We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis Dream”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our stay at the Cooks Oasis was a dream. The villa we stayed at was clean and tidy. Our friends that were staying up the road at a more expensive resort commented that they thought we had the best place to stay... and we agreed! The hosts were lovely and offer free use of reef shoes, canoes, snorkel gear and flippers. The Cooks Oasis is on the west of the island, even though the beach has lots of coral on this side, I still preferred it to Muri beach. The weather seemed always better on our side of the island and the sunsets were gorgeous. The beach was always deserted, so you really did feel that you were at an actual oasis. Hiring a scooter to get around the island is a must. Highly recommend The Cooks Oasis to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Kia Orana Kristina,
Thanks so much for your lovely review on trip Advisor, we are delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed it here on the western side of the island. Those sunsets are pretty magnificent aren't they. Hope to see you again one day, Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    57
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
121
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I spent 5 nights at The Cooks Oasis, and it was an absolute pleasure. Eric and Roselle were welcoming beyond expectations and nothing was ever too much to ask. The Family Villa we stayed in was immaculate and had everything we needed. I even found the Cooks Oasis much nicer than the more expensive resort down the road that other family members stayed in (we were all in Raro for my sister's wedding). Oasis is perfect for families with kids considering all the extras available, dvd/book library, kayaks, cool-off pool, and self-catering was much more affordable as well. All my future trips to Rarotonga will be spent at the Cooks Oasis. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Kia Orana Keri,
Many thanks for your great review on trip advisor. We really appreciate your time and are so pleased you had a great time here. We look forward to seeing you again one day. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Fantastic holiday,we came with friends to celebrate a 50Th birthday and wedding anniversary, .Our hosts were very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, they booked our excursions and scooters . It was so special that they always remembered every one's name and always had a Cheery hello, Thank you for the fresh doughnuts each Sunday Our garden villa was just perfect, very tropical decor, just loved the fresh flowers with each room service. The daily notice board was very helpful. would we come again MOST DEFINATELY..
Steve and Maggie

Room Tip: villa 4 was the sunniest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Kia Orana Maggie, Thanks so much for taking the time to review on Trip Adviser - we appreciate it. So glad to hear that you had a great time at The Cooks Oasis - a great holiday is even better when you can share it with friends isn't it. Yes, the daily notice board is a very handy reminder of what is happening on "The Rock" and with those all important tide times and sunset times!
Hope to see you all again soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We celebrated my wifes 50th Birthday and stayed at the Cooks Oasis
Our hosts were fantastic nothing was a problem. They certainly go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Our room was excellent, with lots of great little extras. As they only have eight villas you get the very bset of service. We found the locality great as we were close to Avarua and in easy walking distance of some very good restaraunts. On two oacasions we had locals tell us that the snorkeling there was the best on the island.
One night we sat on the beach with a drink and watched the sunset and counted 12 whales going by.(this was at Black Rock which is 5min walk down the beach. the beach is approx 50 metres from your room.Wont hesitate to stay there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Kia Orana Bob,
Many thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, as you point out the snorkeling is very good on our local beach with plenty of varieties of tropical fish to be seen. Great that you were here during the whale season (July-Sept) to experience the amazing whale sightings - very special. All the best Bob, we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiapoi Nth Canterbury
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Loved the Cooks Oasis. Have been here in 2001 and have to say a fantastic improvement to the premises. We stayed for 11 nights with friends and we loved it here every day. The whole family are always obliging and the oasis has a warm family feel as it is not a large resort. Many wonderful restaurants nearby. The Kikau hut and Anchorage have great meals. This accommodation is close to the beach and is a good spot for snorkeling. We love the sunset side of the Island as on a clear night we can grab a glass of wine and rush down to the beach and sit and watch the sun set. Heaven. The rooms are clean and the servicing is every 2nd day. The yummy donuts a great treat on Sunday and we were lucky to have 5 day free scooters in our price. Would love to see loungers for the beach so it is more comfy when down there with our books and can lay back and chill out They do have sand chairs..

Thanks for wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the drive to avoid traffic noise and barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Kia Orana Lynda,
Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, enjoying the facilities, the great local dining and the lagoon. The sunset certainly is beautiful to catch from the local beach- especially with a glass of bubbles : )
Hope to see you all again when you next need some R and R in the tropics. Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were a group of 7 women with different needs and Christine, Kiel, Eric and Roselle helped. They kept us informed of wind changes for snorkling kayaking etc. flights for close observation etc. They were always there for phone calls information and gave us donuts for Sunday breakfast.
Our unit was very spacious over looking the beach. A very large clean bathroom, a large veranda which we used every night. A very good barbeque where we cooked the local fish. A very 'user friendly' kitchen with full use of utensils and dishes. Although we did not use the lounge at all it would be very comfortable if the weather turned rough.
We chose this accommodation because of the full supply of swimming fins and goggles, kayakes and the swimming pool. We are all very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Kia Orana Anne,
Thanks very much for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor - much appreciated!
We are pleased that you all enjoyed your holiday here. The 2 Bedroom Lagoon View Villa that some of you stayed in was an excellent choice for you, allowing plenty of space and great for self catering. The outside deck certainly is a great place to enjoy some nibbles and socialising : )
Hope the northland weather has been kind on your return home! Hope to see you again one day. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My partner and I arrived in Rarotonga on one of those awfully late/early morning flights from Auckland. The pre-arranged taxi was waiting for us as we exited the terminal. The Cooks Oasis is not far from the airport (3.5kms) on the north-west side of the island so the $21 per person airport transfer fee seemed really excessive. The following morning Christine was great in helping us orient ourselves to the features and ammenities available to us; she also pointed out a few island features including restaurants close by and organised bookings dinners and scooter hire which is agreat way to get around the island. The accommodation villas are close to each other so you are not entirely private from other guests but we never felt uncomfortable or intruded upon. It was fantastic having reef shoes, goggles, kayaks, on-site washing machine and dryer available to us. We also liked having kitchenette facilties so we could shop in the market and prepare food in our villas as desired. Highly recomend the Tamarind Restuarant for an island-fine-dining experience. The Roadhouse not far from the Cooks is a great take away lunch food bar with great burgers at very reasonable prices. Overall, the place was great value with wonderful hosts and we will likely go back when we are looking for a no-frills, island-time get away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZackSReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Kia Orana Zack,
Many thanks for your review on trip advisor. We appreciate your time in doing this! Great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoyed the use of the snorkelling gear and other complimentary facilites. We look forward to seeing you both again one day! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
4.7 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Property: The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Address: PO Box 497, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas are located in Arorangi, Rarotonga. We have 8 self catering villas nestled within tropical gardens. Enjoy our fresh water cool-off pool and other great complimentary facilities including snorkelling gear, sun lounges, kayaks and beach towels. We are on the western, sunny and sheltered side of the island where you can watch the fantastic sunsets. The Arorangi district is only 15 minutes to the main Township of Avarua and 10 minutes to the airport. Take less than a minute stroll down the path to the white sand beach and beautiful lagoon. Perfect for sunbathing, relaxing, and watching the whales cruise by (in winter). For some family fun try out our kayaks, or go snorkeling and view the tropical fish. Self-cater or enjoy eating out at one of 6 restaurants in easy walking distance. Our secluded property with its comfortable and stylish pacific rooms combined with our excellent location on the island and excellent service really are a winning combination. We pride ourselves on running a “boutique” look, feel, and service property without the high-end expense. We are family owner operators. Our main focus is to ensure our guests have a great stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoy their time in Rarotonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooks Oasis Hotel Avarua
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing