We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Avoca River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avoca River Cabins
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tree Tops overlooking the Sundays River and the fruit fields. We arrived later than expected, after sunset. Our hosts, Dave & Judy, gave us a very warm welcome and invited the four of us to join them for dinner. We were made feel most welcome during our short stay. The accommodation and meals were excellent and the location gives one a real taste of Africa!

We would have no hestitation in recommending Avoca River Cabins as a place to stay. We certaintly look forward to having a longer stay sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

A comfortable, beautiful spot looking over the Sunday's river. The newly built river cabin rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The kitchen for self catering was a bit small and not well supplied with utensils. Would definitely recommend for a couple days of peace.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Izzit-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Avoca River Cabins near Addo Elephant National Park to visit the park. But the surroundings of the accommodation greatly surprised us and proved to be worth at least another day of staying in the accommodation. We stayed in the castle with four people and it was a bit old fashioned but very well maintained and very affordable (550 Rand for 4 persons). The other cottages and chalets however look even better and can be highly recommended just by view from the outside.

Overall this is a very very very nice accommodation worth the stay when your on your way to the garden route from the Eastern Coast or when visiting the Addo Elephant National Park (we saw 3 lions from a few feet distance and a herd of almost 200 elephants) or just when you want to get away from the busy life wherever. We haven't experienced the dining or breakfast but the facilities looked great so that was very promising.

Definitely a GO!

Room Tip: The castle is affordable and okay but the other riverside cottages look even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSMeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Conveniently located near to Addo Elephant National Park and close to a variety of restaurants and eateries if you don't intend on doing self-catering.

The accommodation located alongside the river gave us a wonderful panoramic view of the surrounding property. Highlight of our stay was taking a leisurely stroll along the river and back through the roses and garden.

The outdoor kitchen was very well equipped, but take note that it is entirely self-catering (unless you make prior arrangements). A lovely full breakfast was included in our stay though at the main lodge where they have beautiful valley views and a generous swimming pool and very well maintained gardens. Bath towels and toiletries were provided upon our arrival.

A lot of attention has gone into the property and it is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

Highly recommended. I would've preferred to stay a second or third night.

This is the ideal spot for serenity and for getting away from it all.

Do yourself a favour and explore this beautiful property. There are surprises everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for their newer rooms. They were finishing off a brand new wing in October 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

When we arrived there it wasn't fully booked. We could choose out of different accommodations for the same rate. We got a river cabin, very beautifull. We liked it so much that we've decided to stay another night. Also Addo is a great place to stay, go to the Cheetah Breeding Camp and Addo Elephant Park.

The owners of Avoca are really friendly and helpfull, and still expanding there accommodations....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Such a lovely setting! We stayed in "Unlce Townie's" bungalow, with gorgeous views over the Sundays River and out to the Zuurberg Mountains. The food was home cooked and delicious, and served in the beautiful main house. We loved the walk each morning in the crisp SA winter's air, from the bungalow through the orange groves and past the resident dassie to a hearty breakfast. The owners and manager were superb and seemed really keen to ensure that our stay was faultless. We would return like a shot!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Good luck in finding such a beautiful setting so close to Addo Elephant Park at such great value. Booked at the last minute for the tree houses, unfortunately these were fully booked, but we were offered a great alternative - one of the river cottages. We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful setting - large green lawn, great play area for kids and even canoes for the energetic! We took a long walk through the rows of orange and lemon trees - even picked up a few lemons for tea. Great positive is the close proximity to the Addo Elephant Park and the very affordable rates - hope they keep it like this. The only negative is that the neighbors on the other side of the river had a party from early afternoon to early morning - with loud music blaring away. We chose to ignore this and enjoy the beauty around us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
7.1 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#5 of 11 in Addo
172 reviews
9.3 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
511 reviews
5.9 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#6 of 23 in Addo
232 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
5.2 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca River Cabins

Address: PO Box Summerville, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range: £32 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dave and Judy welcome you to Avoca River Cabins. Avoca, meaning "the meeting of the water," is situated in the beautiful Sundays River Valley. This citrus farm has self-catering Riverside chalets, a Tree House and Mud Huts in tranquil surroundings. We are 20 minutes from the Addo Elephant National Park. Take a plunge into the river, do some fishing, or paddle on a canoe. Ideal for nature lovers and birdwatchers! Children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avoca River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing