We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at Tryall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wedding at Tryall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My wedding was on November 9, 2013 at the Tryall Club. It was absolutely amazing. My wedding planner Melissa Forbes was a life saver. Anything is possible. She created my dream wedding for me. We stayed in the Haystack Villa which is an 8 bedroom villa. We all loved it so much we didn't want to leave. The pool is huge and heated. The staff was so courteous and helpful. Rodney was our chef and he did an amazing job. We were definitely all spoiled! They supplied us with 3 golf carts to drive around the property and to the beach. The only small complaint I have is about the bed. The bed on our room was hard. But my back didn't hurt when I woke up so maybe its a good thing. I can't say enough good things about the Tryall Club. Definitely worth the money. We will be returning for our 5 year anniversary. I can't wait!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    31
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
171
45
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I recall once viewing a Bridal Mag and viewing a wedding at Tryall… It was gorgeous! Love at first sight. I’ll start with the whole selection process, I contacted numerous top hotels in Jamaica and hands down I was most impressed with the timely response, wealth of information and quality of service that I got from Tryall. Plus, If I had to decide based on beauty only, this would be it. End of search.
Melissa, the Wedding Planner was just amazing in answering my gazillion questions and catering quite beautifully to our needs throughout the entire planning process. I LOVE the personalized approach and attention that each wedding gets and FYI: they only do one wedding a day, unlike the mass weddings done at some other resorts.

So here’s the Top 5 reasons why Tryall is the #1 destination to have your wedding in JA:
1. The beauty is almost unparralled. Stunning! It’s a truly unique venue with lots of locations to choose from for your ceremony and reception with gorgeous vistas… I recommend the Great House for the ceremony with the sweeping view of the ocean!!

2. The Wedding Planner is just a delight to work with; literally, she does everything with a big smile and goes above and beyond to make your perfect day a reality. Being out of the country, I had zero stress with planning. You tell her what you want and she makes it happen.

3. Impeccable service and the opp to work with some of the top wedding vendors in the country

4. Excellent excellent food!

5. It’s the complete package, romantic-island- getaway for honeymoon + perfect- wedding- venue
#Go there !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I vacation with a group of 12 (6 couples) that recently returned from a week long stay at Anticipation Villa. It was the vacation of a lifetime. Anticipation is absolutely gorgeous with beautiful decor and breathtaking views. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. We dined on 5-star meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Chef Fitzroy's culinary creations were AMAZING! We were pampered by the villa's very attentive staff and spent most of our time lounging and relaxing on the huge patio as opposed to venturing off property. We're already planning our next visit and the only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Im not a man of very many words, so I will get straight to the point. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is not the best in the island but will suffice and I highly recommend villa vivianna. The villa you choose will determine the quality of your stay, do yourself s favor and avoid ROSE COTTAGE.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwgiarla, Managing Director at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are very right in saying “the villa you choose will determine the quality of your stay.” At Tryall we have 87 distinctly different villas, ranging from one to nine bedrooms, so we are fortunate to have a cross section of villas to meet most guests’ needs. We are happy you liked and would highly recommend Villa Vivianna and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My wedding took place at Tryall this month and we definitely made the best decision by having our wedding here. The guesthouse venue is spectacular and like no other. With the right weather conditions this makes for an unforgettable experience and great pictures. The wedding coordinator Melissa is a dream come true for any bride planning a wedding. The day's events took place without a hitch and seemed effortless.

I agree with other reviews in that a huge part of having a great Tryall experience is choosing the right villa. Each villa is individually owned and therefore not owned by Tryall, therefore different rules apply to each. Please be very careful choosing a villa, this can make or break your stay. We originally booked ROSE COTTAGE which was a huge mistake!! The pictures online were impressive but the owners are very unreasonable and impossible to work with. With the help of management we were able to switch to villa VIVIANA which was amazing. The pictures on line do not do it justice, the staff is the best they have at Tryall and we were so lucky to be able to stay there on short notice. The pictures of ROSÉ COTTAGE on line are nice but in person the villa is less impressive than anticipated. VILLA VIVIANA all the way!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxanneMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwgiarla, Managing Director at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Choosing a location for your wedding is definitely one of the most important decisions you will make in your life. We can’t agree with you more, our Great House venue is spectacular and Melissa and her team are the best! Thanks for choosing Tryall as your perfect wedding destination. We are happy that we exceeded your expectations, and thank you for spreading the word. We are really sorry that things didn’t work out at your original villa, Rose Cottage. We are pleased however, that the owners of Rose Cottage were completely accommodating in having you relocate and that we were able to find another one of our 87 villas that met your needs. We are happy to know that you made the best decision to have your wedding with us and look forward to your many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just stayed the weekend at Tryall with my husband and it was absolutely amazing!! The staff there has been great especially the food and beverage staff and the Chef Kai - thanks for making my weekend superb! Definately will recommend to everyone. The rooms were clean and nice and the housekeeper Ms Hazel was knowledgeable and clearly loved her job

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Tryall club is a nice resort, but in reality, your stay is about the Villa. Having said that, Villa Viviana was a fantastic experience and I would rate it on par with 5-star hotels that we have stayed at in the past.

The Staff: The villa has a reputation of having the best staff on the Island and they lived up to their reputation. We were two couples with two young children and they made everything about out stay superb and effortless. Sheldon (butler) Damian (chef) and the rest of the staff did everything in their power to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We ate dinner every night at the villa, and somehow, the staff made it feel like we were in a different restaurant every night (different venue, etc.). They would move tables around and we wouldn't notice until dinner time. This type of effort went into everything they did.

The property: The villa has a true wow factor. Unobstructed views of the ocean with many different sitting / lounging areas to appreciate the beautiful scenery. In addition, there is a playroom downstairs and a sunken foyer by the downstair bedrooms that were nice to have.

The rooms: Great layout for multiple families. All the bedrooms are beautiful with en-suite bathrooms - there are two "masters" that are identical to the other rooms, but have an office nook. The quality was on par with 5 star hotels.

The pool: The pool is nice. By the entrance of the pool, there is a shallow area that is 10' x 5' that we used with our young kids. that was really nice to have.

The food: A+. Damien made the first two meals and they were amazing. He then asked for our thoughts to put together a menu plan and we were all so impressed that we just gave his discretion to use his judgement. He did not fail - food was stellar (and we were all foodies)

If i had to be critical: the pool could be larger / an infinity pool. Some of the marble around the pool is a red brick that is really slippery when wet. The grounds are beautiful, but they are mainly in the front of the Villa - it would be nice if there were a backyard that were easy to access from the pool area.

I hate to end with some nits on improvement. Overall, we had an amazing vacation and plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
23.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
24.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
64.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
110.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
63.5 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Property: Tryall Club
Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing