We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed and breakfast around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Addo African Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Addo African Home
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bed and breakfast around”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay over in no.1 rondavel. Hot shower to wash off the cold winter bite. Warm bedding and woke up with birds calling early in the morning. Beautiful surrounds. Well worth it and comes highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sarelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    36
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We came through with 6 of us to go to a near by meeting and fun function. We stayed in the tented dorms which were very comfortable and worked a treat for us. The hostel itself is very well organised, modern, eco-friendly and clean. We all enjoyed our stay and recommend it without hesitation. Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: Tented dorms good if you are dorm peeps. Rondavels also excellent value if you are looking for nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I would return without hesitation. Very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are clean, beds are comfy and bathrooms first class. They have an awesome deck to watch the sun go down. They make your stay very welcoming by explaining the ins and outs of their establishment. They could brush up on some local knowledge about the Addo elephant park. But a quick trip to the main gate and all your questions will be answered. Free wifi with a good speed means they keeping up to international standards. All in all a fantastic stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 107Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The rooms are decorated with African theme. It’s clean, quiet and has all the amenities you need. Wi-fi is only in common areas but if you get cottage #1 (which is where I stayed), you get a week wifi signal that’s good for checking emails. Breakfast is R50 which sounded a bit expensive for “continental breakfast” when the manager told me about it but it’s nothing like the low quality continental breakfast you get in US. It includes yoghurt, muesli, orange juice, homemade bread and jam, cheese and everything is delicious. The town of Addo itself doesn’t have much to see so this guesthouse is a great choice if you are going to the Addo park. You can just stay here and relax at their nice common areas at night and go to the park in the morning after having breakfast here. The owners of this guesthouse are very sweet people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We almost stayed at another backpackers just down the road; so glad we didn't. This one was so much better. Very comfortable and clean accommodation. Rondavels are lovely - would definitely recommend staying in one for a bit of budget luxury.

Room Tip: Go for a rondavel if you're a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubbytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Aardvark a few weeks ago and were accommodated in one of the rondawels. It was very comfortable, the staff were great, and Hazel's organic restaurant next door made delicious food. Good for vegetarians too. As a backpacker owner myself (Amapondo, Port St Johns), its always great to be so looked after.

Thanks to Daniel and all the great staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amapondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked a dormitory for 9 people and it was great. When we arrived the owner introduced himself and showed us the entire premises. The room and bathroom were clean and it the location was great. Next to the hostel is a restaurant which is serving great food and has a lovely campfire area where we spend the night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
0.9 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#9 of 22 in Addo
104 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 22 in Addo
276 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
0.9 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo African Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo African Home

Property: Addo African Home
Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Addo African Home 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering accommodation offering the discerning budget traveller a comfortable and sociable stay. Stay in our en-suite rooms in the main house or our traditional thatched en-suite rondawels or dorm rooms. Relax in our stylish lounge or enjoy refreshments on our deck outside. Prepare your meals in the well-equipped communal kitchen or enjoy our outdoor braai facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Addo African Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing