We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just nature”
Review of Avoca River Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avoca River Cabins
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just nature”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

When we arrived there we had a warm welcoming letting us know everything we had to know about the place. They also have canoes free for usage. The appartments are spacious and in good shape.The whole farm is really beautiful and right next to the river. The internet connection at the main building was quite poor. The Addo Elephant Park is only 20 km away.
All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JBB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    151
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
248
123
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were greeted professionally and friendly.The cabin was really nice and cosy,would have loved to stay longer to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere. Close proximity to Addo. Loved the verandah. Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bevan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very relaxing getaway and a great stop-off on the way to Addo. We all wish we could have spent a little longer, which would have given us the opportunity to explore the area more. Perhaps next time in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chezsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Everything was as we would have wanted it. The canoes were a bit dicey one sank and wet the occupants. I left a jacket in the cupboard rang the afternoon we arrived home but have not heard if it was found. Would recommend Avoca and would return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely place, rian was very helpful and friendly. Wish we had had more time to spend there. The only problem we had was with the kitchen facilities. We came prepared with our own food but had difficulty cooking it with the equipment given. Other than that, everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank annaM1313XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The scenery, dugout and Mud Hut was beautiful and nice. However we didn't like the fact that the shower/bathroom was unlockable and that the kitchen was not clean. We washed the dishes before using them, as we didn't like the hygiene.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marjanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very impresive warm welcome at Avoca River Cabins.
The rooms is very neat.
Everything you need is there (Braai equipnent wood ,Bedding, Towels and household utensils ).
You relax at the braai with the sound of frogs at kniht. There is a river there where the kids can fish and canoe. In the morning you lie in bed and listen to the wild birds.There is swings and a swimming pool there. You have to go there to exsperience it yourself. I will recommend Avoca to any one that needs the rest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank crazylady1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
7.1 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
111 reviews
7.2 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 12 in Addo
150 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
4.1 mi away
Gerald's Gift Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca River Cabins

Property: Avoca River Cabins
Address: PO Box Summerville, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca River Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dave and Judy welcome you to Avoca River Cabins. Avoca, meaning "the meeting of the water," is situated in the beautiful Sundays River Valley. This citrus farm has self-catering Riverside chalets, a Tree House and Mud Huts in tranquil surroundings. We are 20 minutes from the Addo Elephant National Park. Take a plunge into the river, do some fishing, or paddle on a canoe. Ideal for nature lovers and birdwatchers! Children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avoca River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing