We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Avoca River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avoca River Cabins
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Avoca River Cabins near Addo Elephant National Park to visit the park. But the surroundings of the accommodation greatly surprised us and proved to be worth at least another day of staying in the accommodation. We stayed in the castle with four people and it was a bit old fashioned but very well maintained and very affordable (550 Rand for 4 persons). The other cottages and chalets however look even better and can be highly recommended just by view from the outside.

Overall this is a very very very nice accommodation worth the stay when your on your way to the garden route from the Eastern Coast or when visiting the Addo Elephant National Park (we saw 3 lions from a few feet distance and a herd of almost 200 elephants) or just when you want to get away from the busy life wherever. We haven't experienced the dining or breakfast but the facilities looked great so that was very promising.

Definitely a GO!

Room Tip: The castle is affordable and okay but the other riverside cottages look even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    149
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
244
122
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Conveniently located near to Addo Elephant National Park and close to a variety of restaurants and eateries if you don't intend on doing self-catering.

The accommodation located alongside the river gave us a wonderful panoramic view of the surrounding property. Highlight of our stay was taking a leisurely stroll along the river and back through the roses and garden.

The outdoor kitchen was very well equipped, but take note that it is entirely self-catering (unless you make prior arrangements). A lovely full breakfast was included in our stay though at the main lodge where they have beautiful valley views and a generous swimming pool and very well maintained gardens. Bath towels and toiletries were provided upon our arrival.

A lot of attention has gone into the property and it is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

Highly recommended. I would've preferred to stay a second or third night.

This is the ideal spot for serenity and for getting away from it all.

Do yourself a favour and explore this beautiful property. There are surprises everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for their newer rooms. They were finishing off a brand new wing in October 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariahout, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

When we arrived there it wasn't fully booked. We could choose out of different accommodations for the same rate. We got a river cabin, very beautifull. We liked it so much that we've decided to stay another night. Also Addo is a great place to stay, go to the Cheetah Breeding Camp and Addo Elephant Park.

The owners of Avoca are really friendly and helpfull, and still expanding there accommodations....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Such a lovely setting! We stayed in "Unlce Townie's" bungalow, with gorgeous views over the Sundays River and out to the Zuurberg Mountains. The food was home cooked and delicious, and served in the beautiful main house. We loved the walk each morning in the crisp SA winter's air, from the bungalow through the orange groves and past the resident dassie to a hearty breakfast. The owners and manager were superb and seemed really keen to ensure that our stay was faultless. We would return like a shot!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Good luck in finding such a beautiful setting so close to Addo Elephant Park at such great value. Booked at the last minute for the tree houses, unfortunately these were fully booked, but we were offered a great alternative - one of the river cottages. We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful setting - large green lawn, great play area for kids and even canoes for the energetic! We took a long walk through the rows of orange and lemon trees - even picked up a few lemons for tea. Great positive is the close proximity to the Addo Elephant Park and the very affordable rates - hope they keep it like this. The only negative is that the neighbors on the other side of the river had a party from early afternoon to early morning - with loud music blaring away. We chose to ignore this and enjoy the beauty around us!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed for one night in one of the 'mud huts' on the river side and the second night in the 'b&b' shared house at the top of the hill. Both nights were unique, extremely comfortable and we had all we needed for a top nights stay. Dave and Judy were very helpful and their farm is absolutely beautiful. Would recommend this to anyone....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

One of the best places we found in SA. Nice rooms and cottages on the riverside on a beautiful farm area. The owners are very lovely, sharing their house (internet) and swimming-pool with their guests and they are very helpful and friendly as well. One can swim in the river or try a kanu for free and relax in the gardens, surrounded by beautiful flowers. It´s only about a 20 min. to Addo. A very recommented spot to stay in this area!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
7.1 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#10 of 21 in Addo
108 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
5.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
0.4 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#7 of 21 in Addo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca River Cabins

Property: Avoca River Cabins
Address: PO Box Summerville, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dave and Judy welcome you to Avoca River Cabins. Avoca, meaning "the meeting of the water," is situated in the beautiful Sundays River Valley. This citrus farm has self-catering Riverside chalets, a Tree House and Mud Huts in tranquil surroundings. We are 20 minutes from the Addo Elephant National Park. Take a plunge into the river, do some fishing, or paddle on a canoe. Ideal for nature lovers and birdwatchers! Children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avoca River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing