We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Tranquility”
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tropical Tranquility”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have stayed at several resorts in Jamaica, also at Sandals and Iberostar. This is a very nice resort and the villas are magnificent - but this is more of a golf resort than beach resort. Each villa has a private staff that prepares breakfast and dinner daily, cleans the villa and will do your laundry upon request. The villas are 4 or more separate suites so each suite has its own bathroom but there are common dining and living room areas and one big pool. We were with a corporate group on a company-financed trip so I am not completely sure whether this is truly considered an "all inclusive." When we ate in the beach restaurant we had to sign a check but the company picked up the tab at the end of the trip. There was alcohol at the villa that we did not have to purchase and they replenished that when requested. There were only certain brands available but a commissary is onsite for purchase of different items.

This resort caters mainly to golfers. The golf course was very nice, as were the tennis courts. However know before going that this is not a "beach resort." There is very little beach area and very few beachfront villas. We had to take a golf cart everywhere and the villas can be a mile or more from the beach.

This is also very different from a Sandals or other typical all inclusive in that there was hardly any entertainment at all at the resort and very few dining options other than eating in your villa. The beach restaurant was a bad experience every time too. The service was always very slow and the food mediocre. The food prepared at our villa was much better.

If you are looking for a beautiful, upscale resort that is very quiet, family friendly and offers few distractions, this is certainly the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi VinoBeachGal,

It was our pleasure to have hosted your group for the third consecutive year. We are pleased you found the property to be beautiful and considered our villas magnificent!

While Tryall is famous for its 18-hole championship golf course, we also offer excellent tennis facilities and we have our own 1,000 yard private beach. Some of the activities to be enjoyed at the beach include hobie cat sailing, snorkeling, a water trampoline with a slide and soaker and paddle boarding. Other activities can be arranged by our concierge.

Tryall is not an all-inclusive villa resort and most of our guests tend to be multi-generational families who are looking for tranquility along with a few activities. During the week that you visited we had multiple activities including karaoke, scavenger hunt, movie night and a kids playground (complete with water slides, bounce about and a zipline). Additionally, we have complimentary tours such as bird-watching, short hikes and a coastal discovery tour. You may have missed out on some of these due to the fact that your group had its own planned activities.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the less than great service you experienced at the beach café. We will bring this to the attention of the food and beverage department and ensure that it is improved.

Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    35
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
196
56
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at Roundhouse for a wedding in March of 2014. The Tryall property is beautiful and the Roundhouse villa was gorgeous (especially considering it is on the less expensive end of the villas there). I also had a truly great experience with the staff who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. In a house of 12 guests we literally wanted for nothing as the staff seemed to preempt requests before we'd even had a chance to utter them. Really no complaints from my stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR & Marketing Co-ordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Kim,

We're thrilled that you enjoyed the property.
Roundhouse is a lovely villa and we are pleased that the staff members were able to exceed your expectations. We will be sure to let them know what a great job they did.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were at Tryall for a wedding. It's a pretty resort geared mainly towards golfers.

PROS:
-- As with most Caribbean resorts, the grounds are beautiful.
-- Right on the beach, and in March, there were few others there outside of our wedding party. No problem getting spots at the beach to lay out.
-- For the most part, the staff is helpful and ready to assist you, however they may be sometimes on "Jamaican time."
-- Food in the Beach Club is delicious. We did not have a bad meal there.
-- Our villa (Calypso) had a well maintained pool.
-- Usage of the charge cards and payments at end of your stay is helpful. The resort takes American dollars which is also helpful.
-- The wedding services provided that we attended were nothing short of gorgeous. Rehearsal dinner buffet, the wedding calypso band, and the set up for the wedding itself was beautiful. I was not part of the planning for it, so I do not know how much was created by the bride/groom, but as an attendee, I attribute this all to Tryall -- it was absolutely gorgeous.

CONS:
-- We stayed in Calypso, and have a feeling we got the short end of the stick villa-wise. Having visited other villas ours appeared basic and overly simple. Other larger villas and some smaller (Roundhouse, Sundance) seemed heads and shoulders nicer than ours. Our amenities and furnishings were also outdated in comparison to the other villas.
-- The bathroom was layout was frustrating in the villa - you couldn't use the sink without shutting the door.
-- The usage of the villa house staff is also confusing. We had a less-than-helpful Butler/ head of house, that made the whole ordeal uncomfortable. It seemed he was unhappy from the start and was even less happy when we let him know that there was no hot water in our villa. It seemed there was a hot water heater issue but there was little ability to communicate with him so we accepted the lukewarm-to-cold baths if we were not the first (of 8 people) to take a shower in the entire villa.
-- The on-site grocery price gouges like nothing I have ever seen. Coming from NYC and prepared for high prices, the cost for groceries was unacceptable. $6 for butter, $3 per apple. Etc. Considering there was not enough explanation as to eating options and we were forced many times back to this grocery store, we were not happy.

NEUTRAL:
-- I do not like the idea of the cooking staff. This could be a personal preference but it seemed that we were forced to use this service and our options for eating outside of it were not properly explained. It was not clear the costs for the staff to buy food, versus us using the grocery. They would do better providing a menu of options with costs associated for the in-villa meals.
-- Golf carts are a precarious way to get around, and when it rains, this is not very fun.
-- Free kayaks, the water trampoline and 1 paddleboard (for the whole resort?) were nice additions... but nothing was explained to us. Were there other excursion/ sporting options available that we were not aware of?

Room Tip: Do not choose Calypso. Go with an extra large group and stay in Sundance or Roundhouse or other more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR & Marketing Co-ordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We’re very pleased that you enjoyed Tryall’s grounds and the beach. We truly believe that we have a wonderful staff and we are pleased that you found them helpful.

We constantly aim to improve our services and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meals at the beach café and appreciated the usage of charge cards at reception.

Our Weddings & Events Coordinator Melissa Forbes and the Tryall team go above and beyond to ensure that all of our weddings are well executed. We are pleased that their efforts resulted in an “absolutely gorgeous” wedding!

Of course, we are disappointed that some features of our Club may not have exceeded your expectations.

The Tryall Club has three categories of Villas. The Villas are rated Premier, Deluxe and Superior; with Premier being the most modern and Superior providing more quaint villas with old-world charm. Sundance is a Premier Villa while Calypso is a Superior Villa.

When the Villas were being booked, the group leaders were provided with all the relevant information associated with the villas (including food costs) and they visited and viewed all of the villas. They subsequently booked and assigned villas based on affordability.

Those guests who booked directly through the club were given the relevant information by our reservations agents, with personal follow up pre-arrival calls. When guests arrive on property they are also given a Full Orientation by a member of our Guest Services team and at that time any queries will be answered.

The Tryall Market is an optional choice for shoppers and many guests from the group stopped in town to purchase food before they arrived at the property.

We would like to thank you for sharing your review. We will utilize it to make our current offerings even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blooming Grove, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed in Jamaica many times, but never have I experienced anything like Pineapple House at Tryall Club. Our stay was so amazing, I am not certain where to begin. You enter the villa through a Welcome Gazebo with custom- cut mosaic tile. You are greeted by the staff with the signature drink - Pineapple Bliss. The interior decor is so welcoming and relaxing. Butler Sanford anticipates your every need. Chef Ansley prepared the most sumptuous meals, snacks and desserts. The laundry was expertly done daily. And Maxine, the housekeeper kept our rooms spectacular. She even braided my hair complimentary! The grounds are meticulous. We enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub both day and night. Every room opens to a veranda with mesmerizing views of the Caribbean Sea. The flowers and plants on the grounds are well manicured. I could go on and on. If dreams come true, I will come back again soon.

Room Tip: Pineapple House is a great choice for small families or a group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR & Marketing Co-ordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Here at Tryall, one of our biggest goals is to exceed guests' expectations, so we couldn't be more pleased that your stay was incomparable.

Pineapple House was recently renovated and we are sure the owners are as pleased as we are that you enjoyed the new layout.

We take pride in our staff and are happy that they made your stay so wonderful. We will pass on all your compliments!

At Tryall, we're sure dreams come true. That said, we can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is our second time to Tryall. Last year we stayed at Bumpers Nest. This year we stayed at Overlook Villa. The Villa is first class all around. The views are breathtaking from any where in and around the villa. The staff is meticulous in every detail. The standout of our stay was their new Chef, Dion. Dion came from the recently closed Ritz Carlton Hotel in Rose Hall. She can make anything taste and look fantastic. Her signature dish is a bread encrusted Red Snapper. It was divine. All of our meals were superb! Our group of six adults had varying likes and dislikes and she managed the menus to satisfy all. The golf course is a good test with some very good holes. The beach club is very nice and not busy. When we were at the beach, there was never more than 12 people there. We spent most of our time in our private pool or playing golf.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukeRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR/Marketing Coordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're so pleased that your second trip to Tryall was an enjoyable one! We agree that Overlook is a wonderful villa and we're glad you enjoyed golf and the beach. We are thrilled that Dion was able to excced your expectations and will be sure to give her your regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent four delightful nights at the Tryall at the end of January. Tryall is described as a Club and compared to hotels it is indeed a Club albeit one that is open to the public. Accommodations are either in condominiums or in villas. In both cases they come with staff. Condos get one staff member who cleans and can do some meal preparation, but the villas (members houses) come with a staff of four including a gardener, a cook, a laundress and an overall manager.

The Club property runs from the seashore to the surrounding hills, and you have a choice of being
waterside or having great views. All units come with a golf cart or carts to transport you around the property. The club has a wide range of activities available including a wonderful golf course, lots of tennis, a nice beach with water sports, pools at all the villas, dining, a commissary and a spa. Service is the byword of this facility and whatever you do the staff is not only friendly and helpful, but skillful as well. Given the Club like nature facilities are not crowded - the golf course, used for the Dunhill Cup for many years, does get some play, but members and residents have priority tee times until 9:00 AM.

This all comes at a price, but we thought it well worth it.

Room Tip: Your call on location, the condos are on the hillside, but the villas range across the property and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR/Marketing Coordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed the myriad amenities Tryall has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent is the highest rating I am able to select. Somehow, it just doesn't do justice to our just completed second visit for the Christmas/NewYear Holidays. We have stayed at other Villas at Tryall, and Rose Cottage is heads above the others for our family consisting of two grandparents, two married sons with spouses and three children each for a total of twelve guests. Add to that five nannies for the 6 children ranging in ages two to ten and you have a house full. Yet the layout, which is so carefully thought out provides privacy, and ample space for all of us to coexist to pursue our individual and group activities.
Two pools, exceptional views, tasteful furnishings, exquisite landscaping , large open lawn areas, huge dining and living areas all add to the wonderment of staying at the Villa.
Amenities aside, what truly makes this Villa excetional is the professional and warm staff that has been assembled.
From the chef to butler,to the housekeepers, to the laundress to the poolmen/ groundskeeper, they all have one goal-How can I make your stay more enjoyable and well.
That is why we consider Rose Cottage as our "Home away from Home" We look forward to going back again. It just can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAM166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R, PR/Marketing Coordinator at Tryall Club, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage last Christmas. We take pride in our nanny service and are glad that it met your needs. The staff at Rose Cottage are indeed exceptional and very pleased that they were able to surpass your expectations. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
23.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
24.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
64.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
110.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Property: Tryall Club
Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing