crown Beach Resort. The accommodation was immaculate and just what we needed to unwind from 2013. There were 4 girls and we were well in need of some sun and relaxation... all of which we found in abundance.

Oceans restaurant provided amazing breakfasts and dinner options, and for a special night out the Windjammer Restaurant was right at the front door. After the New Years Party on Muri Beach, New Years day at the resort delivered a fun local concert on New Years day where we were lucky enough to hear some local talent. King Kapisi, home to visit the family, also pulled up a chair and sat down for a lengthy chat! The icing on the cake!

With sun loungers, the Romance Cabana directly in front of us, Free Kayaks and no children in the resort, the setting was idyllic. This place is a 'no brainer'. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: From what we could see there wasn't a bad room in the resort but Beach front is definitely the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in a courtyard villa for 7 nights . The villa is amazing we love everything about it. The weather was not so good during our stay but it did not matter to us. The staff are very friendly and we can almost remember all their names but of course there are always some that shines like Celia, Sam & Stevie. The housekeepers are doing an amazing job the 2 aunties & Leah, they keep our room always nice & clean. Over all the resort is great & it is in a very good location and very peaceful.
We love the Oceans Restaurant , we dined there for 4 nights during our stay. Oh the roast pork is to die for! 10 /10 just delicious...melt in your mouth. And the cocktails are delicious! And also thank you to the management for finding a solution regarding my Fish & Chips dinner. Good job guys...we'll done :) its Marcel & Perla from room 29.
We will definitely come back in Rarotonga and we will stay again at Crown Resort.

Room Tip: We Stayed at a courtyard villa. It is an amazing room! If you want privacy,get a courtyard villa.it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from our stay at the Crown Beach and wow what a great way to pass 10 days great room just off the beach well serviced and the staff were amazing we were made feel very special from the time we arrived till the time we left.Great feed at Oceans restaurant and the Isand night is a must all in all you cant go wrong cant wait to do a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 974ScottandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff were absolutely fabulous! They were friendly, helpful, lovely and just made our stay perfect. Our Villa was just what we wanted - lots of space, working quiet air-conditioning, and a lovely kitchen for preparing light snacks. My bed squeaked a bit and so the next morning a new bed arrived - change actioned in quick military style. Our room was really quiet at night (apart from the noises coming from the nearby beach). We would stay at Crown Beach again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom Beachfront Villa - loved it. Some of the more expensive rooms have their own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glow_wormnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Crown Beach's beat asset are their wonderful staff, they are all willing to help whenever asked, especially the lovely receptionists. We had lovely meals at Oceans restaurant with the cooked breakfast being a good way to start the day- usually meant we didn't need much for lunch. Really enjoyed the theme nights especially the Ribs and steak night- best ribs I have tasted. We had a 1 bedroom villa, which was great but we were fortunate to be able to upgrage to a courtyard pool villa for 3 nights- well worth the extra money and if we return I would definately be looking at the courtyard pool villa again. Scooters are available from reception, we had great fun on it and it gave us the freedom to go out and about wherever we wanted. We were able to visit other resorts during our stay and I feel confident in saying the Crown Beach has a great overall package and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go for a courtyard pool villa, they are walled off, you have your own pool and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The gardens were lovely and resort wax nice. A villa right on the beach is best. Had a wonderful massage and glass of :bubbles ; at their spa. Very nice staff very helpful food at their restaurant also good with live music most nights

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan E, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback on your total experience at Crown Beach Resort & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing