We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar Hill at Tryall... an wonderful Jamaica experience!”
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We just returned from Tryall a few days ago. The weather in Jamaica is apparently always in the mid 80's... it was a welcome change from the early December freeze of Maryland! I know I speak for my entire family when I say that it was our best family vacation ever. We returned refreshed and happy and we are already planning to return!

We had a wonderful time. We stayed at "Sugar Hill" which is one of Tryall's newest villas. It is perched up high up on the hillside with breathtaking views of the Caribbean. There were 15 of us and we had plenty of space. It is a fantastic property complete with an adjoining guest house, pool, Jacuzzi, gym and game room. Attention to detail in the furnishings and decoration was evident all over the villa. We found out that quite a few of the pieces were actually made by local artisans. The spectacular guest rooms were large and had comfortable beds. We have two small children that the Sugar Hill staff had made arrangements for even before we arrived.

The architecture at Sugar Hill is quintessential Jamaica: high ceilings with spacious gathering areas yet at the same time cozy and warm. At Sugar Hill there are large porches seemingly everywhere with stunning views of the Caribbean and you get the very pleasant feeling that the line between outside and inside of the house is somehow blurred. I will never forget how nice it was to leave the doors open and let the warm sea breezes blow through the entire house. We never had any problems with bugs, even at night!

The staff at Sugar Hill and around the Tryall Club were always very attentive and friendly. The house was kept immaculately clean despite having four young children running around. The food was fresh, tasty and satisfying and sometimes included local ingredients. Our chef was also able to provide vegetarian meals to my niece that she really seemed to enjoy. My wife is a gourmet cook and she was also favorably impressed and was always asking for the recipes! Having your laundry done for you every day by the staff was also a real treat and it allows you to pack very light even for a long stay. Our butler was very friendly and attentive and was available to help us with whatever we needed. After a few days we felt like the entire staff were part of our family! We felt pampered and cared for every step of the way. We all felt what I believe is so important on a vacation like this: you become so comfortable in your surroundings that it just “feels like home”.

We had the opportunity to tour a few other large villas at the resort. They are given by request on just a few days of the week and only on villas that are unoccupied. A guest relations specialist from Tryall accompanied us on the tour. I can honestly say that Sugar Hill was the most inviting and cozy of the properties we visited. After the tour, everyone said, "I'm so glad we are staying at Sugar Hill!"

The golf at Tryall is terrific. The views of the Caribbean are spectacular. The course is well-maintained. The greens are paced just right for the sometimes steeply sloped greens. Caddies are required and they can be very helpful in reading putts (but mostly they are great at finding your golf ball for you!) Tennis is also available and the facilities appeared to be top-notch and not crowded at all. The beach facilities were also a nice surprise... they have everything you could want available for the asking. The beach waiter kept us all happy too!

As I stated at the beginning, we have already decided to return because everyone had such a pleasant and relaxing time. It’s clear the management of Tryall and the staff at Sugar Hill are committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DJohn12402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2008

We booked Tradewinds Villa with Lisa Clarke of Jamaican Treasures, she was fantastic to deal with...extremely prompt responses and never made us feel like we were a bother! Lisa is always very accurate in her listings and advice, I have booked a few Jamaican villas through her in the past and she has always been amazing to work with. Tradewinds was so wonderful, we traveled with our extended family ages 4-74... with 3 teens! Everyone loved their stay, our second one at this particular villa. Tradewinds has a seaside private pool, beautiful seaside dining; private rocky beach and is short walking distance to Tryall's sandy beach, the house is lovely with 4.5 airconditioned bedrooms all with bathrooms ensuite, all kept spotlessly clean, perfect for our group of 9 people. It is so nice to travel light, knowing that your laundry will be done to perfection each day and returned to you folded, pressed and in perfect condition. What is always extremely important in a fully staffed Jamaican villa vacatiion is the staffF. The staff at Tradewinds is absolutely professional, always available, but never in the way. Gina deserves special mention as she is smart, kind and a wonderful hostess, she made us feel welcome and comfortable...which is sometimes difficult when you are worried about the whole idea of "staff". She did the job of taking care of 9 of us with such style and grace, she almost made it look easy...never flustered and always helpful. Tryall is immaculate and every person you come into contact with on property is friendly, kind and helpful. The teens could drive about the grounds on golf carts, touch base with those all important friends back home with the free internet service and computers in the airconditioned greathouse computer room, buy a snack for themselves at the commissary shop and even have a lunch alone at the beach side grill with their "charge cards" attached to our credit cards for payment at the end of the trip. It makes a world of difference for teens to have some sense of freedom while we know they are safe on the property. The new fitness room is wonderrful, with new and excellent machines and weights.... the sea view is spectacular. The nanny service was wonderful for our 4 year old, Marcia took him to the Hummingbird Kid's Club and played with him beautifully, we didn't use her services much since there were no other children in the Kid's Club during our stay, but the break for us (and him) was nice and only $4.50 per hour -- though I must admit I tipped almost 100% because it seemed like way too little to pay and she was so wonderful. We will be back at Tryall over and over again. I welcome any questions regarding Tradewinds or the villa vacation experience generally. We are huge fans. Many thanks to all of the lovely people at Tryall, but especially to Gina, Ray, Tina and Dudley who all made our family vacation absolutely magical.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank srayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We spent a week at Tryall Club for spring break and had a wondefully relaxing time at Little Palm, our 2-bedroom villa with pool. The villa was sweet and comfortable, plenty big enough for our family of 5. It is not new, but nicely maintained and cheerily decorated. The shaded verandah and patio surrounded the large pool on three sides, so that it was very easy for an adult to lounge while watching the kids play in the water. The villa felt far more spacious than a hotel room or suite, and the gardens and lawn at Little Palm were lush.

We could not see the ocean from the villa. It was perhaps 50 yards away on the other side of the very low traffic beachfront road (a private resort road, not public; most vehicles passing by were golf carts). The swimming beach was less than 5 minutes' stroll from the villa.

The villa had a cook, housekeeper, laundress and gardener, and two golf carts for our use. The cook, in particular, was a lovely lady. Her food was fairly simple, but satisfying if not fancy, and the kids loved the desserts every night. What absolutely made the trip for me was the nanny provided by Tryall Club upon our request. I thought we'd get a babysitter for an evening or two, but Marcia took care of our baby all day plus any night that we wanted to go out. She also kept an eye on the two older children as needed. The babysitting fee rate is $4.50/hr for the first child, plus $1.00/hr for each additional child. The $400 we spent on her services allowed us to have a real vacation, i.e., one where the parents get to relax!

Renting a villa at Tryall Club is definitely the way to go. We can't wait to return next year and try one of the larger villas up on Copperwood Ridge, next to the Great House. All of these houses have pools plus a wonderful view over the golf course to the ocean. (I would probably not recommend staying in the Great House suites as a family. There is little going on at the Great House during the day and the common pool is not particularly large or exciting. Our family enjoyed having our own pool, all the spread-out space and yard of the villa and being close to the beach.)

The Great House is where to go have a drink and look out from the high peak to an amazing view. The restaurant is okay, but the fine dining restaurant at Round Hill resort (10 minutes by taxi)was better.

Bring lots of U.S. cash to pay the household staff, nanny, etc. Tryall Club charges 15% service fee to provide cash through a charge to your credit card with a limit of $200/day.

We have stayed at many luxury resorts over the years, as a couple and as a family. Our stay at Tryall Club was the finest, most pleasurable trip as a family we've every had.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoustonTXFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We rented a villa (Seafore at Tryall) with 2 other couples. We truly had a great week. Tryall is kept immaculate. The golf course and beaches were absolutely beautiful.

We loved our house and the staff. The food was good at the home but we also enjoyed the Wed. night beach buffet with live music.

The only negative about the house is whoever designed the pool - designed it backwards. The pool was almost 7 feet deep as soon as you walked down the stairs-- while the shallow end was at the back of the pool. A little challenging for us since we all had young infants.

I would definitely recommend Tryall if you are looking for a relaxing week -- where you don't have to fight for chairs at a hotel pool or be bothered with finding restaurants every meal. It was a very relaxing vacation even with all of the kids.

I would definitely recommend having Tryall arrange pick up and drop off at the airport. It made life so much easier. They were on-time both coming and going. I also would recommend that if you are staying in the house with other couples that you each get golf carts - so you won't feel trapped to the house.

It was an amazing week away.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fly_high5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

A group of 8 of us just returned from a week at Tryall. We stayed at a private villa named Ma Moura. Our group consisted of 4 married couples in our 40s. All of are active golfers and tennis players.

The villa was terrific- very clean and comfortable. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent- nothing fancy but fresh and well prepared.

Ma Moura sits up on a hill overlooking the golf course with the ocean in the distance. A truly spectacular setting.

We played golf almost everyday. The course is terrific- a beautiful setting. Several of the holes are right by the beach.

None of us are very good golfers and several of us were true beginners. We all had a great time on the course- it is wide open on most holes but the wind and very fast greens make it difficult enough for anyone.

The course requires you to take caddies which is a lot of fun. My wife and others really benefitted from the caddy's "lessons" on the course.

The tennis facility is top notch. You are required to use a ball boy and ball boys will join your game if needed.

We hardly ventured off the property- there was no need to.

In summary, I highly recommend Tryall and the Ma Moura villa- especially for golfers and tennis players.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Baltimore1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Fabulous, fabulous fabulous...

The place is amazing, it's like paradise. The staff was very professional and yet friendly. Bernard, Rohan, Jean and the chef Robert did everything to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. These guys were amazing.

2 waterfall pools going down the bedroom window, the rooms, the bathrooms were beautiful. The decor was very tasteful.
Food was unbelievable. Lots of laughter and fun.

If you have money to enjoy true vacation, this is the place to go. Every detail was well thought and arranged.
I highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank amedzorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We just completed a 6 night stay at Seafore at the Tryall Club in Jamaica and it exceeded or expectations. We were looking into all-inclusives and this blew those away and was less money..with a staff of 4!

Here's what's great:
-The staff is truly wonderful (Naomi, the cook, Joan the housekeeper and server, Doreen did the laundry, and Deval and Ralph covered the grounds/pool)-Not having to lift a finger and getting home-cooked meals was a true vacation for me. They even cut the kids' food! Naomi stays there all of the time but never is in the way. You don't even know she is there but she is available if you need her or have any questions. Oh, I forgot...being greated with rum punch, cold towells, and fruit punch for the kids made us feel special.

-The Seafore was perfect for our family. The kids loved the pool and the golf cart and we loved the slow pace and relaxed setting. The kids also loved exploring the grounds around the house. They found snails, small lizards, flowers, a few golf balls, etc. Deval got us a coconut and cut it open so we could drink the water. It was so peaceful and we could just get back to nature and relaxation in the privacy of our "own home".

-The Tryall Club appeared almost empty to us. We were very surprised. This was good for us because we were one of only a few people on the beach and our Friday night dinner at the Great House was empty when we ate (around 5:00) so we were literally the only ones there and of course got great service! I recommend the bananas Flambe! Wow!

-Naomi's cooking! She has been at Seafore for 30 years and she cooked us great meals like fish, lasagna (really good!), nice light salads and sandwiches for lunch, jerk pork, baked chicken, etc. EAch with fresh fruit juices. We loved the freshly squeezed orange juice every morning. And, what's great is she makes separate meals for the kids if you want and will cook those meals at different times if you want (if they eat earlier, etc.).

-The free Kyaking! My husband liked to kyak at the beach and had the kyaks and beach all to himself!

-We felt very safe at the Tryall club. When you get here you will see that this is truly an elite golf resort and security is always patrolling the grounds. We always felt safe.

Tips/things to watch out for:
-When you get there there are people who come to your villa to sell you things. We read on Trip Advisor to say NO THANKS to Naomi and we did, and are glad we did. So, Just Say NO to the vendors!

-WATCH THE SLIPPERY FLOORS WITH KIDS! These were new to our active boys and they fell when they first got here.

-You can negotiate the price for your driver. We went to Negril one day and spent the day at Margarittaville on the beach. We then went to Rick's to watch the sunset (never saw it because it was cloudy) but that was a day trip worth taking! It was beautiful there. We paid $100 US for driver for the day.

-We recommend eating at the Great House for the Friday night seafood buffet. The food is really good. But if you are looking for some action, it was dead most of the time there. So, good food, but not many people as they are in their villas. Great for families who want something different and may not want the action.

-Be advised that this is their rainy season so you get great weather in the morning with some rain every day in the afternoon. Worked well with kids because we had lunch and took naps when it rained. But, if you are looking for all day sun, this isn't the time.

-The babysitter is Doreen's daughter Katie who is very nice. She was great with our kids. But they did try to charge us double when she was there to watch our youngest son at the kids club (kids 5 and over are free and our other is 6 years old and was free). She tried to dispute that Katie was watching both, but Katie was required to be there with Jay only so that was a bit awkward. You just need to stick with what's right and we discussed this with Naomi and we were not charged for two kids, just the one. We were charged $4.50 an hour for a babysitter. There was no daily rate for us.

-Jamaicans are very nice but some really do try to squeeze every dime out of you, So, just be aware and don't "over trust". Even the cab ride we were charged more. It should be around $70 round trip plus tip, but we were charged $40 or $45 on the way to Seafore, but disputed and payed $40 including tip.

-Since it rains daily, the mosquitos are bad in the evening. Bring bug spray and ask the staff to put the mosquito stuff out so the bugs won't be so bad.

-The master bedroom that opens to the pool also faces the spotlight by the pool that shines all night. We switched rooms after the first night and that was no problem. The staff was very helpful.

-Don't bring lots of clothes. Since they are washed and you get them back on average every two days, and since there isn't much going on at the Great House, there's no need to dress up or take lots of clothes. We spent 90% of our time in bathing suits and comfy clothes and dressed up one night and that was fine. Even in Negril it's totally casual, so no need to pack extra stuff.

-Seafore is the least expensive villa. It's one of the oldest but they care so well for the villa that it doesn't show. So, if you want a villa vacation with the staff and don't want to pay a fortune, stay at the Seafore. It's also very kid friendly...except for the floors! The pool is also pretty deep. The steps go right into the 7 ft. So, if you have really small kids who can't swim, it's not as great.

-The "fountain" by the pool only works if you unplug the pool pump (which you should have on at all times), so that sounds nice but isn't really a feature.

This was truly the best vacation I ever had. The staff, the villa, the resort, the calmness, the quality, the beauty, and the food made this worth every penny.

Stayed: July 2007
10  Thank TheJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
64.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,348 reviews
110.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
515 reviews
23.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
258 reviews
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
12.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: £329 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing