We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb personal touch”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was the last property we stayed at on our trip to South Africa and it was one of the nicest. There are a small number of rooms which makes it more personal. Neels & Juanita were extremely friendly - Neels BBQs the evening meal himself. The location on a working citrus farm is very nice and the three dogs follow you everywhere. The weaver birds outside our window were fascinating. It's close enough to Addo Game park and they will make bookings on your behalf. We'd recommend hiring a local guide to see Addo if you are driving yourself - they can spot animals you will never see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    85
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
170
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is so handy for all the safari parks. Plus just up the road is a great restaurant. The food was outstanding at The Old Drift the cleanliness exceptional. We were made to feel so welcome by Steffi and the owners. It was our favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: Cottage on the Sundays river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed her for 2 nights to visit Addo elephant park and it was a great choice! We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by the owners and there 3 very friendly dogs.
As we were the only ones there, they upgraded us to the deluxe family suite which was beautiful, clean, spacious and had a veranda with bbq. The dogs were our new best friends for the reminder of the evening. After a great day in Addo we got back to the De Old Drift again and had a glass of wine in the beautiful garden...with the dogs. I would definitely recommend De Old Drift!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful area, you can hear nothing but bird song! Wonderful gardens, rooms were so perfect with little touches of elegance here & there which made the whole experience even better. Only here for one night but felt very relaxed and at home, especially with the three dogs roaming around.

Lovely breakfast, very nice staff. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Livstar93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My girlfriend and I loved it there so much. Our room was clean, the staff were very friendly. Steff, the manager, always had a smile with her service.
We also went on the Schotia Safari, it was our first safari. What an experience.
And not to forget Timon, Pumba & Mufasa, the dogs at De Old Drift, they added a personal touch with their hospitality too. We are definately returning one day in the future.
Buntu Qupe

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buntuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

One of the best relaxing breaks we have had in years. I know 100% is the top percentage to score but this place scores 110% with ease. Professional manager who is a great peoples person and the owner, Lize make you feel as if you are royalty. Lovely to have the three canine bodyguards accompany us on the walks in the lemon orchards and river front. Our sincere gratitude for a wonderful experience. God's blessings to all of you for the future.

Room Tip: Chalet on south side has spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My mother and I stayed two nights in a self-catering cottage. Very comfortable and clean and a lovely location to return to after an afternoon driving around nearby Addo Elephant N.P. The owners' three resident canines are the sweetest-natured, most well behaved fellows! They were so cute the way they'd come for a walk with us down to the river, or quietly sit outside the door in the morning waiting for a "good morning" pat! This was one of the best places we stayed in our trip around South Africa!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
5.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
11.2 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Property: De Old Drift Guest Farm
Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing