We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp Figtree
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Humewood Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere by Mantis(Port Elizabeth)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
417
86
28
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
86
28
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszuurberg mountainshot waterluxury tentsfig treestunning viewsaddo elephant parkon stiltsamazing locationcolonial stylefamily suiteenjoy the viewdirt roadother gueststhe main lodgeperfect stayprivate poolout of this world
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked this place last minute and were very fortunate to be offered two nights at Camp Figtree. We took the advice from the Lonely planet and just hoped it would be good. In fact it was excellent. The road up to Figtrree should not be rushed in a 2 wheel drive as there are mnay humps and you could losr your exhaust. We were lucky as Mike was there to meet us so we followed him. the rooms are great and the views spectacular. the food was exceptional and the service from Gift, Mike and the chef were exemplary. Wish we had longer. we doid the game drive with Mike from the lodge and even though it was a bit pricey it was well worth it. I would not hesitate to go again for all of the above mentioned things excellent stay. thank you

Room Tip: go for the suite no 7. enormous, funky shower and wonderful views
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinksBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in January. Magical. Lovely team who run the hotel. Super food with very well planned evening meals and simple pleasant breakfasts. Beautiful rooms. Lots to do in the area. Splendid views. Certainly everything we hoped for. The vision the owners have brought to life is just perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheltenham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived on a grey day from Knysna and after a longish drive really appreciated a friendly welcome and a cold beer. Some might find the 14km drive along a bumpy gravel road a pain but believe me it's well worth it, the views are incredible.
The staff were all very friendly and we really appreciated the late lunch the rustled up for us. We were in the Boardwalk suite and the in laws were in the luxury suite. Our room was amazing and the lux room just ridiculous!
Mike the manager/Ranger took us to Addo in the camps Landie and we had an amazing time seeing loads of Ellies and enjoying his broad knowledge of the surrounding flora and fauna.
We were really impressed with the beautifully prepared 3 course dinner and lovely breakfast.

We'll definitely be back as 1 night isn't enough, we really need to spend a day lying in the pool and enjoying the views.

Room Tip: Luxury boardwalk suite as it not that much more and is just amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zing75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My family of six had an incredible three days here. An incredible view, great food, incredibly friendly staff and we immensely enjoyed the educational walk and safari lead by the Camp guru, Mike. Old colonial feel, great location. Close to Addo National Elephant park which was great. Child-friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issy95_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This very special guest house absolutely took our breath away. It must be one of the best locations for any hotel in the world. And the old colonial feel of the place adds to the feeling of an old outpost from many years ago. We were lucky enough to bag the family suite - even though it was only for my husband and I! With views both North and South and our own private swimming pool, a drawing room, bathroom, separate shower room and 2 small extra bedrooms, dinner and breakfast included it has to be the best value around. Our grown up sons had a fabulous room too with small extra room, separate Loo and bath/shower room, all worked excellently with masses of hot water (albeit brackish but who cares about that?) and the lack of air conditioning was simply not a problem - we all opened the windows and nobody came in!
The open terrace with its comfortable armchairs and coffee tables fashioned from old camp beds was the most charming we saw in South Africa. The swimming pool almost hanging over the hill with shady terrace and look out post was beyond stunning.
The staff bent over backwards to help and served a delicious dinner around the fire. The stars and birdlife were wonderful too. We were certainly warned about the lack of electricty after 10pm but funnily enough it didn't happen and we were asleep by 10.30 so didn't know about it if it had!
The drive up was absolutely fine in a normal car, don't be put off. OK so no wifi but thats part of the charm.
Everyone was delightful and helpful - nobody seemed to be in charge......it didn't seem to matter to us but perhaps might to others.
Would certainly recommend it 100% to everyone. Fabulous.

Room Tip: Go for the big suite - its hardly more expensive!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews