We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cottage Florestal

Cottage Florestal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Florestal
Open plan ground floor Open plan lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cottage Florestal
Open plan ground floor
Open plan lounge area
Solar wall and private parking area
Private Patio area
View from upstairs bedroom
Open plan dining area
Open plan lounge area
View to upstairs bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Owners House
Property View
Property View
Cottage Florestal
Mezzanine bedroom
Mezzanine bedroom
King size bed 150x200cm
Private Patio area
Open plan ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barao de Sao Joao, Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Wingfield...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The cottage is delightful; well equipped, comfortable and clean. Karen is friendly and helpful, and Frank the dog is always ready to accompany guests on one of the many lovely forest walks from right outside the front door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Thank you both for your review and taking the time to do so. We are always very happy to hear that you enjoyed stay in the Cottage. The walks are wonderful and Frank enjoys them too! Best wishes & thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen B
1 review
“If you need a stay in nature and silence - there you go”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It couldn't be better.
I advice this place to anyone who's looking for a quiet place on vacation.
And if you're looking for action Lagos is just a few minutes driving.
The owners are very very friendly. In the cottage is everything you need for cooking e.g..
I go back there as soon as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review of the Cottage with your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed a peaceful stay and it was our pleasure to have you here.You will always be welcomed back. Regards & Best wishes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deboanne
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in June 2016

What a great holiday home, Karen is a lovely host, nothing too much trouble.
Ideally situated with beaches in easy drive but the surroundings of nature to come home too.
Everything you need for your holiday even a cool bag.
We still talk fondly of Frank the dog and the many walks in the forest we took or he took us on.
Village in walking distance with restaurants, supermarket and cafes.
Will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to have you stay here with us in the Cottage. Many Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerboyz...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I stayed at Cottage Florestal for a week in August 2016. The cottage is in a lovely quiet position in a National Park forest, about 15 minutes walk from a village with a number of bars and restaurants.
The cottage is really comfortable and well equipped and totally relaxing. The owners Karen and John are fantastic hosts and made sure our stay was very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. On our last day for example, we stayed in the cottage until 2.30pm because our flight was quite late; we weren't just kicked out early doors as is often the case.
We would thoroughly recommend the cottage; the Western Algarve is a lovely area with fantastic beaches and lots of great seafood. Perfect for a quiet, relaxing getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you both for writing a review of the Cottage. We are very happy that you had a lovely stay here with us and enjoyed your holiday here in the Algarve. We do appreciate that we live in a special place and it's always wonderful to hear that our guests also appreciate the National Forest & the typical Portuguese Village of Barao Sao Joao. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ira G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peaceful Retreat in a cute cottage located within a National Park”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our stay at the cottage was a relaxing one that my husband and I both needed. We arrived earlier than the check in time of 4pn and Karen prepared a light snack for us upon arrival. We love that nice personal touch. We like the rustic feel to the place. It was very clean with all the gadgets included in a house. We liked cooking in the big open kitchen almost every night & the having breakfast outside in the small patio. We can't forget our walks with the lovely dog Frank, a real gentle companion. We were also allowed to stay longer on our last day, so we had the chance to go to the beach in the morning and return to shower before going to the airport. We received a wonderful reception and Karen & John really accommodated us during our stay. We highly recommend this place and we would return in a heartbeat!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cottagd. It always makes us very happy when our guests enjoy their holiday and stay here with us in the Algarve. Best wishes to you both and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansmaart...
Bedum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house, beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderfull time in Cottage Forestal. Karen, John and the lovely dog Frank were friendly.and helpful to us. We enjoyed the comfortable house, made nice trips en walked in the surrounding forrest. The weather was this winter not as good as we had wished. Despite that we had a good time. The forrest was beautiful and the little village on a 15 minute walk friendly with nice people. Next time in the winter we bring an extra sweater.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Cottage. We are very happy that you enjoyed your winter break. The Forrest is a beautiful place for walking & Frank enjoys the company. Best Wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a few days at the cottage as a surprise for my partner's birthday, and we had a fantastic time. Karen went above and beyond what we expected and was also really lovely to talk to. We felt like she really cared that we were comfortable and happy staying at the cottage. We had a great time walking with Frank the dog too! The cottage itself has everything you could need. It is in a ideal location, right next to some lovely woodland and only a few minutes walk from the village. Te village is a really interesting place full of art, free thinkers and happy dogs! We loved it and I really hope we can return for another visit soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had a fantastic holiday in this part of the Algarve. Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again one day. Best Wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing