We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for two nights at De Old Drift Guestfarm for our visit to Addo, but wish we could have stayed longer. Location on a citrus farm at a convenient distance from Addo Elephant Park was great, beautiful spacious room, Juanita and Neels are wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful and to top it off, they serve a lovely braai dinner on request. We loved our stay!
Cees & Marga from The Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cees Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only stayed one night at De Old Drift Guest Farm but wished we had booked for several nights. You really can't fault this place. The rooms are spacious, well designed and immaculately clean. The setting is wonderful with beautiful, well laid out gardens which give the place a very relaxed feel. Breakfast in the morning is plentiful and good quality. Steffi made us feel very welcome and the wonderful dogs were a special treat for my wife and children!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 418Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was the last property we stayed at on our trip to South Africa and it was one of the nicest. There are a small number of rooms which makes it more personal. Neels & Juanita were extremely friendly - Neels BBQs the evening meal himself. The location on a working citrus farm is very nice and the three dogs follow you everywhere. The weaver birds outside our window were fascinating. It's close enough to Addo Game park and they will make bookings on your behalf. We'd recommend hiring a local guide to see Addo if you are driving yourself - they can spot animals you will never see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is so handy for all the safari parks. Plus just up the road is a great restaurant. The food was outstanding at The Old Drift the cleanliness exceptional. We were made to feel so welcome by Steffi and the owners. It was our favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: Cottage on the Sundays river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed her for 2 nights to visit Addo elephant park and it was a great choice! We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by the owners and there 3 very friendly dogs.
As we were the only ones there, they upgraded us to the deluxe family suite which was beautiful, clean, spacious and had a veranda with bbq. The dogs were our new best friends for the reminder of the evening. After a great day in Addo we got back to the De Old Drift again and had a glass of wine in the beautiful garden...with the dogs. I would definitely recommend De Old Drift!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Beautiful area, you can hear nothing but bird song! Wonderful gardens, rooms were so perfect with little touches of elegance here & there which made the whole experience even better. Only here for one night but felt very relaxed and at home, especially with the three dogs roaming around.

Lovely breakfast, very nice staff. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Livstar93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My girlfriend and I loved it there so much. Our room was clean, the staff were very friendly. Steff, the manager, always had a smile with her service.
We also went on the Schotia Safari, it was our first safari. What an experience.
And not to forget Timon, Pumba & Mufasa, the dogs at De Old Drift, they added a personal touch with their hospitality too. We are definately returning one day in the future.
Buntu Qupe

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buntuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.7 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
5.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
11.2 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: £81 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing