We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Resort is Amazing In Every Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2009

My husband flew me to cook islands as a suprise, i found out 10 mins before arriving at the airport where we were going> Ohhh how romantic, I know, but I was amazed at how well he chose the accommodation! We had 6 nights at Crown beach. He didnt know what the rooms were like so booked 3 nights in the private pool villa and 3 in spa villa. The pool villa was too awesome to leave so we ended up staying in there. Everything you could want. Staff are amazing, Donna at the bar was happy to help in anyway she could, she was a sheer delight! Rooms are so clean, spacious, modern and so private! Food was average, although the complimentary breakfast everyday was fantastic. They were shooting a series in the resort when we there, which was kind of annoying, but it truly was they most amazing resort in the cooks. We checked out all the resorts when we were there, and Crown really does stand out from the rest. Perfect for families in the 2 bedroom bures, or private pool villa for the romantics- Perfect in every way! Honest and helpful happy staff are hard to come by, and they definitely were amazing! Great beaches for snorkelling, not so great for swimming, you will need aqua shoes!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annatheholidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband i and recently married at the Crown Beach Resort (6/2/09) and i cant express how much we enjoyed our time here. The staff are so friendly and helpful and couldnt have made our stay and wedding any better, it was everything we had imagined and went off without a hitch.

We stayed 4 nights in the Deluxe pool suites and we were given complimentary gifts while we were here, anything we asked for was done and the owner of the resort gave us a gift on the night of the wedding.

The grounds are immacualte and we never had a problem with our room (which my i add was georgeous).

All in all the people were great, food was great and our room was great!

A +++++++++++++++++++++++ to all the staff at the Crown Beach Resort!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raro2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We had such a terrible time at this Resort and it was for our honeymoon. We had 7 nights in total in Raro, 1 at Club Raro, 4 at Pacific Resort, and 2 at Crown Beach Rarotonga and it was so bad! Loved the other two, but Crown Beach is terrible!

First we weren't shown to our room when checking in, given rough directions and we ended up in their conference room! When asking a staff member she didn't know either. Finally found our room and it wasn't ready for us. The flowers hadn't been changed, there were ants on the bench and the bathroom soaps hadn't been replaced. The porter was very nice and saw the room wasn't ready, and while talking to us about a special honeymoon upgrade also arranged for the room to be serviced. The room was right outside their restaurant, we could see in to the restaurant and the restaurant patrons could see us - not suitable for a honeymoon couple!

The upgraded room was lovely and the porter offered us free DVD rentals.

Upon check in we received a voucher for a couples massage, when trying to book this we were told we couldn't because the lady wasn't in on a Saturday despite what it said in their Guest Book. Then after asking them about that, we were told we shouldn't have taken the voucher and weren't entitled to it! The receptionist told us we should know this! As we believed it wasn't our fault that we were given the voucher we asked for it to be honoured to something of equal value, they offered a free nights upgrade to make up for their mistake. A diving lesson was advertised as complimentary when we made the booking with the travel agent, again we couldn't do it as they could only do it on a Sunday and half a hour before we had to leave for the airport.

The porter (who was the owner's son) followed up with us and we mentioned the above, he was concerned abou the way we had been treated and offered for the owner (his dad) to talk to us. At this stage we were relatively happy with the service recovery.

On our final night there, while having dinner the owner came up to us in the middle of the restaurant and accused us of being gold diggers. Told us the diving lesson is not his fault, and accused us making up the story about the initial room. His restaurant manager then proceeded to tell us that we should be happy with the way we were being treated and that she got treated badly when she went on holiday. After finishing what was left of our meal, we asked the owner if we could talk to him away from the rest of his guests. Again he accused us of being money grabbers and wanting stuff for free, we assured him that we were after anything for free and up until then we were happy with the service recovery his staff had offered us. Again he thought we were making it up, told us he would wipe the bill for us, again we assured him that we weren't after anything for free.

The next day he rang us and apologised, offered what his staff had offered us and told us to stay with them again sometime!

This experience has been so appalling and surprising considering it is meant to be a luxury resort. I appreciate other people may have enjoyed their experience, and hope that we just coincindently had a conversation with him on a bad day. We will not be staying here again, and will not recommend this resort to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We recently returned from a week at the Crown Beach Resort, Rarotonga. The resort was a huge disappointment after reading the reviews on here and seeing pictures in the travel brochure. We have never experienced such terrible service before. We reported problems such as the air conditioning not working properly during our stay (very uncomfortable in the heat) but this did not get fixed even after chasing. Even worse was the respose of the Managing Director to the letter we wrote upon our return. He made it very clear that he was not remotely interested in investigating what might have went wrong. In spite of paying a great deal for our holiday, we were incredibly disappointed with the swarming flies on the food buffet at breakfast and the cockroaches in the bedroom. We would have expected a resort like this to have at least covered up fresh food to keep away flies. The room service was also sloppy and we had to phone up for basic things like getting toilet paper replaced. We are not difficult guests who damand to be waited on hand foot and finger and, in fact, as part of our holiday, which had included time spent in a number of other hotels with lower star ratings, we had been very happy with the level of accommodation and customer service but the Crown Beach resort charged premium prices for second rate service. I would urge anyone to think VERY carefeully before spending their hard earned money on this trip to "paradise".

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank magicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

What a great place to get married!
We stayed at the Crown Beach Resort in June this year on a Tradewinds package holiday that included Rarotonga, Aitutaki and Hong Kong. The package also included our wedding at the Crown Beach. The wedding itself was very well organized and just perfect for us. We've been to a number of all inclusive hotels over the past few years where weddings took place, and thought they were a bit 'basic' and 'conveyor belt'. Here, however, the wedding was totally relaxed and very very special. Marianna, our wedding coordinator (from the resort) made everything stress-free, catered aspects to meet our preferences, and calmed our nerves! Annie, the Celebrant, was excellent - offering a number of choices for the vows and format. The video guy and especially the photographers were a hoot - what a great laugh.
The sunset location is amazing. The staff so welcoming in the true Island way. We really were sad to leave.
The beach is great for snorkeling, not for swimming, but there are loads beautiful swimming spots around the island so it's not an issue. There are free kayaks, snorkel equipment, reef shoes, flippers - all in good condition - but the snorkels could do with better sterilization between users.
Beachfront bungalows are very nicely decorated, more traditional than the other options, and have magnificent views. The hot tub was fantastic in our beachfront home. We were lucky to have a thatched roof - better than the corrugated roof option.
The mid-priced renovated bungalows are lovely with a great plunge pool - very nicely decorated and modern - but with a traditional touch. Definitely the best spec but without the hot tub and views, Very private though.
Unfortunately the 'standard bungalows' have not been renovated and do not meet the standard you would expect in this type of resort. don't consider the least cost option - you will be disappointed!
Room staff are very attentive and again so so friendly and welcoming. It's true that the people make Raro the wonderful place it is!
We really enjoyed the food, but we did also eat in a variety of places around the Island as the menu can be a little repetitive. Don't miss the wraps if you go.... they are awesome! It would help to offer a wider variety of vegetarian meals and maybe try to reduce the flies in the open air restaurant - but these are minor points. Those of you that have been to the large resorts in other locations may find issues. However, that's not what The Cook Islands and this resort are about. This is an island in the middle of the South Pacific.... authentic, happy, friendly people - and if we could, we'd be back there tomorrow!
G&D. Wales. UK.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GDalfndH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Stayed on Rarotonga for 5 days returning home from NZ. Had a fantastic time, staff were lovely and friendly nothing was too much trouble. You do have to remember it is a different way of life and timezone though - things get done in Cook Island time but once you accept that and go with the flow it is fantastic. We stayed there for NYE, had a bonfire on the beach, drinking champagne and cocktails looking up at the stars - doesn't get much better..

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rosie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We contacted the property when we booked the hotel. When we arrived they told us that we were being upgraded becuase we had booked through the hotel directly. Our rooms looked like they had just been renovated. They were beautiful. We had our own little swimming pool on our front porch. The interior of the room was very modern and luxurious; we had a bedroom area and a little living room. I absolutely loved the shower and bathroom!!

I did notice that many of the other rooms did not look like they had been upgraded. I am not sure if I would have enjoyed the hotel as much if we had not been in our luxurious rooms. But, if you are booking this hotel and ask for the renovated rooms with little pools on the porch I think that you will love it. I think that there are only two of these rooms on the property.

I was disappointed by my massage. A waitress from the bar was called in to do my massage and it wasn't great. I asked her to put some pressure into her massage and she said that since I am a woman I didn't need pressure and that it wasn't good for me. I was very disappointed by the massage.

Overall though, I enjoyed the hotel grounds and our room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leahannegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: £221 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing