We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avoca River Cabins
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$54
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$99
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
US$54
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Humewood Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere by Mantis(Port Elizabeth)
US$144
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
330
186
36
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
186
36
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parksemi detachedswimming poolbeautiful farmbraai areaself cateringplay areashared kitchenbeautiful placea lovely staylonger stayenjoyed our staythe main housebird lifewi ficitrus treesspent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tree Tops overlooking the Sundays River and the fruit fields. We arrived later than expected, after sunset. Our hosts, Dave & Judy, gave us a very warm welcome and invited the four of us to join them for dinner. We were made feel most welcome during our short stay. The accommodation and meals were excellent and the location gives one a real taste of Africa!

We would have no hestitation in recommending Avoca River Cabins as a place to stay. We certaintly look forward to having a longer stay sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A comfortable, beautiful spot looking over the Sunday's river. The newly built river cabin rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The kitchen for self catering was a bit small and not well supplied with utensils. Would definitely recommend for a couple days of peace.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Izzit-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Avoca River Cabins near Addo Elephant National Park to visit the park. But the surroundings of the accommodation greatly surprised us and proved to be worth at least another day of staying in the accommodation. We stayed in the castle with four people and it was a bit old fashioned but very well maintained and very affordable (550 Rand for 4 persons). The other cottages and chalets however look even better and can be highly recommended just by view from the outside.

Overall this is a very very very nice accommodation worth the stay when your on your way to the garden route from the Eastern Coast or when visiting the Addo Elephant National Park (we saw 3 lions from a few feet distance and a herd of almost 200 elephants) or just when you want to get away from the busy life wherever. We haven't experienced the dining or breakfast but the facilities looked great so that was very promising.

Definitely a GO!

Room Tip: The castle is affordable and okay but the other riverside cottages look even better!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSMeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Conveniently located near to Addo Elephant National Park and close to a variety of restaurants and eateries if you don't intend on doing self-catering.

The accommodation located alongside the river gave us a wonderful panoramic view of the surrounding property. Highlight of our stay was taking a leisurely stroll along the river and back through the roses and garden.

The outdoor kitchen was very well equipped, but take note that it is entirely self-catering (unless you make prior arrangements). A lovely full breakfast was included in our stay though at the main lodge where they have beautiful valley views and a generous swimming pool and very well maintained gardens. Bath towels and toiletries were provided upon our arrival.

A lot of attention has gone into the property and it is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

Highly recommended. I would've preferred to stay a second or third night.

This is the ideal spot for serenity and for getting away from it all.

Do yourself a favour and explore this beautiful property. There are surprises everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for their newer rooms. They were finishing off a brand new wing in October 2012.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

When we arrived there it wasn't fully booked. We could choose out of different accommodations for the same rate. We got a river cabin, very beautifull. We liked it so much that we've decided to stay another night. Also Addo is a great place to stay, go to the Cheetah Breeding Camp and Addo Elephant Park.

The owners of Avoca are really friendly and helpfull, and still expanding there accommodations....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews