We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming home, private, clean, close to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Arorangi, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Margot T
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming home, private, clean, close to everything. Brilliant host who knows food. Quiet beach and great snorkling”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Brilliant, Fantastic stay with a very connect host who knows the best restaurants Carlo is a Chef, he even has a menu and will cook his italian dishes. Carlo connections with the hire companies for easy convenient rentals. Has walked the walks and enjoys the recreation of the island. A tour guide and we were able to arrange transfers to the airport too WOW.
The accomodation has a home feel and everything you would need, even flipers and snorkle ! outside relaxation area is great, beautiful garden with variety of flowers and no coconuts to drop on your head or hire vehicles. A fantastic bonus was no stray dogs or rooster waking you up early in the morning.
I hope to return, will definately stay again, we have made a friend.
cheers Margot

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Dear Margot, thank you so much for your extremely positive and kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to get to know you and be spoilt by your wit and loving nature. You treated our place with extremely care and were very polite and respectful. You'll be always welcome at our home! We wish you the very best with your upcoming projects. Stay in touch!!! Cheers, Carlo and Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catchic
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attention all Foodies -- lovely rental PLUS exceptional chef as host!”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed at Carlo's place for a very restful week, and we are so glad that we did. We opted for the full apartment, so that each of us had a bedroom and bathroom to ourselves. The ground-floor apartment is so spacious, with full kitchen, washer and dryer, two sitting rooms, a ton of books, magazines, and music from which to choose. So many rentals are right on the main road, with traffic noise, but Carlo's place is far away from that, but just a short, safe, and picturesque walk to the lovely lagoon, in which we enjoyed swimming and snorkeling. Carlo very kindly drove us to and from the airport. But best of all is Carlo's divine cooking skills -- for three nights we ordered from a sophisticated menu of very reasonable prices, and it was truly the best Italian cuisine I've ever had (and believe me, I have had a lot). With fine food in Rarotonga restaurants being very expensive, it was such a treat to dine on Carlo's specialties, while sitting on a lovely porch with a view of the magical tropical mountains. Very, very memorable. Thank you, Carlo.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Dear Gina, it has been a beautiful experience meeting and hosting you and Gaelyn. I loved your very gentle and generous of heart nature. You are very inspiring. Thank you for your extremely kind and comprehensive review. I look forward to more of your happy returns! Ciao, Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Host”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Carlo a fantastic host. He and his wife are Italian, with very good English. We downsized from a group of three to two and he was able and willing to accomodate us.We had basic unit with two single beds, a bathroom with filtered water and a shower. Living room with loveseat and two chairs and small kitchen table. Had small refrigerator with one ice tray. Lots of fans, screen doors on both rooms, about a half block from the beach. About a block to the bus stop, which we used several times, maybe a mile or slightly more from airport, but I wouldnt suggest u try to walk. Carlo both picked us up and dropped us off, on time and pleasant. Advice: take your snack food with you, odd things and very expensive ( eggs $7/dozen, ramen 5 pack/$5, cigarettes around $20/pack. Local food odd and expensive. talked to several people who had packed freeze dried hiking meals and things like that for those times you want a quick bite and dont want to go out. Drank the filtered water with no problems and used it to wash the dishes. He has several units and at least one expands to hold a big group. We were comfortable, no traffic noise( although there are chickens that are early risers). Deal with your SIM card ahead if you want/need one. We bought internet from hotspot but it was spotty and needed to log on again and again. Overall was quite a nice stay and I would recommend this facility.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2017
Thank you Trudy for this descriptive review... you and Alex were such a nice people and we enjoyed getting to know you - even though your stay was short. Please come back again and all the best for both of you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinoG1
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Carlo & Roberta's place over Christmas. They picked us up at the airport which was great. It has a kitchen well stocked with utensils, plates etc., good bedding, washing machine, dryer, board games, books & DVDs. Everything you need that makes it feel homely. The beach is really close, and it's a great beach & lagoon for snorkelling. Carlo's food is exceptional - the catered for us one evening and it was some of the Italian food we've ever had. They are both very personable and great to get to know.

We highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Hi Ryan, thanks again for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to write a positive review, we really do appreciate. It was nice to meet you and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your time here at the Tree House. We look forward to your next visit when we might catch up for a bit longer chat and meet the rest of the family from the outer island. Stay safe and all the best, Ciao Carlo & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza...
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cottage feel by the beach!”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a place for a good relaxation time, and that's exactly what we got. Carlo and Roberta are excellent hosts and provided us a lovely flat facing a beautiful private garden. The whole accommodation was very clean, spacious and had everything we needed to make us feel like home away from home! It's not in front of the beach, but it's just a very short walk away, at a tranquil area that offers beautiful sunsets and snorkeling. Sleeping with the sound of the waves and waking up with the song of many different birds was a delight. Communication prior to our trip was excellent, and while there, Carlo was always available to assist. Carlo, an excellent chef, can make you dinner, and please don't miss it. We probably had the best pasta ever! So, if you are thinking about renting this place, go for it! You won't regret!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
I knew you were special guests from your first hello - I feel honored to have such a fine review and especially to know you felt the peace and calm I believe exists here. Thanks again and all the best. Cheers, Carlo and Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonnort...
Yukon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A simply wonderful place to saty and relax”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a week in March 2015 on the way to Australia. Carlo picked us up at the airport and even stopped at a local store so we could pick up supplies. We thoroughly enjoyed the place. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment which has the big tree just off the veranda. Hence the name Tree House. Accommodations were just fine. Carlo is an excellent cook and we enjoyed several every enjoyable dinners. It served as an excellent base for our exploration of the island. Beach 3 minutes away. Very quiet and relaxing. Next time we stop in Rarotonga we will return. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thanks for your wonderful review Florian and Andrea, we are so please you had a great stay with us, please do get in touch if you ever want to return and skip the Yukon freeze weather. We would be happy to have you here again. Ciao Carlo and Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJP7...
Picton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, reasonably priced accomodation.”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We rented the one bedroom apartment and found it clean, private, quiet, and well priced for Rarotonga. It is in a good area, fairly close to the beach, and has a lovely patio and garden. The hosts, Roberta and Carlo are very friendly and accommodating. (Also, Carlo is a great cook !!) There are several good restaurants near-by. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts !!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Hi Robert, thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and was a pleasure meeting you. We would love to host you - and of course your kind wife - whenever you are heading this way again. Ciao Carlo & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing