We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was amazing!”
Review of Beaches Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Beaches Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food was amazing!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a nice dinner in this restaurant. The bar doesn't quite look like a bar and the service can lack at times although the staff do mean well and food defiantly made up for any doubts we did have throughout the night. We would go back again =)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This resorts has a nice location and does look good. We did not stay here but used the restaurant while staying on the island. The staff were very unfriendly and not attentive at all even though it was just the 2 of us in the restaurant for lunch. Food was basic small servings and just generally not to an acceptable standard.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWD347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Not sure if the staff have changed since the earlier review , but we had one of our best dinners in Rarotonga here. We didn't have a drink at the bar before dinner, but our waitress for the evening was very friendly and efficient. After having a couple of very average meals elsewhere, the food was excellent and well presented.
The setting was beautiful, right on the beach and in fact, the restaurant had a sand floor so it did feel like you were eating on the beach.
The only hickup would be the rather long wait for our bill and payment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking and unprofessional bar staff”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Beautiful property and would otherwise rate this property highly,as has a magnificent view etc...but on our visit to manuia beach resort bar and restaurant,bar staff muttered jokes about us under her breath(we could hear what one staff member was saying& we could understand what the staff member was saying,even in rarotongan!!).the staff member was rude and unwelcoming and also served us two orange juices instead of the two " Mickey Mouse" kids drinks we'd ordered!my husband heard this staff member say to her collegue(under her breath),as she was serving the drinks to us that"we wouldn't know any better...." & laughed in front of us to her collegue which was apalling service.Unfortunately our kids had taken a sip from the drinks when I was first advised by my hubby what the bar lady had said,otherwise I would've just walked out....
We were hoping to dine there for dinner,but quickly drank our cocktails& our kids drank their " Mickey Mouse" orange juices....and got out of there!!because of the bar lady's awful customer service we left& had dinner elsewhere,which was a real shame as I'm sure the actual beach resort is a fabulous place to stay&looks amazing:)just the bar staff that let a beautiful resort down.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachnged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Location!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great service, wonderful staff, lovely food and cocktails, perfect location & views! The pancakes at breakfast are the best I've every eaten!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Beach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaches Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing