We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Loved our stay at Sunhaven! The location is faultless and so was the servicing of our bungalow. It was spotless after the staff had been in to clean with lovely touches of fresh flowers around the place. the staff were friendly, obliging and nothing to much for them to make our stay enjoyable. We were picked up in the early hours of the morning by Ali who was so cheerful and friendly even at that time of the day. Patti was so kind and went the extra mile for us.
It was the holiday of a life time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Kia Orana Bree H,

Our happy to please staff do their very best to make all our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay. Ali gets all the good jobs like early hour transfers :-) I have passed on your positive comments to all of them.

We're pleased to hear that you had your "holiday of a lifetime" and hope to see you again in your next "lifetime".

Thank you for the encouraging review. It's very much appreciated.

Take care and kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Shynal and Sheekal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
144
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Canterbury NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have recently enjoyed a wonderful holiday at the perfect location. Sunhaven was everything we hoped it would be with lots more thrown in! Not only was the view from our flower filled beach bungalows an island dream, we only had metres to walk from our decks across a pristine white beach to the lagoon. Being child free ensured peace and tranquility at all times and the beach, gorgeous pool, perfectly appointed sun loungers and hammocks and spotless BBQ were so perfect there was little desire to leave except to gather provisions. Patti, Dennis and their wonderful team ensured our bungalows were beautifully kept and nothing was ever too much trouble. The service was exemplary and not at all obtrusive. For the ideal, peaceful holiday where you can self cater and just relax and enjoy the best of Rarotonga - Sunhaven is the spot! We would love to come back again. Ros & String

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Kia Orana Ros & String,

So you've lived your "island dream"!! It is our goal to make as many guests as possible experience their very own "island dream" and it's made easier by our magic location. You've said it all........
We're happy that you fulfilled your dream and we hope you will return again for another island experience.

All the best.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It's a rare place in the world where you can find the most perfect paradise but if I had to nominate somewhere, these quite beautiful beach bungalows that graze the lagoon waters of Rarotonga, would come close to fitting the bill. My wife and I had a fabulous time here and loved the location. You never get tired of looking out to sea and we saw the odd whale during the week. Our hosts-Dennis and Patti-go the extra mile and fresh flowers are delivered to your room each day. A small touch but a nice one. The rooms are spotless and they are cleaned to a very high standard. Situated on the western side of the island, the location has a beautiful manicured beach and of course, enjoys some splendid evening sunsets. We had fun barbecuing fish and snorkeling off the nearby Shipwreck beach. After staying here, you'll never set foot in a hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Kia Orana Martin JB,

Thanks a bunch for this most eloquent review and your nomination for "the most perfect paradise". We're truly flattered. The whales are early this year with many sightings over recent days. I'd say you were one of the first to see them from here. They are surely magnificent creatures. It is a bonus to see them from the comfort of your bungalow verandah.

Take care and hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sunhaven [owners and hosts = Patti and Dennis] have the right formula!
From the pickup upon our arrival at the airport, until our departure, what they provided was spot-on for our needs. Our bungalow was spotless with fresh fruit and flowers on arrival.
We understand that between every hire of the bungalow, the rooms are cleaned extensively, top to toe; bedding is also fully aired in the sunshine [weather permitting]. And every day of your stay, Monday to Saturday, a high level of cleaning is undertaken by the conscientious staff under Patti's watchful eye.
All of the staff are well trained, most friendly and very helpful.
The location is magnificent, as is the beach it sits on. We spent a lot of time discovering the island, and felt that at the end of our trip our choice of Sunhaven was an inspired one. It is NOT a resort, just a nice piece of paradise best suited to those wanting to do their own thing from a clean, tidy, quiet & well run facility.

Room Tip: If you want maximum privacy close to the sea, try for room 1. If small size is not an issue, try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy and Albie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Kia Orana Wendy and Albie N,

Nice to see that we were "spot-on" with providing your needs during your stay. Yes every room is "spring cleaned" between guests to ensure they stay spotless and fresh. Sure is a lot of work for Patti and the team but everyone agrees it's worth the extra effort and is a big part of the "right formula" we have developed over the last 13 years.

Thanks very much for your helpful review and we hope you can make it back this way again sometime.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

From our arrival at the airport to our departure we could not have asked for more.
Our bungalow was spotless with fresh fruit and flowers on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was so lovely and quiet, and falling asleep each night to the waves crashing on the reef was fantastic!
Patti is an absolute delight and is always prepared to go that extra mile, even when you aren't looking for or expecting it!
This property is absolutely immaculate and Patti and Dennis can be rightly proud.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 2 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JETWATSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Kia Orana JETWATSON,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Sunhaven. Yes Patti is full of surprises. You never know when she'll appear with some goodies. Thanks very much for your review. Hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we have just returned from the cook islands on our 10 day break. We stayed at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows which was all we expected and more.

Patti and Dennis are great hosts and make the holiday special as one feels like family. The bungalows are immaculate and kept that way each day.

We enjoyed the lovely pool, and stepping from our home onto the sand and water. we also had long walks along the beach especially at sunset . Thank you Patti and Dennis for a great break.

Kath and Trevor Polley

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath-polley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Kia Orana Kath and Trevor,

Glad to hear you found Sunhaven to your liking, that we met all your expectations and more and you felt part of our family. I bet you're missing the long beach walks at sunset. If you were doing that now you'd be seeing the whales that have come early this year.

When you need another break - let me know? Thanks heaps for the review.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Shynal and Sheekal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

After reading the glowing reviews on this site for Sunhaven I was excited to be staying here for ten days and also having our very private wedding (just the two of us!!) on the beach during our stay. Unfortunately for some reason things didn't seem to live up to our expectations which was so disappointing when I can see that for many others they seem to have had a brilliant experience here. The staff were delightful so friendly and smiley. As mentioned the rooms are spotless and the gardens are beautiful. What let this property down for us was that as it is such a small resort the relationship with the owners is integral to the overall experience and this is what let our stay here down. Unfortunately we didn't get to know Patti properly until our last night (and she seems delightful) but that was when she was apologizing to us on behalf of Dennis. For what ever reason it just seemed to us that whenever we approached Dennis to ask a question or to ask for his help it just seemed that it was always to hard. After this occurred numerous times I mentioned to him that his attitude had put a dampner on our stay. This may have been a one off and it seems from other reviews that this is not normally an issue so would recommend this resort if you are after a peaceful relaxing holiday in Rarotonga.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey-Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Kia Orana Tracey-Lee S,

Thank you for your positive review of our property and subsequent recommendation. While we try to welcome our guests into the Sunhaven "family" we are at the same time very conscious that not everyone wants to be fussed over and may prefer to be left alone in their own space. You indicated from the outset that you wanted a very quiet private wedding (just the two of you) with no fuss or outside guests. I therefore got the impression you wanted "your space" to enjoy each other without our intrusion and did my best to ensure that this was achieved. Obviously somewhere along the way something went awry – I apologise for this misunderstanding.

It's good to know that your wedding went off as you planned and everything worked out so that would have made you both very happy. We wish you both the very best of luck for your future together and once again thank you for your review and recommendation.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing