We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem - relaxing, tastefully decorated, delicious breakfast”
Review of Addo African Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Addo African Home
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A gem - relaxing, tastefully decorated, delicious breakfast”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Went there on recommendation of a S. African friend and we were delighted. Stayed in one of the Rondevals which was clean, nicely decorated in theme with the area. The main guest house is very nice - living room, breakfast room. I peeked in one of the family rooms and it was wonderfully outfitted with bunk bed, queen bed and easy chairs including a child size. Enjoyed the hammock (a bit of a nap) and had breakfast there and dinner both nights at the organic restaurant next door (with Wifi and the "talking menu" - make reservations if you can). Very convenient to Addo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macs157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    36
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The place is very nice in the forest, the double rooms are really pretty in African style and decorated with a lot of love. A nice braai area outside and good breakfast.
Owners were friendly but more in a guesthouse than in a backpackers way.
There were not many people there during our stay so there was not a lot going on in the evenings. It's more a place to relax than to socialise and party that much, but of course it always depends on the other guests.

Room Tip: The huds outside are great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

After a long day's driving, this is certainly a welcome oasis! Ronnie made us feel welcome in no time. The communial cooking facility is fully equipped and spacious. Just wash up and put away as you found it! It is conveniently situated +- 10km away from the main gate at Addo Elephant Park! Much easier on the pocket! See you next year again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mufasa1_zn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grabouw, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our family of 4, which includes two small children, were made to feel right at home by Daniel and his team. We had a lovely large, clean and comfortable family room in the main guesthouse and made use of the communal kitchen (well kitted out for cooking) and lounge (nice and cosy with DSTV!) We stayed for three nights but could easily have stayed longer. There are hammocks to snooze in in the garden and there is a wonderful organic restaurant right next door (although it was slightly pricy and was viewed as a treat). It is just 5 mins drive from Addo Elephant Main Park Gate and within easy reach of PE and Sundays River. We will definitely recommend to friends and family and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We arrived late and thought we booked a hostel.
Once we were inside we were suprised how comfi and clean this hotel/hostel was. Even our 4 yr old son was happy and loved the shower and lollies in the room.
So this is not a ordinary hostel, but feels more like a resort, lots of different accomodation from a double room till rondawels. And only a few kms from the gate Addo!
The friendly owners have really paid attention to details to make sure that their guests feel comfy at their place. Shame we only could stay for 1 night!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room, but they have also tents and rondawels. Just asked a the reception and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October 2011 and it was one of the best places we stayed at on out trip to SA. Our rondavel was absolutely lovely, very clean and cosy. The staff were friendly and we felt very safe there.
Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyRTW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were so happy we booked to stay at Aardvark, it is absolutely lovely. Our Rondavel was the most comfortable and inviting of any we stayed at in SA so would highly recommend booking one. Having access to the main lodge was also great as its more like a boutique hotel than a hostel. The owner Daniel was also so helpful and hospitable and he makes great Guava jam!

The garden with hammocks and comfy chairs was so nice to come back to each evening. We also loved the organic restaurant next door which we ate at each evening, it was a huge bonus that we did have to drive anywhere to eat.

We still can't believe what great value this place is. If you are visiting Addo then definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahvross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
0.9 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo African Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo African Home

Property: Addo African Home
Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Addo African Home 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering accommodation offering the discerning budget traveller a comfortable and sociable stay. Stay in our en-suite rooms in the main house or our traditional thatched en-suite rondawels or dorm rooms. Relax in our stylish lounge or enjoy refreshments on our deck outside. Prepare your meals in the well-equipped communal kitchen or enjoy our outdoor braai facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Addo African Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing