We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little get away!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I travelled to the cooks with my Mother and Sister for a Wedding. We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio villa and found it to be very spacious! Great hosts who told us all we needed to know about the island and organized anything we needed (including car and scooter hire) The shower pressure was amazing! The beach is close. And did I mention the hosts were just fantastic?!

Would recommend The Cooks Oasis as a one stop shop for accommodation in Raro.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaHeritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Kia Orana AnnaHeritage!
Thanks so much for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it and are rapt that you loved your stay.
The 1 Bedroom Tropical Villas are great for families, great to hear that this villa type suited you well and that you enjoyed the spaciousness, and the Cooks Oasis Hospitality!
Meitaki Maata, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards, Christine Johnson on behalf of the Cooks Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    57
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
121
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent 6 nights at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and could not find fault in any thing.
The Hosts were extremely helpful in booking tours for me and were very helpful in giving advice re transport and places of interest. Eric went out of his way to drive me to the Crown Resort where they were having an Island Night with dinner and dancing. Had I caught the bus I would have missed part of the show. The beautifully served complimentary breakfast was also much appreciated.

Room Tip: I was very happy in Room 7 and hope to return one day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Kia Orana Seaview2013!
Meitaki Maata (thank you very much!) for your Trip Advisor feedback. We are rapt that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooks Oasis, enjoying the service and hospitality and also your Studio Villa accommodation.
We look forward to welcoming you back again one day :)
Kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Kia Manuia!
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We would recommend 'The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas' outstanding service/hospitality to anyone!
It was our first time at Raro and they helped booked tours, restaurants, airport transfers, scooter hire, etc. Provided extensive advice on local attractions and outer islands. Most important.. Lovely Hosts!.. Thanks to the Johnson family for making our stays a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apungkumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Kia Orana Apungkumba,
Thanks so much for your great feed back on Trip Advisor. We do strive to give excellent customer service so your feed back is very much appreciated! We are more than happy to share our local knowledge and assist all our guests with bookings and recommendations - we feel that this enhances not only our guests experience at The Cooks Oasis, but also enhances the overall holiday experience in the wonderful Cook Islands :)
Kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Kia Manuia!
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We enjoyed our time in Rarotonga with friends and family recently. We stayed in the large 2-bedroom villa with our elderly parents, and although it was large and spacious, we had no idea that the two bedrooms are not separated completely and all of the top of the rooms are open, so you may as well be in the same room together, as you hear every little noise, snoring, and can talk to each other as if you were in the same room. It is also open to the lounge area, so if someone goes to bed early and others are up, or the TV is on, it is very noisy. I wish we had known about this and it should be published on your website.
The location of the villas is good, on the sunset side of the island, and is a short walk to the beach down a private drive-way.
The only other thing I would say was that it was hard to get a change of towels when you wanted one, other family staying in the resort said the same thing.
Hosts Christine and Liel in the office were very informative and friendly with information when we arrived.

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly which villa you are getting before you arrive, ie, noise of open rooms or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tauranga_Dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Kia Orana Tauranga_Dreaming,
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate to see that you did not enjoy your Villa layout. This Villa is constructed in this manner to maximise natural cooling. Please note that we have popped some new images on our website (a month ago) and one of the images for the 2 Bedroom Lagoon View Villa now clearly shows one of the bedrooms with its construction style.
In regard to the towels, we happily replace towels on service days and you only have to ask at reception in-between service days to have fresh towels exchanged. This is clearly documented in your welcome letter and also in our Property Compendium. As all environmentally conscious property's suggest, we do encourage towel reuse to reduce unnecessary environmental burden. Our service policy is to leave towels that are hanging up and leave fresh towels to replace those that are left on the floor. This is also explained on guest information wall plaques that are in every Villa bathroom.
We are pleased that you did enjoy your time in Rarotonga and that you enjoyed the beach and our great location. We are more than happy to provide great local knowledge for all of our guests to help in making a wonderful and memorable holiday experience.
Kia Manuia,
Christine & Kiel Johnson (for the Cooks team)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Thank you very much to the Johnson family for a wonderful stay in paradise. The room was great, spacious and modern, just a few metres from a fantastic beach and the hosts were very helpful and welcoming (even when our flight home was cancelled and we had to wake them up at 1am to let us back in)! The location couldn't be better - situated on the sheltered sunset side of the island, close to everything! We visited muri and although beautiful it was far too windy to even sit outside and eat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmavdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Kia Orana Gemmavdv,
Thanks so much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We are rapt that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our great location and the fantastic beach.
We hope to see you again next time you are up in the Cook Islands :)
Kia Manuia, and kind regards from the Cooks Oasis Team.
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our first time in Raro and we stayed at a well known resort and at the Cooks Oasis. And when we got to the Cooks we had more information about how, what, and where to do stuff in one hour that we had in our 5 days at the well known resort. Being our first time we had to figure out everything on our own spend more money then needed but if we would have just stayed at Cooks Oasis the whole time we would have had all that and more.

They are really friendly and welcoming, beds a super comfortable and the villas are great!! Next time were in Raro we will be staying here again! Oh and the rooms were so clean! Way cleaner then the resort we paid twice as much for on the other side of the Island.

So thank you Cooks Oasis for making our trip a good one :)

Room Tip: Rooms with a good fan in the winter months don't really need AC. Also the Island is so small it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Kia Orana Steph595!
Thanks so much for taking the time to pop feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate it. We are rapt that you enjoyed your stay :) Customer service is very important to us so it is great to know that you enjoyed this aspect of your experience here as well as enjoying the property.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you venture to the beautiful Cook Islands.
Kia Manuia and kind regards from the team :)
Christine Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We loved our stay here at Cooks Oasis, the hosts are so friendly and welcoming. The units are very clean and the grounds are well kept, its a perfect home away from home, peaceful and tranquil. I would definitely recommend this property to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5-star-greenie, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Kia Orana Vicki M!
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we appreciate your feedback :) So glad that you had a great time with your friends here in our little patch of paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back another day.
Kia Manuia, and Hi! to the girls :)
Christine Johnson for the Cooks Oasis team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
4.7 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Property: The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Address: PO Box 497, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas are located in Arorangi, Rarotonga. We have 8 self catering villas nestled within tropical gardens. Enjoy our fresh water cool-off pool and other great complimentary facilities including snorkelling gear, sun lounges, kayaks and beach towels. We are on the western, sunny and sheltered side of the island where you can watch the fantastic sunsets. The Arorangi district is only 15 minutes to the main Township of Avarua and 10 minutes to the airport. Take less than a minute stroll down the path to the white sand beach and beautiful lagoon. Perfect for sunbathing, relaxing, and watching the whales cruise by (in winter). For some family fun try out our kayaks, or go snorkeling and view the tropical fish. Self-cater or enjoy eating out at one of 6 restaurants in easy walking distance. Our secluded property with its comfortable and stylish pacific rooms combined with our excellent location on the island and excellent service really are a winning combination. We pride ourselves on running a “boutique” look, feel, and service property without the high-end expense. We are family owner operators. Our main focus is to ensure our guests have a great stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoy their time in Rarotonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooks Oasis Hotel Avarua
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing