We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

De Old Drift farm is on the site of one of the oldest hotels in South Africa, at the lowest crossing point of the Sunday river. It is very convenient for Addo elephant park; perhaps a 15 minute drive. We stayed 4 days, which was fine for us, as we had time to relax after completing the Garden Route. Two days would be enough for most people, as the Elephant Park is about all there is to do. The accommodation was great-clean and well equipped. Dinner can be ordered if you wish to eat in the guests dining room / lounge, where, incidentally, I was also able to watch the cricket. There are other retaurants about 10 minutes away, but not as good as the food you get at the farm. Breakfast was very good, offering a good range of choice.The farm is a working citrus farm. Delano, the son-in-law of the owners, is a qualified guide at the elephant park, and he will take you for a bespoke half-day drive through the park. The downside of his tour is that he can't go to all the places the park guides can. The upside is that he knows his subject, and when he finds something that catches your interest, you can watch as long as you want, whereas park guides work to a tight schedule. He also has the contacts to find out where things are happening on the day you are there. We sat within 10 metres of a lone elephant, and saw buffalo at 20 metres and lions at 400 metres, as well as a host of other antelope and deer. The family are very welcoming, and can arrange laundry, car washing-anything you want, really. In all, it was a very relaxing and good value stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    86
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
171
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Three of us stayed for 2 nights in the 2 bedroomed self catering lodge (thatched roof). This accommodation was basic but clean. the position of the lodge necessitated using the, provided, mosquito nets. the flies were definitely an issue especially in the evening.
The 'braai' was good and we used it each night.

The accommodation is rated as 3 star this, in my opinion, was correct for the nicely appointed B&B units. However, the self catering unit was, in my opinion, only 2 star.

We took the Elephant Park trip hosted by Delano, the farmer / tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. He knew where to go to see the most animals. the trip took a total of 6 hours. at first it may appear to be a bit expensive but the cost includes entrance fee to the park, a picnic style breakfast and the individual services of Delano - highly recommended.

So all-in-all De old Drift gives good value and, in the case of the 2 bedroomed self catering unit, gives a rural African experience.

Room Tip: If you want 3 star, choose a B&B unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

It was the second time we visited the Old Drift and again we enjoyed staying there. A warm welcome by Lize and later Delano and not to forget the three dogs! Fantastic room ensuite. Breakfast was delicious and the second night we had a "braai" together with the other guests. Restaurant Lenmore is a 10 minutes drive away, which serves good food, as until this time dinners are not possible, but they are working on that! Addo park is nearby and Delano can arrange gamedrives through the park. Even a whole day is possible with lunch, "braai" etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brave315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed in the two-bedroom self-catering cottage and thought it was just perfect. Comfortable beds, well appointed kitchen, nice private terrace area looking out over the garden. Only downside might be a shared bathroom (rather than one for each bedroom).

Not far at all from Addo Elephant National Park, and a fine option for accommodation if you don't book in the park itself.

Note: If you plan on cooking meals at the cottage, buy your groceries in Port Elizabeth. We didn't find any grocery stores between PE and the cottage, including in Addo. In a pinch, the Addo National Park shop does sell the very basics.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Had a nice stay in the honeymoon suite. Wonderful views, beautiful surroundings, cute dogs and a big braai. Housekeeping was great and the hostess upbeat. The kingsize bed was very comfy.

If you want to visit Addo National Park, this is the best place for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilvyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I would definitely recommend De Old Drift. Our room was large, comfortable, nicely decorated, quiet and had a lovely little patio area outside. The guesthouse is a perfect place to stop over if you are going to Addo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonCAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at De Old Drift Guestfarm in January 2011. My husband and I took my (elderly) mother with us and we stayed in the self-catering unit which consisted of two rooms, a kitchenette and a (small) seating area. As it was summer we made use of the patio – in the evenings (when we were not out) we sat outside and enjoyed a glass of wine while watching the sunset. As we stayed for three nights our wet towels became a bit of a problem – when the third person was showering the place would be full of wet towels and nowhere to hang them. I took the liberty to mention this at the breakfast table one morning to Liesl – when we were the only people in the breakfast location. I suggested that maybe they could put hooks in the bathroom so that there would be more space to hang the (wet) towels. My suggestion however was dismissed as being not important as they have not had any complaints about this before. I must say that having read all the glowing reviews I would have expected a more gracious reply to a well meaning recommendation. However, do not be put off by my experience, the place is very nice and I am sure you will have a good time there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizeknoetze, Owner at De Old Drift Guest Farm, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thank you for making a comment on trip advisor, we are honestly sorry for having you feel this way. We pride ourselves on taking to heart, all our guest comments and suggestions. We would just like to correct a couple of incorrect statements. Firstly, the dining room had 1 other Johannesburg couple seated, and second, the unit that you stayed in was the family unit, and not the self catering unit, as mentioned. The fact is, we have really never before, received any complaint about there not being enough hanging space in that particular bathroom. To assume that your complaint had fallen on deaf ears, is definitely, far from the truth, seeing that we immediately reacted to the situation. We purchased a new towel rail as well as a set of towel hooks and added them to the mentioned bathroom. We at De Old Drift invite you to come have a cup of coffee or tea with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
5.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
11.2 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Property: De Old Drift Guest Farm
Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing