We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable stay, Africa at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp Figtree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camp Figtree
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An unforgettable stay, Africa at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

After a 11km drive along a dirt track road, Camp Figtree certainly didn't disappoint. Located on the top of the Zurberg Mountains overlooking beautiful scenery, Figtree is the definition of remoteness and tranquillity. The staff were only to willing to help and the picnic walk with Alan is a memory we will never forget. After an informative walk around the bush, to come across a picnic table laid out on the edge of a mountain, complete with fresh food and chilled wine to drink was an awe inspiring moment, one in which I would wholeheartedly recommend! The rooms were spacious and luxurious, our room (room 7) was the most private and overlooked the beauty of the surrounding mountains. Our time at Figtree will stay with us forever, thank you!

Room Tip: Room 7 is arguably the best located, however whatever you get i'm sure would provide the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_C7472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    73
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
260
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilassar de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Camp Fig Tree is located at a very covenient distance from the outstanding NP Addo Elephant Park. Though it has a long road to get there (even themselves joke on that with some funny sings) the place pays the efforts because it is on a top of a hill. The hotel is beautifuly decorated in an English Colonial style. Rooms were spacious and with heart-breaking scenic views. Staff was very, very, friendly, helpful and always there to make our stay pleasant. The food was enjoyable (we had a lovely kudu entrecot) with an extensive selection of SA wines. We stayed just one night but we also went for a short hike the next day with a local guide from the staff who introduced us to the local wildlife. Breakfast is also outstanding. In this 24 days holidays in southern africa, the only place where I've been able to drink a proper orange juice. The meals were copious and varied.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

An excellent stay at the high end of budget/low end of luxury - in other words, affordable/great value choice for beautiful site, wonderful rooms, friendly helpful staff, easy access to the Addo park. A great choice! The food is good; the local orange juice at breakfast is indeed very good and copious! The game drive is great - lots of elephants, zebras, warthogs, kudu, jackals, and other critters, and on the second day we did in fact see a lion, lording lazily over a kudu kill!
The drive up from Port Elizabeth is not much of a problem, though you do need a bit of experience with off-roading to cover the final 11 km up to the lodge (though with a compact city car np).
Note: there are amenities missing by choice here: electricity goes off at 10 pm, so you need to get on the rhythm of up with the sun, to bed after dinner and a nightcap. No TV and so forth; in fact no wifi we could get … No minibar in room. I mention all this not because I care about these missing amenities. It's all part of the "colonial" lodge experience. Perhaps more of a "luxury" lodge would have all this, but I hope not. Watching tv a such a place seems rather muddle-headed to me!
Views are stunning; facilities are lovely in the colonial camp (intended pun) sort of way; excellent choice.

Room Tip: We booked a luxury tent but for some reason that fell through… We never did see if they live up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The only problem with our visit to Camp Figtree was that it was too short. It was a wonderful place to visit and relax at. The rooms were wonderful, the food exceptional ( the orange juice was the best I have ever had) and the staff very accommodating. I would highly recommend it to any travelers....especially with children

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMartin284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very scenic and beautiful location. Very friendly staff and helpful with any problems that might arise. Wind was unpleasant, everything that could squeak in the luxury suite did squeak on windy nights which lead to several poor nights sleep!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NeliusKapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our stay at Camp Figtree this last weekend was probably the best weekend getaway destination that I've ever been to. The staff are professional and helpful and treated us like royalty. Food was out of this world. The interior design of our room was beautiful with an awesome view of the valley stretching out below us and rolling hills on the horizon.
I can highly recommend this destination to all who are interested in staying close to Addo Elephant Park!

Room Tip: we stayed in room no.7! Amazing view of the valley with lovely afternoon sunlight on the portch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCassiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying at figtree. It was a bit like stepping back in time, to old colonial times. The views were most beautiful and we were made to feel very special by the staff. They took great care of us. The food in the resturant was also excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
8.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
18.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
4.9 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
13.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Figtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Figtree

Property: Camp Figtree
Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Figtree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp Figtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing