We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arorangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rarotonga Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been coming back every year and still love the place. We stayed one night in a double room just off the dorms as we were flying out to Mauke the next day. It was a very big room with a great shower and nice big bed, we used the kitchen in the dorm and left some food in the fridge for when we returned. We got picked up from the airport when we landed and taken back the next day to fly out to Mauke. We then arrived back 3 days later and got picked up and this time stayed in our favourite place right on the beach, a self contained unit. We love staying here as it is cheap but also clean and comfortable and right on the beachfront. I love to hear the ocean and to be able to look out at the ocean while lying in bed if I want to. Great view to look out for whales of which we only got to see one this year. Although the site of its massive tale splashing into the water is a sight to behold. The backpackers has a big section of sand out the front and there is an area of water you can get into without reefs to cool down. Quite of few of the coconut trees are growing large so you do have to be aware of where you are sitting in case one falls off. The hammocks under the units are great to lie in and read or just pass the time away. We will be back.

Room Tip: It all depends on your budget. The dorms for the cheapest but we found them comfortable and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in the Cook Islands. We wanted a cheapish place to stay and decided on Rarotonga Backpackers. We were nearly put off this accommodation by a couple of negative reviews posted on 'Trip Advisor'. Glad we didn't listen to a couple of whingers. This is a slice of paradise - coconut palms, white sand and right on the beach. We stayed in a beach hut - private and relaxing. We left feeling extremely 'chilled out'. Because we saved money on our accommodation we rented a car for the week which gave us total freedom and independence. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Beach huts are definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

stayed here for 4 nights as another spontanious trip to the beautiful cook islands.
I visit the cooks alot but usually stay with friends, chose to stay at rarotonga backpackers this time round, as per norm i was not expecting much from a backpackers.
stayed in a private bungalow of site. all fine and well until the last day of the stay, tryed to contact someone about paying for the stay. " no one knew anyone that could help" finally paid for the stay. I had previously booked and paid for airpor transfers via internet, i could not get any confirmation from any of the "staff" that i would get collected, 80 mins before my flight was due to depart i had still not been collected and after several unanswerd phone calls to managers and staff office ( noteing that the admin office was never open) I ended up calling a friend on the island to drive me to the airport,arriving with 25 mins to check in and board my flight.
i have stayed in many backpackers over the years and although not the most awful one i have stayed in by far the most poorly managed in regards to customer service.

Room Tip: may have better luck with standerd dorm rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank X1on66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had an absolutely brilliant time at the hostel - right on the beach, coconuts falling by the hour ready to be opened and enjoyed, nice little pool, and fair facilities in the kitchen, plus a free DVD library. Peaceful and quiet at night, but just a few minutes walk to the nearest beach-bar (Da Batch), and very close to the main road with regular buses all over the island and a nearby (expensive) corner shop.

There were a few issues while we were there - torrential rain led to leaks from the roof and a fair number of cockroaches coming inside, and there were some problems with the hot water at times. Mosquitoes there are evil - but coils are provided free of charge and do the trick in combination with repellent and clothing.

Paul who runs the hostel is friendly and helpful, and a good source of advice for things to do on the island. People of all ages from 18-75 were staying there with us - and everyone seemed very happy with the place.

Rooms are basic (the en suite bathroom we had, while fully functional, consisted of a plasterboard wall which didn't reach the ceiling, making toilet use less than private), although there are some nicer-looking beach-side bungalows which may be better - I didn't see.

You will not find a cheaper place to stay, and we were more than happy - and we would certainly stay there again if we were on a tight budget. But beware that this is a backpacker hostel - and don't expect to be staying in anything luxurious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We opted to stay in one of the Rarotonga Backpackers garden villas, which is about 600m from the actual backpackers headquarters. This wasnt a bother as the weather was great and the location was very good. If you are looking for a budget place to stay on Rarotonga, this is a definite option to consider. The villas are in a VERY quiet and pleasant location and only a few minutes walk from lovely Arorangi beach. The villas are spacious and comfortable but once again, it is a backpackers not a luxury hotel and you have to accept this. We stayed 9 nights and the unit was only cleaned with linen changed once - we would have liked to have a broom and cleaning gear to do a bit of house work ourselves to keep the place spick and span. We can recommend the Rarotonga Backpackers garden villas to anyone who is looking for a low cost, well situated place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: We definitely recommend the garden villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Its a simple place, I gonna be honest the first impression I had was very bad, as I got there in the night, but next morning when I realise how close I was to the beach, wow! nice!
The staff is very friendly, Paul the owner is a great guy, the have a free shuttle to pick you up at the airport, and charge 10 NZ$ to drop you back. The island bus stop just outside the hostel.
Rooms and facilities are very basic, however for 40NZ$ for a private per night, in one of the most beautiful paradises in the world, is nothing.
If you like dogs, you will probably have you own there, at the time we had Tripod and Pirate, if they are still there you figure out why the nicknames, good company for a beach walk!
There is a little grocery shop outside, a Chinese restaurant with very reasonable prices 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Rarotonga Backpackers have houses and units located around the island, we stayed in a quaint little unit on the beach, Ooa beach studio, Paul and Rebecca from Rarotonga BP were fantastic. A really neat place to stay for a secluded getaway

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.0 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aremango Guesthouse
Aremango Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Avarua
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rarotonga Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rarotonga Backpackers

Address: PO Box 3103, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
Rarotonga Backpackers Hotel Arorangi
Rarotonga Backpackers Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing