We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Our stay at the Crown Beach was like visiting a perfect paradise. We had visited Rarotonga before and decided to stay at Crown Beach, because of the great reviews. The stay far exceeded our expectation. The staff was friendly and attentive. There was a lot of little extra touches that made our stay enjoyable. Donna, Rita and others became like family to us. Especially the proprietors Rondo and Julie Perkins. The food in their outdoor restaurant had a delightful, tropical flare. After eating there the first night, we did not want to go anywhere else to eat. We looked forward to trying everything on the menu. Their Island night was fantastic, and I have been to a few island nights. The beach was a few steps away and we enjoyed snorkeling and kayaking. The property provides the equipment.
We will definitely tell our friends about Crown Beach. That will be the only place we will stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PodDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    153
    52
    14
    12
See reviews for
67
500
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

relaxation to the max,food was perfect,service was chilled and professional.weather could have been hotter but the ice cold steins made up for that.
the time we spent here was as good as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adt427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I had never been there before, but my arrival felt like coming home. Maybe it was the inviting hostess behind the front desk who greeted me as if I was an old friend returning to familiar surroundings or maybe it was the incredible serenity you can't help but feel the moment you step foot on property. But whatever it was, once I arrived, I could not have felt more content to be there.

After checking in at the front desk in the tranquil, open-air lobby, I was shown to my villa. Yes, you heard right, my villa. As the front gate to my accommodations swung open, I could hardly believe what was laid out in front of me, a gorgeous patio with a table and chairs for four beneath a large palapa, two chaise lounges, and a private swimming pool complete with waterfall. As I slid open the massive sliding glass doors, I was tickled to see the warm colors, dark woods, and tropical decor. There was a desk and chair, a coffee table with a couch and two chairs around it, a back hall with a sink and closets, a separate "water closet" with its own sink and then a gorgeous, gorgeous bathroom. A claw foot tub, a rain shower in a massive clear glass enclosure that also included a second handheld shower, and a double sink filled out the room.

The resort's open air restaurant with views to the sea and the pool was very nice. The staff was stupendous and you will almost always see the gracious and incredibly sweet owners Rondo and Julie walking around the property, visiting with guests and making sure everyone is happy with everything. (And Rondo is an amazing black pearl jewelry designer. So, bring your checkbook!)

It was like owning my own villa and being able to enjoy all the amenities of a luxury resort. It couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerBlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

My husband flew me to cook islands as a suprise, i found out 10 mins before arriving at the airport where we were going> Ohhh how romantic, I know, but I was amazed at how well he chose the accommodation! We had 6 nights at Crown beach. He didnt know what the rooms were like so booked 3 nights in the private pool villa and 3 in spa villa. The pool villa was too awesome to leave so we ended up staying in there. Everything you could want. Staff are amazing, Donna at the bar was happy to help in anyway she could, she was a sheer delight! Rooms are so clean, spacious, modern and so private! Food was average, although the complimentary breakfast everyday was fantastic. They were shooting a series in the resort when we there, which was kind of annoying, but it truly was they most amazing resort in the cooks. We checked out all the resorts when we were there, and Crown really does stand out from the rest. Perfect for families in the 2 bedroom bures, or private pool villa for the romantics- Perfect in every way! Honest and helpful happy staff are hard to come by, and they definitely were amazing! Great beaches for snorkelling, not so great for swimming, you will need aqua shoes!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annatheholidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband i and recently married at the Crown Beach Resort (6/2/09) and i cant express how much we enjoyed our time here. The staff are so friendly and helpful and couldnt have made our stay and wedding any better, it was everything we had imagined and went off without a hitch.

We stayed 4 nights in the Deluxe pool suites and we were given complimentary gifts while we were here, anything we asked for was done and the owner of the resort gave us a gift on the night of the wedding.

The grounds are immacualte and we never had a problem with our room (which my i add was georgeous).

All in all the people were great, food was great and our room was great!

A +++++++++++++++++++++++ to all the staff at the Crown Beach Resort!

  • Liked — The Room!!!!!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Raro2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We had such a terrible time at this Resort and it was for our honeymoon. We had 7 nights in total in Raro, 1 at Club Raro, 4 at Pacific Resort, and 2 at Crown Beach Rarotonga and it was so bad! Loved the other two, but Crown Beach is terrible!

First we weren't shown to our room when checking in, given rough directions and we ended up in their conference room! When asking a staff member she didn't know either. Finally found our room and it wasn't ready for us. The flowers hadn't been changed, there were ants on the bench and the bathroom soaps hadn't been replaced. The porter was very nice and saw the room wasn't ready, and while talking to us about a special honeymoon upgrade also arranged for the room to be serviced. The room was right outside their restaurant, we could see in to the restaurant and the restaurant patrons could see us - not suitable for a honeymoon couple!

The upgraded room was lovely and the porter offered us free DVD rentals.

Upon check in we received a voucher for a couples massage, when trying to book this we were told we couldn't because the lady wasn't in on a Saturday despite what it said in their Guest Book. Then after asking them about that, we were told we shouldn't have taken the voucher and weren't entitled to it! The receptionist told us we should know this! As we believed it wasn't our fault that we were given the voucher we asked for it to be honoured to something of equal value, they offered a free nights upgrade to make up for their mistake. A diving lesson was advertised as complimentary when we made the booking with the travel agent, again we couldn't do it as they could only do it on a Sunday and half a hour before we had to leave for the airport.

The porter (who was the owner's son) followed up with us and we mentioned the above, he was concerned abou the way we had been treated and offered for the owner (his dad) to talk to us. At this stage we were relatively happy with the service recovery.

On our final night there, while having dinner the owner came up to us in the middle of the restaurant and accused us of being gold diggers. Told us the diving lesson is not his fault, and accused us making up the story about the initial room. His restaurant manager then proceeded to tell us that we should be happy with the way we were being treated and that she got treated badly when she went on holiday. After finishing what was left of our meal, we asked the owner if we could talk to him away from the rest of his guests. Again he accused us of being money grabbers and wanting stuff for free, we assured him that we were after anything for free and up until then we were happy with the service recovery his staff had offered us. Again he thought we were making it up, told us he would wipe the bill for us, again we assured him that we weren't after anything for free.

The next day he rang us and apologised, offered what his staff had offered us and told us to stay with them again sometime!

This experience has been so appalling and surprising considering it is meant to be a luxury resort. I appreciate other people may have enjoyed their experience, and hope that we just coincindently had a conversation with him on a bad day. We will not be staying here again, and will not recommend this resort to anyone

  • Liked — The upgraded the room was lovely, the restaurant staff (except for the manager) were fantastic I would recommend eating here
  • Disliked — Customer Service, Room Serviced, Handling of problems
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We recently returned from a week at the Crown Beach Resort, Rarotonga. The resort was a huge disappointment after reading the reviews on here and seeing pictures in the travel brochure. We have never experienced such terrible service before. We reported problems such as the air conditioning not working properly during our stay (very uncomfortable in the heat) but this did not get fixed even after chasing. Even worse was the respose of the Managing Director to the letter we wrote upon our return. He made it very clear that he was not remotely interested in investigating what might have went wrong. In spite of paying a great deal for our holiday, we were incredibly disappointed with the swarming flies on the food buffet at breakfast and the cockroaches in the bedroom. We would have expected a resort like this to have at least covered up fresh food to keep away flies. The room service was also sloppy and we had to phone up for basic things like getting toilet paper replaced. We are not difficult guests who damand to be waited on hand foot and finger and, in fact, as part of our holiday, which had included time spent in a number of other hotels with lower star ratings, we had been very happy with the level of accommodation and customer service but the Crown Beach resort charged premium prices for second rate service. I would urge anyone to think VERY carefeully before spending their hard earned money on this trip to "paradise".

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank magicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing