We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was formerly a good hotel .”
Review of Hotel Ocidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ocidental
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“It was formerly a good hotel .”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We think the owner has lost interest and should really pass it on to his family, the views are stuuning, the room was adequate but very dark and needed updating urgently. there is one person who seems to do everything, taxi, reception, kitchen and if necessary the rooms. it is all very tired.
The restaurant next door is quite good and the Gym looked OK.

Room Tip: Rooms 118 &218 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
7
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed in 7 hotels during our recent trip to the Azores and this was by far the worst and below the standard that we had expected even after reading the reviews on Trip-advisor.

We arrived after a somewhat eventful flight at this Hotel - one day late thank goodness as our trip the previous day had been cancelled due to bad weather.

First impressions were awful - dingy reception with long life bulbs hanging unshaded from the ceiling and uninterested staff. The corridors leading to the rooms were the same but the room was not too bad but lacked air conditioning an essential item in the humid atmosphere in the Azores.

This Hotel cannot have changed since it was built - the whole place would benefit from being knocked down and rebuilt. The pool is half full of dirty water with the occasional plank of wood thrown in and ceased to be of use many years ago.

There is a bar in the hotel but this was not open but there was a one story building at the rear of the hotel with a snack bar, bar and games room inhabited by local youths.

There is a modern hotel a few hundred yards away - The Hotel das Flores - stay there it is a better position and the whole place is modern with an infinity pool, great lounges and looks like a Hotel which is more than can be said for the Ocidental.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exhotelier79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz das Flores hotels

Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed in Hotel Ocidental for one week. The hotel is in bad shape; walls burst, the elevator doesn't work and the swimmingpool has no water since years. The rooms are fine, just as the location, but the shape of the hotel is poor! The breakfast is very simple (bread, cheese, ham and honey) and every day the same. Even though the prices are high.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanita103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This place has seen better days and was awfully run down. It was damp, cold and unwelcoming. We regrettably had to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBartram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, RF
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August 2009. the room and bathroom are spacious. all rooms overlook the ocean. The staff is welcoming and nice, always ready to help. Special thanks to Sonya and Carina (girls at the reception desk). The location is good. just a 5 min walk from the airport and gas station. And just 2 min from the natural swimming pool!
It's a perfect place for a romantic gateway. We are a young couple, just married.
The only thing that bothered us was the lack of the fridge.
there's a supermarket Braga&Braga just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_G26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon - Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

I have just returned from the Island of Flores in the archipelago of Azores. I stayed two nights in the hotel Ocidental. Some publications state it as a three star hotel, others as a two star hotel. I would say rather two than three. The hotel was inaugurated in 1992, therefore it may still be considered new.
Front desk personnel is young, nice, efficient and accommodating. I noticed while they were speaking to other clients that their command of the English language was excellent.
The rooms are spacious, the toilet is also spacious and they have a nice veranda with two chairs. If I am not mistaken, all rooms have a view to the see. Obviously, there is no in-room safe or mini-bar, but there was a TV with remote control. Do not ask me how many channels it had. If you like to watch TV, you’d better do it at home and not while travelling.
The toilet does not have bath shower or hair shampoo. Just small soap bars. There is no hair dryer. On the first day, my girlfriend had to use the heating system of our rental car (although it was a hot day) to dry her long hair. By the second day the girl in front desk lent her an hair dryer that she returned after use. The rooms have insufficient drawer space. The furniture was in good condition and decoration is bland but one can not expect more from a two star hotel. The floor of the room and toilet is covered with tiles and this is a good option since the wet climate would ruin carpeting. Tiles are much easier to clean and less prone to attract dust. Our room and toilet was thoroughly cleaned the first time we entered the room. There is no swimming pool in the hotel, but within walking distance, no more than three minutes away, there is what the locals call the natural swimming pools. When the tide comes up, it brings fresh sea water to a sort a basin surrounded by rocks. The water is renovated with each tide. One can therefore swim surrounded by small fish. They provide different towels from those in the bathroom, if you want to go there.
The restaurant does not provide any other meal than breakfast and restaurants around the hotel are in short supply. Breakfast consists of a modest buffet. I never saw anyone ordering or eating fried ham and eggs. Typical Portuguese never eat it for breakfast. They had two kinds of brad, butter, cheese, ham, preserves, corn flakes, canned peaches and orange juice (but this was not natural orange juice).
The hotel organises three different tours for tourists. We picked the tour to neighbouring island of Corvo. Depending on weather and sea conditions, the zodiac takes 40 to 50 minutes each way. It was well worth the price (25 € per person), considering what we experienced and saw, although I have to admit that we were particularly lucky with the weather. Avoid these tours if you are prone to back ache.
This hotel has different rates according to the seasons. I found the 90 € per room a bit expensive even in high season. Flores is not a touristy island, therefore there is not a wide offer of lodging nor pampering in related services. Nevertheless landscape and nature in general will provide you exuberant sensations in capital letters.
Noteworthy issues:
-The hotel does not accept credit cards.
-Try to book a rental car before you go (especially in July and August), otherwise odds are that you will find yourself stranded in the island. There are only two car rentals and their fleet is limited. I know that some locals also rent their own cars, but I have serious doubts if this is legal. I had not booked one but at the hotel, the girl at the reception told me the owner of a local supermarket rented cars. In fact we managed to get a four year old Citroen. A peace of junk, due to the total and evident lack of maintenance, but it took us flawlessly around the bumpy roads of the island. Just before heading home, I returned the wreak and after paying for the rental, the man in the supermarket said I could take it to the airport, park it and leave the keys in the ignition as he would go and fetch it later.
-The hotel is very close to what they pompously call ‘airport’. It is barely more than an airstrip. Upon arrival and as we did not bring suitcases but rather our backpacks, we headed to the hotel by foot and it took us six minutes in slow pace.
-Don’t take it as written in stone that you will get reliable bright sunshine days throughout Summer. Weather around the Azores is pretty capricious and barely predictable. Sometimes on a single period of 24 hours, one gets the four seasons of the year. Mist is maybe the most disruptive weather condition, since it will not allow you to fully appreciate the beauty of the landscapes and the interesting combination of colours of the vegetation.

  • Liked — Location near airport
  • Disliked — Just bed and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank José S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz das Flores
0.2 mi away
Flores Hotel - Inatel
Flores Hotel - Inatel
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz das Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
7.0 mi away
Aldeia da Cuada
Aldeia da Cuada
#1 of 7 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sitio da Assumada - Eco Turismo
Sitio da Assumada - Eco Turismo
#1 of 3 in Lajes das Flores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Alojamentos Flores Island
#3 of 3 in Lajes das Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
14.6 mi away
GuestHouse Comodoro
GuestHouse Comodoro
#1 of 1 in Corvo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocidental

Property: Hotel Ocidental
Address: Avenida dos Baleeiros, Santa Cruz das Flores, Flores 9970-390, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Flores > Santa Cruz das Flores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Cruz das Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ocidental 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ocidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocidental Flores, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing